tony879

Model 500 - Deep Space tony879

September 26, 2020
edited 4 months ago
referencing Deep Space, 2xLP, Album, RS 95066
This is such a beautiful landmark Detroit Techno album. This and that double EP with ‘I wanna be there’ on it and ‘the chase’ EP on Apollo are three jewels in the R+S back cat crown. And the ones I own. If you like early Black Dog, Transmat, Plaid, ART records, Likemind etc then you’ll love these records from around that time. Funky but soothing cosmic Detroit electronic soul music is the order of the day.
The music will move your mind to outer space while your ass gets a wiggle on.
Classic!
StrangelySatisfying

Model 500 - Deep Space StrangelySatisfying

June 21, 2017
referencing Deep Space, CD, Album, RS 95066 CD
This is timeless and peope freak out when it's played because most people have no clue what it is. Went totally under the radar when released at least in this area, you know the whole trip hop thing was saturating the sounds at the time.
StrangelySatisfying

Model 500 - Deep Space StrangelySatisfying

June 21, 2017
referencing Deep Space, CD, Album, RS 95066 CD
I wouldn't complain to have 3 hour versions of each track.
barneywiegand

Model 500 - Deep Space barneywiegand

May 3, 2017
referencing Deep Space, CD, Album, RS 95066 CD
Still sounds like the future..a testament to how great this album is.
MrZyc

Model 500 - Deep Space as reviewed by MrZyc

September 25, 2014
referencing Deep Space, 2xLP, Album, RE, RS 95066
beautiful production.
Tolstoi

Model 500 - Deep Space as reviewed by Tolstoi

May 18, 2014
referencing Deep Space, 2xLP, Album, RS 95066
There are several LPs that changed how I viewed electronic Music and Techno, but this was the greatest of them. Such an astounding record. Every one with even a passing interest in Techno should have a copy. Not only one of the best Techno albums of all time, but one of the best albums of any genre.
scoundrel

Model 500 - Deep Space as reviewed by scoundrel

May 10, 2013
referencing Deep Space, CD, Album, RS 95066 CD

Model 500 infuses DEEP SPACE with a lovely consciousness, starting with the ambient drift of "Milky Way," which soon settles into classic Detroit techno. "Orbit" takes a blippier, quicker route to the dancefloor, and "The Flow" follows right behind, delving into electro funk. "Warning" stays spry, while "Astralwerks" and "Starlight" go deeper, with the latter getting more minimal. "I Wanna Be There" blasts back onto the dancefloor, and "Lightspeed" ends the album on a spare, but no less grooving, note. This space is deep indeed.
dimitripike

Model 500 - Deep Space as reviewed by dimitripike

December 30, 2003
referencing Deep Space, 2xLP, Album, RS 95066
All tracks are named by a number (M12/M29/M37/...) and each of these numbers is relative to a star position into the packaging ! Well done mister Magic Juan !
navalverde12

Model 500 - Deep Space navalverde12

May 29, 2011
referencing Deep Space, 2xLP, Album, RS 95066
I am pretty sure those are actually references to Detroit Highways disquised as star locations
eiskristall

Model 500 - Deep Space as reviewed by eiskristall

November 3, 2003
referencing Deep Space, 2xLP, Album, RS 95066

One of my sentimental favorites in my collection. Tracks like "Starlight" (licensed from Metroplex) never left my heart. Juan Atkins was and is still the biggest influence to join into electronic dance music for me, a great collection of essential tracks.
dexterfeng

Model 500 - Deep Space as reviewed by dexterfeng

June 20, 2002
referencing Deep Space, CD, Album, RS 95066 CD
Another level, an album about driving around the highways of Detroit and space. I suppose the ebb and flow of certain songs might actually represent that particular highway for which it is named.
classic.
Sublime.