dagerman

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion dagerman

September 8, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 081227960797, R1 234428
This pressing is pretty dull and lifeless unfortunately. My copy appears to be off center adding a noticeable pitch fluctuation too. Has to be better options out there, I'd recommend looking for one before paying for this one.

Played on a Clearaudio Concept, Satisfy Tonearm, Hana ML Cartridge, ifi iphono2 pre into a Rogue Audio Pharaoh amp.
artzox

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by artzox

September 8, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 88985337041, STUMM106
Haven't listened to the original mix on vinyl but this remaster to me is waaay too boomy in the the low end and overall too loud. I would go as far as calling it compressed in terms of dynamic range. In comparison to the SACD the soundstage is very narrow and center-heavy. I do agree that it is very silent pressing, but in the end I will be looking for a legacy release as this is not the sound I am looking for.
konin_73

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion konin_73

September 8, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, CD, Album, RE, RM, Unofficial + DVD-V, Album, Mult, DMCD8, 0094637006726

Первый диск - CD, SACD-слой отсутствует. Российские пираты не производят SACD диски. Однако, имеющиеся в комплекте диски превосходного качества. Оценка 5
Abandon_Ark

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by Abandon_Ark

August 28, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, CD, Album, Club, 9 45243-2
Matrix/Runout is a little different in a copy I have:

Matrix / Runout:1 45243-2 SRC ##01 M5S6
olivgrau

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion olivgrau

July 23, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, STUMM 106
This is the worst album cover from DM! Not because of the painted style, not because of the photos of the members, but because of 4 separte photos from the members and the splitting of the symbols for Alan and Fletch. Anton could have done better here!
s_mcmendez

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion s_mcmendez

July 1, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, CD, Album, Club, W2 45243
This CD came in a standard jewel case but with a white rear media tray.
Chubins

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion Chubins

May 5, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, 180, WBA1-234428

Absolutely amazing pressing.... Very silent no surface noise..... This is what all albums should sound like everything is just so perfect..... This is amazing..... High, Mid, and low are all absolutely perfect. I would be surprised to find another press of this album that would sound better
Dick66683

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion Dick66683

April 17, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 081227960797, R1 234428
Just picked this up and was surprised at the year not being identified. Great sound though! Sounds proper, and also... I truly feel like the mixed of a certain couple tracks are quite different. 'I feel you' feels more subdued and 'rush' almost sounds like a different take. I've only heard this on CD and other digi formats, so maybe it's how all the vinyl mixes sound? Perhaps. Definitely love it despite not being able to identify year. Definitely a worthy press.
zang-records

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion zang-records

March 30, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, Cass, Album, C STUMM 106
My version is identical to this, except it is stamped U10 on the shell, instead of U11. Should I add this as a different release?
nickihoy

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion nickihoy

March 19, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 081227960797, R1 234428

My pressing sounds fantastic! However, I don't think it's 180g; between 150-165g maybe. I feel like the sounds surrounds me like a huge dynamic and symphonic hug. I'd definitely spin this in a club if I was a DJ (wish I was!). I don't want to listen to any of its contents digitally, but will have to because I can't take the turntable with me in my car, haha!
filthythedog

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion filthythedog

November 29, 2020
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, STUMM 106
This was the last vinyl album I purchased new for many years as I then totally switched to CDs. I picked it up at an Our Price for 99p at the back end of 1993... they were obviously in the process of off-loading their vinyl to make space for the Digital Revolution!

99p. For a new DM album on vinyl. Let that sink in...
Znzo

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion Znzo

March 13, 2021
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, STUMM 106
Hello,
what about sound and press quality of this version? It's good?
zevulon

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by zevulon

November 21, 2020
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 88985337041, STUMM106

I do like the liner notes about the difficulties with recording this album and that "something is missing from the sound on some tracks" cause that is exactly what I felt when it was released and I left the band for a while.
I remember that the only tracks that stood out was I Feel You, In Your Room and Higher Love and the first two are among their top songs ever, but the rest still leave me rather indifferent and the non-single tracks are particularly boring.
I sold the CD a couple of weeks after buying it in 1993 but it is still a DM album so it is OK to finally have a vinyl copy of this.
Ribbster

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion Ribbster

September 15, 2020
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 88985337041, STUMM106
Anyone know of another way of telling the versions apart without actually tearing the wrapping of and checking the actual record? Would like to keep the sealing if possible.
Znzo

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion Znzo

August 6, 2020
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, STUMM 106
Fantastic album. Also, it sounds so good on vinyl, very good press :-)
The_Strange_Boutique

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by The_Strange_Boutique

June 10, 2020
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, CD, Album, CD STUMM 106
If "Violator" was the sound of Depeche Mode breaking away from synthpop Britannia on top form, then "Songs of Faith and Devotion" is the crash-landing; the sound of frayed edges, opioid weariness and knife-edge exhaustion.

