CBTK

Four Tet - There Is Love In You CBTK

February 28, 2020
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
Anyone know if this will get a 10 year anniversary reissue?
ozblotto

Four Tet - There Is Love In You as reviewed by ozblotto

October 31, 2019
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
Coming up to a decade since this was released and it most definitely has stood the test of time. Not only unique for it's time, not much else has come to close to re-creating what KH accomplished here.

Compared to his earlier works (which are excellent in their own right) this really set the blueprint for a stellar decade.

Legend of the game.
jordskred

Four Tet - There Is Love In You jordskred

August 26, 2019
edited 9 days ago
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
Just discovered that 'Love Cry' features a sample from 'Incantations' by Louis De Meester... just saying.
jayelm

Four Tet - There Is Love In You jayelm

August 18, 2019
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, DNO 229
Can anyone confirm runout etchings for this version? - -
ricstultz

Four Tet - There Is Love In You ricstultz

September 25, 2018
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, DNO 229
This album sounds amazing, one of the clearest and cleanest sounding records i own, the low end rattles my windows
JQ1017

Four Tet - There Is Love In You JQ1017

November 12, 2017
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229

My runouts are as follows:

Side A - WIGLP 254, BF14557-07 A2
Side B - WIGLP 254, BF14557-01 B1 (no dash)
Side C - WIGLP 254, BF14457-02 C1
Side D - WIGLP 254, BF14457-02 D1

Maybe I got a repressing? Anyone else here with those runouts or similar.

Also says something on Side C runouts about mastering from Matt at the Exchange.
lickmikehunt

Four Tet - There Is Love In You lickmikehunt

May 14, 2017
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
What's with the limited to 500 copies and virgin vinyl mention in the description?
R_vinyl

Four Tet - There Is Love In You R_vinyl

February 15, 2017
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
I have very different runout side etchings than the ones that are given here. Anyone else? Mine start with DNO ...
jayelm

Four Tet - There Is Love In You jayelm

August 18, 2019
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
Mine are:

DNO229 A1 S-70941
DNO229 B1 S-70942
C4 S-70943 RG-3
D4 S-70944 RG-3
aatishn

Four Tet - There Is Love In You aatishn

July 19, 2018
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
Yeah, me too. Is that a different edition? I don't have the plastic sleeve I brought it in, so I can't check the barcode or where its made.
5N1PPY

Four Tet - There Is Love In You 5N1PPY

November 13, 2016
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
I've looked around a bit about that hidden track some people have reported and it's actually by Lightspeed Champion, titled There's Nothing Underwater off of his 2010 album. Released around the same time as this album, on the same label Domino.
So presumably the addition of this hidden track is actually an incidental mispress.
amaryllis

Four Tet - There Is Love In You amaryllis

October 12, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
"Reversing" samples "Cloud Music" by Orlando Kimber and Jon Keliehor from the Album "East meets West" on Bruton Music.
scoundrel

Four Tet - There Is Love In You as reviewed by scoundrel

May 19, 2016
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, DNO 229

THERE IS LOVE IN YOU almost sounds like it should be a romantic album, but with Four Tet at the helm, it turns out to be much, much more. The quiet beat that starts off "Angel Echoes" quickly gives way to the main theme, a reprocessing of what sounds like Sarah McLachlan vocals. "Love Cry" begins on a more minimal note, with just the percussion and some lingering electronics until the vocals appear halfway through. "Circling" makes the vocals just a hum for the swirl of electronics to dance around, while the delicate funk of "Sing" will make you actually want to dance. Male vocals are the addition to "This Unfolds," though not much more than a sweet humming to accompany the squat, joyous gurgling underneath, while "Plastic People" chimes a little darker. But as the album comes to an end with the calming clatter and guitar of "She Just Likes To Fight," it becomes clear where the love really is.
nelson._.dj

Four Tet - There Is Love In You nelson._.dj

March 24, 2016
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229
Excited to report that there is a further repress due April 2016!!!!
sunshine-recorder

