redundant_

Autechre - LP5 redundant_

January 9, 2021
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
Does anyone if they'll ever re-issue the best Autechre LP again? -_- It's sadly a bit expensive nowadays.
Numanoid

Autechre - LP5 Numanoid

February 29, 2020
edited 11 months ago
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
Booth & Brown's final stand, trying to please a public, after this they wanted to please themselves
teknoir82

Autechre - LP5 teknoir82

January 8, 2019
referencing LP5, CD, Album, Bla, INTD-90258

This was the first AE I bought back in the day & it still remains my favorite album of theirs. There was still lots of rhythmic qualities but the glitchy brilliance was beginning to creep in and makes things really interesting.
bellymcr

Autechre - LP5 bellymcr

December 26, 2018
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
This is the album (specifically Arch Carrier) that made me ask at the shop counter what they were playing...other highlights for me are the random funk of 777, the degenerative ending of Vose In, the melancholy of Corc and so on...this album still takes me away
steinbeakly

Autechre - LP5 steinbeakly

December 26, 2018
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
This CD case is an example of why I like collecting CDs. Makes the listening experience all the better, and was totally worth the $30+.
BenJBX

Autechre - LP5 BenJBX

November 25, 2016
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
I bought this on vinyl when it came out, its the only Autechre record I own and i just played it for the first time in years after seeing them live in Bristol last night. This is a really great record. Rae and the last two tracks especially are gorgeously emotive and stylistically unhampered by genre limits. As a hardware producer myself, its staggering that they programmed this shit at the very dawn of computer audio and software manipulation. Like Photek and Foul Play, this is B-boy music pushed to the limits of technical dexterity and beyond.

This and the Bola LP bookended the 90s intelligent/IDM movement in the UK for me. Autechre's sound now is way wilder, more rhythmical and improvisational, approaching free jazz levels of spontanaety and creative fearlessness. Last night's show was sick. Ironically, given the journalistic cliches they have always attracted, there's far more genuine human feel and risk in their music than in the average chart pop record that's been pro tooled to death.

I cleave more to the Detroit and Den Haag branches of the electro tree which is why I don't own more Autechre, but if you're coming to this in 2016 wanting to get yourself a dozen or so essential 90s albums from UK techno (because fuck IDM, frankly, all this music is techno) - give this one a careful listen and i think you'll be adding it to your list.

Autechre ... huge respect to you both for the path you've forged in this music. I may not be your #1 fan but I'm fucking glad you're out there representing and doing what you do. Long may it continue!
jabeoo1

Autechre - LP5 jabeoo1

September 3, 2020
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
I was there at that event in Bristol. Great night. :)
zevulon

Autechre - LP5 as reviewed by zevulon

July 31, 2016
edited over 4 years ago
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66

Sad release.
I'd have to say that this is where Ae ends for me and going back on this after at least 10 years changes nothing.
It sounds like the guys spent these days secluded alone in the studio, no input, feeding off noodle soup only for months.
The techniques are less complex and less intricate than in the previous Chiastic Slide era and lacks soul and deepness, I'd conclude that the sound is straight out flat and dull.
The only upside is Arch Carrier, that would (almost) fit in on the Chiastic Slide album.
I admit that I keep this only because it says Autechre on the cover.
brian.elder.180

Autechre - LP5 brian.elder.180

November 9, 2020
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
This string turned hostile very quickly.

I agree with you LP5 is where ae left me for dust. I still revisit later stuff and find tracks to enjoy but mostly everything since Chiastic Slide has been instantly forgettable.

Much like it’s admirers I find it abrasive and and a bit dull.
AffineTransform

Autechre - LP5 AffineTransform

September 23, 2020
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
the only track here that fits Chiastic is Rae. Arch has absolutely nothing to do with Chiastic, neither sonically nor conceptually (it would fit EP7 tho)
zevulon

Autechre - LP5 zevulon

March 9, 2020
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66

probably more than you, just cause cause we don't agree doesn't mean that you get it.
RonRec76

Autechre - LP5 RonRec76

February 6, 2020
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
Mmmm.. I'll admit Arch Carrier is one of my favorite tracks on the album, but this album as a whole has always spoken to me. I had it on a CD-R made from some poor mp3s. I listened to countless times over the years. Never tired of it. I was very happy to finally pick up an original CD at a reasonable price. Would be great to have this on vinyl.
psychicSnow

Autechre - LP5 psychicSnow

September 26, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
Gibberish doesn't become interesting just cause it's commenting on Ae on discogs. "Sad release"? What?
1973

