flowerbed

Killing Joke - Turn To Red flowerbed

October 8, 2018
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410

My copy of the Turn To Red 10" begins with Nervous System first on the A side (not Turn To Red). Speaking of 'sides' the label says Side B on each side despite the correct track listings. Does everyone else's copy have all this or have I got a rarity??? (even if I have I'm not selling, I like playing it and it's mine!! Ha ha).
hunters-hill

Killing Joke - Turn To Red hunters-hill

December 4, 2018
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410
Just looked at my copy and both labels are side B just like yours.
d.teil

Killing Joke - Almost Red d.teil

June 20, 2018
referencing Almost Red, 12", Single, 12WIP 6550, 12 WIP 6550

I almost wanted to sell this 12". After hearing "turn to red" I definitely have to keep it. Worth to buy.
Bier_Dough

Killing Joke - Turn To Red Bier_Dough

November 9, 2015
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410
'Almost Red' was a pisstake of the Buggles
flowerbed

Killing Joke - Turn To Red flowerbed

September 19, 2018
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410

I doubt it. Jaz doesn't do pisstakes. It's more like a homage to Giorgio Moroder.
Geoff_Burkman

Killing Joke - Turn To Red Geoff_Burkman

January 1, 2013
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410
I'll leave it be for now, but ascribing the genre 'reggae' to this band is almost as risible as calling them 'electronic'. Just my two cents.
Geoff_Burkman

Killing Joke - Turn To Red Geoff_Burkman

September 16, 2015
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410
Genre, I think, is correctly identified as post-punk rock. I never got behind the
term "aggro," so can't help there. There's certainly a feel of dub reggae to
the title track, but the band isn't. To be honest, I tend to shy away from these
decisions here, unless there's blatant silliness. Reggae ought to be deleted,
though, in my opinion.
krisscanlon

Killing Joke - Turn To Red krisscanlon

September 15, 2015
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410
geoff several moons later but what do you feel this genre should of been called besides great? Post punk? Aggro? Industrial ? or plain old hardrock/rock? Like to know your thoughts on that...
idoldesjeunes

Killing Joke - Turn To Red idoldesjeunes

December 23, 2012
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410
did u received the 'death' +card+ sucker's ?
SadBast

Killing Joke - Turn To Red as reviewed by SadBast

May 4, 2006
edited over 13 years ago
referencing Turn To Red, 10", Single, MD410

This is the original version of the band's debut single, lacking the track 'almost red' that would appear a little later on the 12" pressing. The 10" release is collectable, not only for it's music but also for the 4 scarce 'art cards' included with the disc in its clear plastic sleeve.
SadBast

Killing Joke - Almost Red as reviewed by SadBast

May 1, 2006
edited over 13 years ago
referencing Almost Red, 12", Single, 12WIP 6550, 12 WIP 6550

This rare 4-track version of the band's debut e.p. (original release shown here as the 'turn to red' 10") was sold at gigs on the debut LP tour in the UK, marked as 'factory sample'. This release is maybe the definitive statement of the dub reggae influences underpining Youth & Big Paul's ground breaking rhythm section - over 10 years ahead of its time. A very scarce reworking of 'are you receiving' with remarkable new guitar parts added by Geordie was recorded during their legendary debut Capital Radio session and appeared on the semi-official 'Bum's Rush' lp the following year and was selected by Geordie for inclusion in 2003's 'Unperverted Pantomime' CD which combined the best of 'Bum's Rush' and the incredibly scarce (500 only) 'Unperverted Pantomime' cassette that comprised a full 1979 live set (includes 'nervous system', 'are you receiving') and tracks from several early sessions.