trailheadstudios

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores trailheadstudios

June 11, 2021
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
The record itself sounds great like the rest of the comments point out, but I have one peculiarity about my copy. The braille sticker on the back is actually placed vertically on the right side instead of along the top like how I believe it should be. Is this a misprint of some kind that I stumbled into?
blagblob79

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores blagblob79

May 16, 2021
referencing Hi Scores, CD, EP, ska008cd
I went to NYC December 30th, 1999 for Y2K. Went to the Virgin Megastore and picked this off the shelf, I think because it had the 2 chicks on the cover and had SKAM printed on it. Had no idea who it was. One of my favorite CDs with a lot of memories attached.
c_soul

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores c_soul

September 20, 2020
edited 9 months ago
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, SKA008, ska008

I've got a first pressing copy where an A4 insert show two guys having a laugh in some sort of studio. Anyone else?
aphexacid69

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores aphexacid69

April 29, 2021
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, SKA008, ska008
Post pictures!!! I dont think anyone has heard of this before
Rudebwoy1

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores Rudebwoy1

January 20, 2021
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, SKA008, ska008
Can you please upload a picture of the insert? This is highly unusual.
ricaramurica

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores ricaramurica

October 23, 2020
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, SKA008, ska008
I've got a copy today; it displays a guy with a hoodie on, Boards of Canada written on a side. Really trippy.
markmoon65

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores markmoon65

March 15, 2019
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, SKA008, ska008
If you are new to BOC, just listen to the track Hi Scores. It'll synchronise your innards to the ways of the Lallans. Feel free to move on from there.
Riverstarship

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores Riverstarship

September 18, 2018
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
Any reason to opt for this release instead of the 2014 one? Are the channels still reversed?
SalViscuso

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores SalViscuso

September 23, 2018
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
I'm sure the channels are oriented the same way they are in the 2014 release. BoC explained that they actually got fucked up when they made the initial release and are reversed on that version. They have been "corrected" now.
Mooshrum

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores Mooshrum

July 24, 2018
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
Warp Records lives up to its name, as my record came just that - warped. Fortunately it does not effect the playback, just looks weird on the turntable.
Mooshrum

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores Mooshrum

September 23, 2018
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
Haha, you're right! Welp. .
mrneedles

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores mrneedles

September 15, 2018
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
Shame this is released by SKAM then...

. . . . .
KDSutherland

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores KDSutherland

May 5, 2018
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
I can only agree with the other comments below. This records sounds great - it's very dynamic, warm and detailed, with lots of punch, very analogue sounding - is there a chance this is AAA? As mtngchi stated, I am sure the 2018 release will be identical too, will probably pick up another copy on release.
DogsCollection

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores DogsCollection

May 23, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008

Bleep page states it was "remastered from original digital audio tapes", which in my opinion, despite being digital doesn't diminish the sound quality for this release.
DogsCollection

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores as reviewed by DogsCollection

January 20, 2017
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008

Such a great pressing all around. Turquoise Hexagon Sun and Seeya Later actually sounds better here than on the vinyl reissues of MHTRTC and Twoism respectively in my opinion.

PS: Huh, it's sold out on Skam bleepstore, and vinyl gone from Bleep. Prices drove a bit up, I hope it gets a repress soon, cuz it's that good.

PS2: Listening back between them now, I think the Twoism mix of Seeya Later is also good in a different way, mid-range-rich and "warmer", while the Hi Scores mix is detailed and crisp.
Fusyon

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores Fusyon

March 24, 2017
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
I second this comment, I wish the LP represses were as good as this one.
zomgbear

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores zomgbear

November 19, 2016
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008

This remaster is fantastic. It's one of my better sounding records I own actually and i'm not exactly sure why.
snatchbeast

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores snatchbeast

December 11, 2016
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008

I know what you mean! I really appreciate the quality control on this one
Thermospore

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores as reviewed by Thermospore

July 18, 2016
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008

Excellent reissue. Cool to see the artwork in color and the braille sticker is always a nice touch. Poster is nice too. The record itself is the heaviest I have seen... You could knock someone out with this thing. Sounds great too. My favorite tracks are A1, A2, and B3.
RJStefanski

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores RJStefanski

June 5, 2020
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, RE, RM, Ska008
yeah its so heavy, 200 grams? seems heavier than 180s I have
Windowlicker9

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores Windowlicker9

November 15, 2015
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, SKA008, ska008
A great selection of BOC tracks. To any new listeners, this is the release I recommend you listen to. "Everything You Do Is A Balloon" was the first track I ever hear by these guys. Amazing, haunting melodies put to a laidback acoustic drum beat.
artskuz

Boards Of Canada - Hi Scores artskuz

April 26, 2019
referencing Hi Scores, 12", EP, SKA008, ska008
mine was Sixtyniner :) on twoism. very cool to...still listen to BOC