Milispky

Caustic Window - Compilation Milispky

November 13, 2019
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
string arrangements removed circa late 90s.

I saw it originally at my house where he was also there. The bulb was missing but still it remains
DJ_Hughesee

Caustic Window - Compilation DJ_Hughesee

May 3, 2019
edited 6 months ago
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP
Why the hell did they not put Popcorn on this compilation :/ Such a tune from Joyrex 4
mammalsounds

Caustic Window - Compilation mammalsounds

January 19, 2019
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP
Astroblaster is a perfect song
of this I am quite confident.
cutjules

Caustic Window - Compilation cutjules

November 13, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP

Great classic Acid/IDM compilation. "On The Romance Tip" is one of the best electronic track I've ever heard, but there are plenty of awesome sounds & rythms in this release. A must have !
cutjules

Caustic Window - Compilation cutjules

November 13, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP

Great classic Acid/IDM compilation. "On The Romance Tip" is one of the best electronic track I've ever heard, but there are plenty of awesome sounds & rythms in this release. A must have !
plastikfinken

Caustic Window - Compilation plastikfinken

September 1, 2018
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
after not playing the records for a very long time, i cleaned them thoroughly several times with an okki nokki and the regular cleaning fluid. the vinyl still looks foggy but plays perfectly fine.
electronikad

Caustic Window - Compilation as reviewed by electronikad

August 10, 2018
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
Essential Aphex release if you don't own the joyrex ep's. As everyone says the represses are likely to be in better condition due to the non plastic sleeves. I've got the 2007 version and it's one of my prized records. Cordialatron is so beautiful. Get it if you can.
randyj

Caustic Window - Compilation randyj

February 21, 2018
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP

Absolutely one of the best releases by Richard D James - His heavy sounds were so rePhreshing in the early 90's - and now. Unfortunately the original vinyl pressing was housed in a clear sleeve pack that leaves a "cloudy" film onto the vinyl. I've rarely played mine since learning this and removed the vinyl from the original sleeves as I would recommend to anyone who owns the original vinyl pressing.
----- Question: has anyone played the stained vinyl a few times and found any improvement either visually or audibly once the needle has glided through the groves - thus likely wearing off some of the stain (for the better)? Has anyone tried carefully cleaning the vinyl beyond standard record cleaner solutions in order to clean the residue? Curious about any and all experiences related to the original pressing and success or horror stories from trying to clean it up some. Thanks.
plastikfinken

Caustic Window - Compilation plastikfinken

August 28, 2018
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
i cleaned the records with an okki nokki and the regular cleaning fluid before playing them. the surface still looks foggy but the records sound absolutely fine
COMPRESSIR

Caustic Window - Compilation as reviewed by COMPRESSIR

April 9, 2017
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP

RDJ is capable of so many varying styles that are all original to him, and him alone. He can make music that will allow you to drift off to other worlds, laugh your ass off from absurd musical gestures and dance till you drop with hard acid and drill and bass grindage. But this compilation stands out and is, IMHO, the absolute best of his musical output. I've been listening to this collection of EPs for almost 20 years now, and it does not get old or less entertaining. I still hold hope that he will release music that hearkens back to this era of melt your face off acid. Thank you Richard, for making me a dreamer of dreams.
adolf

Caustic Window - Compilation adolf

September 5, 2016
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
complete with surface noise due to the plastic sleeves, which leave a mat foggy film on the records during storage- only the area on 2 sides where the sticker was affixed don't have the 'fog'
DjGilz

Caustic Window - Compilation DjGilz

May 12, 2019
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
aaaah, thats why... ! Thanks for explanation now i know why this happend.
percydovetonsils

Caustic Window - Compilation percydovetonsils

July 6, 2016
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP
This is really good at 33 1/3, regardless of the artist's intentions.
cutjules

Caustic Window - Compilation cutjules

June 23, 2017
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP
When I listen at track E1 containing this orgasmic female voice sample, it sounds much better at 45 RPM than 33 :)
But I agree the fact that some of the tracks on this compilation can be played at 33 RPM.
earflu

Caustic Window - Compilation earflu

January 31, 2017
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP
Totally. I'm not sure I've ever played it at 45RPM.
dandypanty

Caustic Window - Compilation dandypanty

July 21, 2016
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, RE, CAT 009 LP
i read in an interview he doesn't really intend his tracks to be played at any particular speed.
jakemax

Caustic Window - Compilation jakemax

February 28, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
The vinyl sleeve destroys the vinyl record. It's true, the records are very cloudy. And if you touch them in the places where the vinyl was in contact the grooves feel like the difference between a chef and butter knife. I got it in 1998 played it once and now it's garbage, save the sleeve. Luckily Analord came in non-vinyl sleeves from Forced Exposure.
ShevyBuick

Caustic Window - Compilation as reviewed by ShevyBuick

July 8, 2014
edited over 5 years ago
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
I've owned this since it was re-released in 2002, ordered directly from Warp. It's an awesome example of the harsher side of the Richard D James spectrum. For people who have already passed the initiation of albums like "Come To Daddy", "...I Care Because You Do", and even some of the Analord series. The labels on them say they're supposed to be played at 45rpm. Although lately I've been digging it at 33rpm with my sub up at 75% of volume. It gives it a more ominous feel. Like some sort of acid dub monstrosity.
beatflip

Caustic Window - Compilation beatflip

October 15, 2014
referencing Compilation, 3x12", Comp, CAT 009 LP
ShevyBuick
I've owned this since it was re-released in 2002, ordered directly from Warp. It's an awesome example of the harsher side of the Richard D James spectrum. For people who have already passed the initiation of albums like "Come To Daddy", "...I Care Because You Do", and even some of the Analord series. The labels on them say they're supposed to be played at 45rpm. Although lately I've been digging it at 33rpm with my sub up at 75% of volume. It gives it a more ominous feel. Like some sort of acid dub monstrosity.

Funny! I've always played them on 33rpm as well. They sounded perfect to me that way, especially my favourite track "Italic Eyeball", the one with the ghostly voices. But I can asure you they are meant to be played at 45rpm as written on the labels, because my friend bought a cd version of the album, after we'd had a stoner record listening session.
Surely you can imagine how disappointed he was hearing the cd with no option of pitching it down - and my embarrassment over having been listening to these records for years at a wrong speed. But the damage is done, I will never be able to listen to them again at correct rpm.
Guess I just love acid dub monstrosity!