aphexacid

LFO - Frequencies aphexacid

May 10, 2021
referencing Frequencies, 2x12", Album, RE, WARP LP3X

This absolutely destroys the original pressing. POWERFUL sound. Full and dynamic. This is exactly what this legendary album deserved. It’s worth every penny.
This is the handbook for electronic music.
synonymous

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by synonymous

March 29, 2021
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
Eno talks about Scenius, a word which 'stands for the intelligence and the intuition of a whole cultural scene.. the communal form of the concept of the genius'. And I think that this explains maybe half of what makes this so great. But there is also something wonderfully 'off' and unique in how they transform that Northern bleepy techno idea (with some obvious smattering of Kraftwerk) into something fragile, brittle, wobbly and beautiful.

The vinyl version is the one I know and love best (some of the CD tracks are a bit superfluous) and I'm not selling mine because a) I still adore it and b) it's pretty much worn out.
Cr8ace

LFO - Frequencies Cr8ace

February 21, 2021
edited 4 months ago
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
In my opinion this is one of the best electronic music LPs of all time. Varied in mood and tempo. Still sounds good as it did back then.
marcpalma

LFO - Frequencies marcpalma

December 17, 2020
referencing Frequencies, CD, Album, WARP CD3
Does anyone know what the difference between the black sleeve and yellow sleeve album is? I had the yellow sleeve cassette when this came out and I would like to buy it again for my personal collection. I was and still am in the US if that matters any.
dexterfeng

LFO - Frequencies dexterfeng

February 6, 2021
referencing Frequencies, CD, Album, WARP CD3
The yellow sleeve was made for the Tommy Boy release of the album.
kuvainraastaja

LFO - Frequencies kuvainraastaja

November 12, 2020
referencing Frequencies, 2x12", Album, RE, WARP LP3X
A new pressing of this crown jewel of inventive techno would be highly appreciated.
tranzyd

LFO - Frequencies tranzyd

November 15, 2019
referencing Frequencies, CD, Album, WARP CD3
this is going so cheap now, why ? an absolute must have LP for those into electronic music, and early rave
Doomguy-id

LFO - Frequencies Doomguy-id

May 5, 2020
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Frequencies, CD, Album, WARP CD3
I thought this was a known disc-rot pressing, but I could be wrong. edit - I've tried looking everywhere for where I read this but I can't find it at all.
Triple-Diamond

LFO - Frequencies Triple-Diamond

July 26, 2019
referencing Frequencies, CD, Album, WARP CD3
Voted the second best Electronic album of 1991 by the members of The World’s Greatest Ever Electronic Music Albums group.

https://www.twgeema.com/best-electronic-albums-of-1991
rastikertlik

LFO - Frequencies rastikertlik

December 31, 2018
referencing Frequencies, LP, S/Sided, Ltd, Num, Promo, Cle, RTD 199-0014-1
is the Simon From Sydney song really 6:05?,because on album it is 5:05
BassBytesRecords

LFO - Frequencies BassBytesRecords

July 3, 2018
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
I wish Warp would repress the classics of their back catalogue, especially this one. A massive landmark in UK dance music.
BassBytesRecords

LFO - Frequencies BassBytesRecords

July 5, 2018
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
Oh wow, I never realised. I can see it on there now, thanks !
damnspynovels

LFO - Frequencies damnspynovels

July 5, 2018
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
This was reissued a few years ago! Double vinyl, cut deep - and with two extra tracks.
ian_s

LFO - Frequencies ian_s

December 7, 2017
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
Simon From Sydney was used on an advert for the Volkswagen Golf in 2004.
toadsound

LFO - Frequencies toadsound

January 30, 2017
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
LFO - Frequencies
pretty, pretty ... pretttyyy ... pretty, pretty good!
wainwright

LFO - Frequencies wainwright

June 11, 2015
referencing Frequencies, LP, S/Sided, Ltd, Num, Promo, Cle, RTD 199-0014-1
i have a copy of this , ive had this many years , got it from warp records in sheffield after it shut down from a friend who was doing some work on the building , it must of got left there with other records ,mine is stamped 0001 in orig packageing with warp slip matt, must be worth a thew quid ;-))
dlgale1974

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by dlgale1974

January 6, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
A great album that has stood the test of time. Electro, Acid House, Techno, it's all there. Classic. Sometimes I listen to it in the car on the way to work early in the morning, and my mind goes back 20 odd years, thinking of being a car, driving back from clubs early in the morning. This rates as one of the best Electronic albums of all time.
robcypher

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by robcypher

July 11, 2012
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
Awesome techno with elements of trance and electro! Aged well for the most part compared to most other techno music from the '90-'91 scene(the title track remains a classic even today!).
lechmckoy

LFO - Frequencies lechmckoy

November 30, 2011
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
brit 90 's at his best, you just can see the wharehouses filled with turnig lights and people wawing on the beat ,amazing ,vintage
The_Unrest_Cure

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by The_Unrest_Cure

November 6, 2010
referencing Frequencies, CD, Album, TBCD 1048

One of the most tremendous electronic albums ever made! 20 years since its release, it sounds fresh, unique, and unbelievable: just hear "L.F.O." for churning speaker-erupting bass wedded to sharp beats and mind-blowing chirps. "We Are Back" similarly explodes with distortion (or is it just so loud that mere home speakers cannot handle it?) and rapidly expanding synths. For that matter, "Love is the Message", "Mentok 1", and just about every other track on the album are classics too. Quite honestly, THIS is where 90's-era electronic music starts, and if history and influence are any guide, just may be where the music ends too.

**This is an album that sounds best on LOUD speakers.**
NickTheRaver

LFO - Frequencies NickTheRaver

March 23, 2010
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3

I have this album framed on my lounge wall. First proper LP I ever bought and will always, always be my favourite record of all time. Nothing comes close to this fantastic collection of tunes.
BRUCE1991

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by BRUCE1991

January 10, 2006
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Frequencies, CD, Album, 592026

To me "Frequencies" is one of the most genius electronic album ever made.
I think there is not enough words to say how this work is timeless, very hard to surpass.
The perfect synthesis of electro, house, acid, and techno, everything far ahead of it's time.
It starts with an acid house's pionneers tribute and it ends up with a mysterious dark ambient ballad. Moody and effective tunes, downtempo or uptempo everything is smartly packed here.
The sound research is also very important, (huge modular synths and analogical materials) no cliché.
If you listen this album at one stretch you would only realise that Bell and Varley have been touched by God's blessings.
A Masterpiece!
lovemacheen

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by lovemacheen

July 20, 2003
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, TB 1048

If you like electronic music then this should be in your collection, considered by some to be the first techno album, Tommy Boy picked it up because they thought it sounded like electric funk. One word to sum this album up is "groundbreaking", LFO has a certain style that is unmatched even until today. I am shocked to see only 5 members have this.
nike.bordom

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by nike.bordom

December 10, 2002
referencing Frequencies, LP, S/Sided, Ltd, Num, Promo, Cle, RTD 199-0014-1
I had a Warp slipmat with my copy of this promo (black with orange logo).
servo

LFO - Frequencies as reviewed by servo

July 13, 2002
referencing Frequencies, LP, Album, WARP LP3
a classic release on warp. released in 91, this album is still incredible. my favorites include LFO. Love is the Message. We Are Back. and Simon From Sydney. but everything is excellent. this release was way ahead of its time, and continues to inspire me.