With scuzzy guitars ("I Feel You"), luscious string sections ("One Caress") and hints of gospel ("Condemnation"), Depeche Mode hit spiritual highs on this record, experimenting in hitherto-unexplored territory. Dave Gahan's social association with LA bands like Jane's Addiction is audible; as were the detrimental effects of his excessive drug use on the band. A dark record to say the least, "Songs of Faith and Deovotion" would be the straw to break the camel's back for Alan Wilder, whose departure after the 1994 Exotic tour left Depeche Mode without their most technically-adept member and on the brink of what would wind up being a bit of an artistic abyss.

Despite a bleak backdrop of drug-addled brawling and tense artistic differences, the majority of this LP is brilliant. Melodically speaking, these are some of Martin Gore's finest tunes. "One Caress" in particular, is beautiful. Gore's vocal absolutely soars over the shrill, dramatic strings; it ranks easily alongside the seminal "Somebody" as one of the most beautiful love-songs he has ever written. Elsewhere, the atmospheric "Judas" swirls around a sweet chord progression, making wry use of Biblical references ('hollow talk and idle promises / cheating Judases, doubting Thomases'). Other highlights include "In Your Room", another dark, but tender moment, with a lovely, unexpected chord change defining its chorus; and "Rush", whose pounding synth bass suggests it could've been dreamt up during the recording of the previous record. Irritatingly, the record closes on a slight ebb with "Higher Love", but it only takes dropping the needle back on the scorched guitars feeding back into the start of "I Feel You" to see just how solid this LP is on the whole.

"Songs of Faith and Devotion" is a world away from the music Depeche Mode were making a mere 12 years before on 1981's "Speak and Spell" - gone are the pep and the buoyancy. This is not one of their '80s records. It's certainly not very fun, and - at its best - it aims for something altogether more harrowing and emotionally poignant than most of Gore's quasi-comedic lyrical assertions of the preceding decade ('anything passes when you need glasses'). Instead, this record is the corrosive sound of an anchor hitting rock bottom, embedding itself and refusing to budge. But in spite of the bleak, entrapping depths, there's a real beauty to behold.

─ ─ ─

1. "I Feel You" - ★★★★★
2. "Walking in My Shoes" - ★★★★★
3. "Condemnation" - ★★★★★
4. "Mercy in You" - ★★★★☆
5. "Judas" - ★★★★☆
6. "In Your Room" - ★★★★☆
7. "Get Right with Me" / "Interlude #4 - (My Kingdom Comes)" - ★★★★☆
8. "Rush" - ★★★★★
9. "One Caress" - ★★★★★
10. "Higher Love" - ★★★☆☆
aldop38

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by aldop38

February 11, 2020
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 88985337041, STUMM106

Definitevely better compared to the Rhino version Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion, this one is practically silent (no sibilance), with more presence. The record itself is much better manufactured (smooth edge, perfectly flat) than the Rhino one. But in my opinion the sound still lacks liveliness and punch. 4 stars.
daviddgrant

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by daviddgrant

January 9, 2020
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat, 88985337041, STUMM106

Not the best press and really disappointed in DM represses. Not only the pressing but also the quality of the covers.
Never the less this is a classic DM album and a must have to any DM fan.
WiltonJr

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by WiltonJr

December 28, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, WBA1-234428

My copy sounds perfect. No pops or other surface noise. Bass is really deeper and the level of details is excellent.
aldop38

Depeche Mode - Songs Of Faith And Devotion as reviewed by aldop38

December 23, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Songs Of Faith And Devotion, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, WBA1-234428

Just got this one off the shelf. Surface noise, cracks and pops all over. The sound is rather thin. On top of that, the record came badly warped.