Autechre - LP5 1973

December 2, 2017
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
Chiastic slide is a killer cut no doubt, I kinda felt the same way about 'confield' from this era in the way you describe LP5 - but I soon grew to love some of their more minimal, subtle, machine-cold-deep-groove. LP5 has some absolute all-time classic cuts, 'corc' is one of my all-time fave Ae tracks love it to death, it puts LP5 on my list of desert island discs. Chiastic slide, LP5, e.p7 & draft 7.30 are some of the golden era Ae releases in my opinion.
zevulon

Autechre - LP5 zevulon

November 27, 2016
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66

Drlopez
hmm.. not sure you really have any idea what you're talking about

..I have all Ae albums/Eps since the start and love everything up to Chiastic Slide? Maybe it's you who can't think/hear for yourself?
Gibberish doesn't become interesting just cause it's Afx / Ae / other has beens.
Drlopez

Autechre - LP5 Drlopez

November 10, 2016
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
hmm.. not sure you really have any idea what you're talking about
__Human__

Autechre - LP5 __Human__

September 6, 2015
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
After all these years... LP5 is still my fave Ae album. (Incunabula is 2nd) They definitely reached heights and achievements before this one, and after... but this album just has a special kind of magic that rarely occurs in an artist's career. Mechanical, yet emotive. A perfect harmony.
----

Autechre - LP5 ----

August 19, 2015
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
Listened to this again tonight. This album is still tight, amazing! Fragments of motor-city here, a glimpse of IDM (sic) there, but really sounding more like Autechre than anything else. Given what was to come this is a very melodic album, and although not as accessible as the pre-chiastic slide era will probably give more as time goes on. If you can't afford the vinyl (I can't), the CD is fine. In fact, I reckon CD is how this album is supposed to be heard. Peace out.
drillkicker

Autechre - LP5 as reviewed by drillkicker

March 28, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
Having recently purchased this, I can say that this is probably the best $70 I have ever spent. The music in this album has a profound level of detail, as is normal for Autechre, while still maintaining a very honest and expressive tone. Situated just between Autechre's ambient period and the beginnings of the generative and intensely calculated era, this is a perfect midway point balancing the two. The record packaging feels relatively durable and the minimal theme is oddly pleasing to look at. I like the idea that the record sleeves aren't meant to be removed, though it does make it difficult to remove and return the records, as the round and stiff sleeves don't cooperate very well inside the jacket. The sideways writing also makes me confused as to how I'm meant to orient the jacket. It should also be noted that–like other releases from the time period–the records, while thin, are still rigid and don't feel very flimsy. That said, this is a wonderful release, and anyone who has the opportunity and is considering this record will not likely be disappointed, in my opinion.
Ramzy

Autechre - LP5 Ramzy

September 5, 2020
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66
A note on orienting the sleeve - comparing this with the CD, which has "autechre" and "ae" embossed/textured onto the case in equivalent positions to the LP, I've come to the conclusion that the record cover is meant to be viewed with the opening at the bottom, and the inners with the curve facing upwards away from the opening. This also fits how the sticker was affixed to mine. Perhaps more trouble than it's worth but this is how I display it when listening (and store it, albeit within a plastic cover).
Cardia1

Autechre - LP5 as reviewed by Cardia1

September 9, 2013
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66

One of the less interesting Autechre albums for me, lacks coherence and dynamic, still its a enjoyable release, my favourite tracks are "Corc", "Caliper Remote","Arch Carrier" and "Drane2" wich is my top track of this Album. the jewel case is sadly ugly.
cyclo-bob

Autechre - LP5 as reviewed by cyclo-bob

August 1, 2013
edited over 7 years ago
referencing LP5, 2xLP, Album, warplp66

This for me is THE electronica record! I am still every time impressed. There is just some soul in it that. For example 'Corc' always makes me stunning. All tracks are great but if I have to recommend some I would say 'Fold 4, Wrap 5', the feeling of getting slower and faster is absolutely brilliant, like the tempo falls up and down but there is a tight measure in it, too. 'Caliper Remote' is for me simply one of the greatest and inspiring electronic pieces ever. Best autechre work to me!

A must have!
josiextrent

Autechre - LP5 josiextrent

July 27, 2013
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
i've just listened this album for the first time, and, i must say, i'm out of words. it's genius. i mean it.
badhack

Autechre - LP5 as reviewed by badhack

March 26, 2011
referencing LP5, CD, Album, warpcd66
LP5 is still an approachable album for IDM fans, and while it doesn't sound a thing like Aphex Twin, it still falls in that category of music. There is a lot of creativity, identifiable rhythm and melodies but it also contains segments of very beat/sample laden music. The song structure is more conventional with things like climaxes and introductions.