Skinteet

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by Skinteet

October 2, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Respect Blackdown, townsman, surround sound, Ital bound, them 10 round🤩
Skinteet

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by Skinteet

October 2, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
This is ART in music innovation......Burial, you’re Diggin’ Deep, Brethren !! It’s not easy to CatchuP, as it is to catch It !!
This is a dreamscape, let it be known.....italistic recharge & breadth of fresh Air, in this extra-polluted, convuluted exisistence, WE asphyxiate in.
SaLoots Roots 🌈
ringorider

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by ringorider

September 15, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083

I guess I'm in the minority. I really like this record. I like all the little "bits and bobs" aspect of the tracks. It doesn't seem out of place in his catalogue. As ever I could be talking through my hole, but I like the "development" of the Burial sound. That just be me though.
parkerbell

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by parkerbell

September 3, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083

This is absolute dirge, the Blackdown bits are boring at their worst and uninspired at their best but the Burial tunes are outright terrible. Are we at the point now where the poor Burial releases outnumber the good years? His earlier EPs and the albums were transformative and really shaped my early 20's but feels like he's been phoning it in for about 10 years now.
AlfonsoBongo

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by AlfonsoBongo

August 17, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Was absolutely astonished by Dark Gethsemane when it came on the radio so I'm copping this. I'm not much of a dance fan, had not listened to much Burial before, thought it sounded only OK, groundbreaking yes but not quite to my taste. So I think maybe the problem here for the Burial heads is that it's just *different*.
dylndub

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by dylndub

May 27, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
won't gonna lie. B2 track made me sick. this release does not cop with Burial standards we know and love
tony879

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. tony879

May 21, 2021
edited 5 months ago
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
I dunno, I just don’t get it anymore. The last ten years or so have just been like a repetition of the same thing, a repeat drop around Xmas time, some half baked ravey ambient stuff and that’s it?
I miss the Burial of the Block Party remix, ‘Unite’ and ‘Crackle Blues’ remix, the first two LPs and the first five or six EPs. The gorgeous ‘Nova’ and ‘Moth’
That’s how I want to remember. Not this stuff. Where’s the imagination of ‘Stairwell’ gone? The strangeness of the Flying Lotus collaboration? This stuff just sounds like grey auto pilot. I’ll hold on to my early years collection because it’s immense. Not this shite....so sad. I’m done, thanks for the early stuff, I’m out.
Amuses me though that some get so butthurt and start crying when a little criticism comes their hero’s way. :)
Maybe this coincides with Hyperdub’s loss of quality control as well, used to be a cool label but their output has been questionable the last decade. This is just my view though so take it with a pinch of salt....
bedofbrokenwindows

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. bedofbrokenwindows

May 22, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
I agree to an extent. I think Claustro was decent, and the 12" last year with Four Tet and Thom Yorke. Otherwise he's had a very hit and miss few years. It's a shame. I know it won't happen but I wish he'd release another, more focussed EP or LP, rather than endless messy 12 minute collages.
afjfromfla

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by afjfromfla

May 12, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083

Are A2/B2 the best Burial songs ever? No. Are they good tracks? Yeah, second half of A1 rips and the vibes on B2 are like 'Come Down to Us' Burial-esque prom dance.

Blackdown tracks are also solid. A1 is a real kick drum workout. But pretty much every release on Keysound is good so idk why people keep whining about something not sounding like 2007.
unholymatter

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. unholymatter

May 12, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Are they the best tracks Burial has put out in the last ten years though? Very probably. So very much worth it imho.
Alan_Burns

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by Alan_Burns

May 12, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Dark Gethsemane was actually really good I thought, Space Cadet is ok. If he's sticking with the pattern of saving his best work for Hyperdub, fair enough - will be great to hear what comes next.
Needle.n.Groove

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. Needle.n.Groove

May 11, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083

Instead of complaining about the music, which honestly isn’t even half as bad as the commenters are making out, my pressing is very good. Flat, good clean sound and range.
tr6y

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. tr6y

May 8, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Not really my thing but the very end of Dark Gethsemane is killer and very unique for a burial tune, I wish the whole track was built around that section.
stevie.j

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. stevie.j

May 5, 2021
edited 6 months ago
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Think there's a sample of Man Parrish's Hip Hop Be Bop on Space Cadet..I like all the tracks I must say.Not mind blowing but worth a definite purchase.
crackedmarble

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. crackedmarble

April 30, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
"You either die a hero, or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain."

- some f*ckin movie or w/e
ante00

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. as reviewed by ante00

April 30, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083

"We must shock this nation with the power of love"... x50

This is a lowpoint for Burial. It was actually painful to sit through.
Hauntology

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. Hauntology

May 4, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Speaking of low points - it's certainly not one of his finest moments but compared to his effort with Zomby on 'Sweetz', it sounds like a fucking masterpiece.
marazul

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. marazul

May 1, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
I agree...buuuuut, I think that 'statement' is essentially true, and possibly even needed right now, in these dark times, so hard as it is on the listener, I found hearing it as a kind of mantra helped me absorb it. Maybe the samples could've been longer, more varied, to avoid becoming so grating? There's also some wicked loops punching through at some points. Like all great artists, he's grappling with the Now, and that always provokes strong responses. For me, the Blackdown remix of Arklight justifies the spend alone, so happier and more optimistic after hearing this release. GF also liked a lot, and she's not normally a fan of this genre. If the scalpers are confused too, even better 🤑
Incub

Burial + Blackdown - Shock Power Of Love E.P. Incub

May 2, 2021
referencing Shock Power Of Love E.P., 12", EP, Ltd, LDN 083
Never talk too soon on a Burial tunes.
Maybe, one day.