Four Tet - There Is Love In You sunshine-recorder

November 3, 2013
referencing There Is Love In You, 2xLP, Album, WIGLP254, DNO229

Contrary to your comment MEMEs, the pressing for my repressed copy of this is great. Fantastic album.
VazgenSolwork

Four Tet - There Is Love In You VazgenSolwork

February 11, 2012
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, WIGCD254
This CD is brilliant and timeless, for sure. "Love Cry" - is one of the deepest and sexiest track in Four Tet's discografy.
Love it!!!
scories

Four Tet - There Is Love In You scories

August 2, 2010
edited over 9 years ago
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, WIGCD254
This album is extremely well produced and sounds very good. But I can't help feeling sad about Four Tet's new danceable approach. His music is no longer wonderfully contemplative as it used to be. There is nothing wrong in changing direction, but I feel sorry to see more and more talented composers going to the upbeat 4/4 direction. It seems that the drop in record sales forces producers to do more and more live shows, and they often succomb to this new challenge; making people dance. Music doesn't have to make you physically move to be infectious.

I admit that this is more a statement than a review, but I thought this album really reflects very well this new reality.
m3nn0

Four Tet - There Is Love In You m3nn0

November 7, 2010
edited over 9 years ago
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, WIGCD254
Well, I can't reply on all of this instantly. The discussion of what's 'pure' and what should stay 'pure' will never stop. So I'll leave that one for just a moment or I would even leave that up to you. Leaving the fact that it occupies me just as well. The only thing I do want to add to that is (while listening to a 10'' of Shackleton doing some sort of electro/breakbeat/dubstep/soundscape thing) that mucisians don't listen to the same kind of music all the time as well as their own listeners. So why should they keep stuck to just one sound?
I think a mucisians like Four Tet wants to explore every border. And so he did with Burial, on two extremely great cuts! Check these one out and tell me what you think of those...
I read an interview with FlyLo this summer where he said about his followers: ,,Go do your own thing''. There have been other times where music sounded alike. So, is this just the sound of today or easy rip-offs?
But I agree fully when you'd speak about wanting to stick to your own instead of creating a sound someone else has just done.
What's your opinion on the latest release by Caribou then?
scories

Four Tet - There Is Love In You scories

November 7, 2010
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, WIGCD254
I respect your explanations about what 'There is love in You' represents for you. Other albums like M.I.A.'s Kala are also very reprensentative of our times in different ways. But I guess that I might not be the only one who is uncomfortbable to see the intrusion of 'glamourous' element in leftfield music. From Akufen to Joker's recent productions, there is an increase in glittering disco sounds, superficial themes, chopped samples of R&B divas. While Four Tet calls it love (maybe cynically), I would rather describe it as hedonist. I could also mention other artists like Daft Punk, Goldfraap, Lone, Mount Kimbie and even Burial who also are using these types of sounds in different ways. Sometimes I like it, sometimes I just don't. But I have to admit that I don't like much the current trends, to be honnest. :)
m3nn0

Four Tet - There Is Love In You m3nn0

November 7, 2010
edited over 9 years ago
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, WIGCD254
Really said, I believe all experiences and their outings are being generilesed. That is, I think, because the sources we use around the world are becomming more the same as well as the way we use them. Especially the influence of social media creates a reality where you obtain the experiences of your "friends" on a constant basis. Everyone is being influenced by those channels more and more. And then the music market is being focused on a more global scale. Local music is fading out and it has to sound global. No one listens to just one or two kinds of music anymore. What comes out these days is a culmination of things. A sess pool if you will. Techniques and instruments are easily purchased and in a very easy enverinment.
But, if done well as this Four Tet release, I think it resembles the sound of today very well and should be here as it is.
scories

Four Tet - There Is Love In You scories

November 7, 2010
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, WIGCD254
Yes and no. I actually enjoy some dance music. However, I dislike cultural homogenisation, which currently involves rock and dance music a little too much.
m3nn0

Four Tet - There Is Love In You m3nn0

November 7, 2010
edited over 9 years ago
referencing There Is Love In You, CD, Album, Gat, WIGCD254
Probably you'll dislike electronic dance music in general? It's just way to superficial to say that dance elements could not lead to anything artistic.