JonathanMills

Yello - Point as reviewed by JonathanMills

February 17, 2021
edited 5 months ago
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779

I picked this up in a local media store and just bought it because I like Yello but did not do any research on this (which I usually do when buying vinyls) and got extremly impressed when I listened to it. I have bought many new records of artists that I like but this one is really a quality pressing, actually on of my better ones for sure now. There are absolutely no pops or no hissing (which sadly is not often the case on new vinyls) and the mix is very clean and wide. This one is gonna be a classic for every future audiophile for sure. It is very rare to get such an excellent quality pressing of such an excellent artist when it comes to new records.
zevulon

Yello - Point as reviewed by zevulon

November 25, 2020
referencing Point, CD, Album, Unofficial, 0602508833748, 06025 0883374 8

I'm happy to report that the audio is full and lossless, confirmed with a spectrograph. Too many Russian and Chinese pirate pressings only contain lousy and lossy audio, but not this release!
Why there is no official 15 track CD to buy anymore is the typical arrogance of Universal.
The limited box which contained the full album, got sold out within a couple of weeks, so, no music for the masses unless you pay top € or invest in an Unofficial CD or download.
It is definitely not up there with any of the first 6 classic and eternal albums, but it has its moments and is a solid effort - and why not get the Real Deal instead of the abridged official album?
yello99

Yello - Point as reviewed by yello99

October 10, 2020
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779
Absolutely superb. But you wouldn’t expect anything less from Yello. The Boxed Deluxe set is....Deluxe. Sound quality is Magnificent as usual. As these guys get older their music just gets better. Standout tracks are Way Down and the luscious Fiji Rong vocals on Siren Singing. The Blu-ray of their concert is out of this world. Lavish box. Lavish vocals. Can’t find any problems with my Vinyl copy. Much better than some Vinyl I’ve bought recently. May they continue for years to come.
will.valintine

Yello - Point (Collector's Box) will.valintine

September 26, 2020
edited 10 months ago
referencing Point (Collector's Box), LP, Album, Pic + CD, Album + DVD-V + Blu-ray + Box, 060250883375 5
I've had to order the black vinyl edition too, as the floor noise on the picture disc is horrendous!
gparker777

Yello - Point (Collector's Box) gparker777

November 15, 2020
referencing Point (Collector's Box), LP, Album, Pic + CD, Album + DVD-V + Blu-ray + Box, 060250883375 5
Same issue for me - the standard black vinyl release is amazing and very well pressed. The picture disc vinyl is almost unlistenable by comparison unfortunately.
sandurski

Yello - Point (Collector's Box) sandurski

September 21, 2020
referencing Point (Collector's Box), LP, Album, Pic + CD, Album + DVD-V + Blu-ray + Box, 060250883375 5
Is it common that the LP sleeve inside the box is damaged? The LP moved around a bit during transport and the outer sleeve is damaged on the side. I have contacted the shop (Dussmann) and obviosly they don't have spares. I've also contacted Universal Germany but no answer as yet.
zevulon

Yello - Point (Collector's Box) zevulon

November 6, 2020
referencing Point (Collector's Box), LP, Album, Pic + CD, Album + DVD-V + Blu-ray + Box, 060250883375 5
Universal haven't answered any of the ten or so mails that I've sent them in a ten year period for various reasons, not only complaints.
Bottom line is that they simply never answer back, I guess. They can't be bothered about your problem, that is nothing to them, sadly.
rafboy

Yello - Point as reviewed by rafboy

September 15, 2020
edited 11 months ago
referencing Point, CD, Album, 0602508833748, 06025 0883374 8

I was going to say that this album is surprisingly good, but in retrospect, it's not very surprising.
Yello just consistently puts out good music.
One of their best? Not even close. I give that nod to "One Second", but there are songs on here that could easily have been on there.
The quality peters, towards the end of the album, and the one song I'm not crazy about is "Hot Pan".
simontremblay

Yello - Point (Collector's Box) as reviewed by simontremblay

September 11, 2020
edited 11 months ago
referencing Point (Collector's Box), LP, Album, Pic + CD, Album + DVD-V + Blu-ray + Box, 060250883375 5

Un album FORMIDABLE ce YELLO et comme toujours. MAIS CELUI-CI EST QUANT À MOI UNE VRAIE BOMBE. Je m'attendait a quelque chose de Yello mais c'est encore plus. Il commence et tu part avec l'album pour te rendre compte que tu n'a pas décrocher jusqu'à la derniére note. C'est vraiment très bon, inattendu mais sur le même chemin de toujours. Une pure merveille à chaque pièce, une qualité de son incroyable et en 24Bit c'est le top. Ça passe sans qu'on s'en rendent compte et on remets encore. BRAVO et MERCI YELLO pour c'est 38 ans qui correspondent aux années que je vous suit sans jamais être déçu :) MERCI, MERCI et MERCI! YELLO :)
wijkw00

Yello - Point as reviewed by wijkw00

September 5, 2020
referencing Point, CD, Album, 0602508833748, 06025 0883374 8
A fine Yello-album.
Sorry to say that there are no melodious, memorable songs with female guest singers on this one.
“Sirene Singing” (with Chinese-British artist Fifi Rong) I would not include to that.
petitamin

Yello - Point as reviewed by petitamin

September 3, 2020
edited 11 months ago
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779

Unbelievable, indeed. What a brilliant sound. One of the best vinyl pressings I've ever heard. To yet, I was giving up finding a vinyl which such a clear "voice". Every time those bad pressings with clicks, pops and this crap. Why are not all those vinyls are that good? And then this analytic sound of Yello ... awesome ... awesome. Perhaps not the very best album of Yello ... perhaps ... but after two times of hearing, sure one of the very best (a matter of taste).
Yes, absolutely recommendable (a matter of taste, did I already say that? ;-))
An item for testing your equipment, but not only for that!
malejkaa

Yello - Point as reviewed by malejkaa

September 3, 2020
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779
It's a 200g vinyl - as already mentioned before, great sound!!! This record is now also in my TAS list.
BR good-vinyl.de
The_Titan_Find

Yello - Point as reviewed by The_Titan_Find

August 31, 2020
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779
Anyone else having a complete mare trying to get the blu-ray out of the case?! :)
Shaggy_NL

Yello - Point Shaggy_NL

October 29, 2020
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779
Yeah, but that was a nervous minut. I swapped place with the DVD. That one is much more easy to get out.
sandurski

Yello - Point sandurski

September 16, 2020
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779
Yes, horrible. Once I managed to get it out I put it in a jewel case. There was some sort of grease on the disc too. Easy to wipe out fortunately.
d.teil

Yello - Point d.teil

August 31, 2020
edited 11 months ago
referencing Point, LP, Album, 08833779

Just by the unbelievable great sound....5 stars. Wow. I am impressed.
morgenstern71

Yello - Point (Collector's Box) morgenstern71

August 29, 2020
referencing Point (Collector's Box), LP, Album, Pic + CD, Album + DVD-V + Blu-ray + Box, 060250883375 5
My copy of the picture disc sounds fantastic with no surface noises. Perfect set.