jeromegn

Caribou - Swim as reviewed by jeromegn

October 11, 2019
referencing Swim, 2x12", Album, MRG348
Sounds great to me. Doesn't seem too fast, maybe a tad but it's hard to tell. No crackling or noises (I bought it second-hand, but NM).
.Richard.

Caribou - Swim .Richard.

February 11, 2018
referencing Swim, 2xLP, Album, 180, SLANG9550055
Fantastic sounding pressing, the music seems to jump out of the speakers 👍
redclove

Caribou - Swim redclove

October 20, 2017
referencing Swim, 2x12", Album, MRG348

Sounds a little fast. They should also know better than to not write anywhere on the packaging or labels that this is a 45rpm pressing.
1ShotBill

Caribou - Swim 1ShotBill

February 6, 2017
referencing Swim, 2x12", Album, MRG348

I also have a quiet pressing that sounds very good to me.
onehoop

Caribou - Swim as reviewed by onehoop

October 15, 2016
referencing Swim, 2xLP, Album, 180, SLANG9550055

I really enjoy this album. I bought this copy thanks to SonofGalahad's review and because I was placing another order to ship from Europe. This sounds GREAT and the inner sleeves are plastic lined (I hate cheap paper sleeves). The CD booklet is lame though. Hard to believe that the artwork could not be obtained in a format suitable for 12"x12" reproduction.
deKassu

Caribou - Swim deKassu

September 2, 2017
referencing Swim, 2xLP, Album, 180, SLANG9550055

I found the booklet to be a genius addition: you also get the download code, so after downloading them you can burn them to CD, and use the booklet with the jewel case for your CD.

That is the more hobbyist-approach though, and if you're not into that, I can see why one may deem the booklet as being lame.
scoundrel

Caribou - Swim as reviewed by scoundrel

April 18, 2016
referencing Swim, CD, Album, SLANG733419

How does a Caribou SWIM, you might ask? Quite well, as a matter of fact. Dan Snaith moves further in an electronic direction with this album, starting with a deeper, almost funky "Odessa" and moving to the jazzy syncopation and filtered vocal of the more house-centric "Sun." The refracting synths come against a horn band and his plaintive vocals on "Kaili," whereas the harp and bell tones on the instrumental "Bowls" add an almost Buddhist texture to the low-key rhythm. "Hannibal," similarly, has a wooziness to its synths which carries into the subdued groove of "Lalibela" before the "Jamelia" comes in quiet as a lamb before exploding like a lion eating dynamite. Definitely one of Snaith's stronger efforts.
cheesndopeWI

Caribou - Swim cheesndopeWI

September 18, 2015
referencing Swim, 2x12", Album, MRG348

my copy is very quiet. sounds good.
gagnonjulien1

Caribou - Swim gagnonjulien1

March 17, 2015
referencing Swim, CD, Album, SLANG733419
So I just bought Merge's pressing at a store in my area, and there seems to be a problem with the stereo, has anyone experienced an album with the right track playing extremely faintly? I've resorted to mono.
SonofGalahad

Caribou - Swim SonofGalahad

January 12, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
referencing Swim, 2xLP, Album, 180, SLANG9550055
The City Slang variant of Swim is cut at 33rpm, but is pressed on what appears to be quiet 180gram wax. The pressing is - in my opinion - vastly superior to the Merge offering.

I bought two Merge Swim LPs; both LPs of both copies suffered terrible warping and several sides were noticeably stamped off center. I watched the stylus waggle back and forth on side B to a degree that was causing a tonal warble on the long tones in the music on that side. Obviously both copies were from the same stamper as both sucked. Between the hop and the lateral movement, the turd pressing bore out how well my tonearm was able to keep up, but at 45rpm the records would almost invariably skip on a lesser deck. Maybe Merge blew their price point on the lovely spot-varnished cover and insert art and couldn't boot for a quality record? Who knows.

Sent for the City Slang pressing - slightly nicer packaging and it sounds better, despite being cut at 33rpm. This was not the first time I bought a Merge record that was crappy. Not sure what their problem is but Dan Snaith's work deserves better. Just my experience.
sevensharpnine

Caribou - Swim sevensharpnine

July 31, 2014
referencing Swim, 2xLP, Album, 180, SLANG9550055
Can anyone tell me if this release is 45RPM?
sevensharpnine

Caribou - Swim sevensharpnine

August 9, 2014
referencing Swim, 2xLP, Album, 180, SLANG9550055
Never mind, just got my copy and it's not. However, it (surprisingly) sounds better than my roommate's 45RPM US pressing
Worra

Caribou - Swim Worra

September 1, 2013
referencing Swim, 2x12", Album, MRG348
I'm not noticing it play too fast but the quality of the pressing is terrible! Its crackling and really noisy
cottonmouthVII

Caribou - Swim cottonmouthVII

December 21, 2014
referencing Swim, 2x12", Album, MRG348

Sadly, I found the same. My copy was brand new out of the shrink and there are a ton of issues. First, I'm sure they are 120's, but these discs feel even flimsier than normal. Each of my discs have skips and play with a massive amount of surface noise, even after thorough cleaning. It severely affects my listening experience. It just really is not a well done press.
Plastic_Circles

Caribou - Swim Plastic_Circles

June 3, 2013
referencing Swim, 2x12", Album, MRG348
Does anyone else find that this play a bit too fast?
Unterhimmel

Caribou - Swim as reviewed by Unterhimmel

February 13, 2012
referencing Swim, 2xLP, Album, 180, SLANG9550055

"Jamelia"
Silky Electronic-Dub-Folk at the beginning and at the end, distorted climax in the middle. Smooth vocals. Beautiful.
zmin

Caribou - Swim zmin

October 31, 2010
referencing Swim, 9xFile, MP3, Album, 320, MRG348

So the first track - odessa - doesn't have Erlend Øye's vocals on it?
ajmedway

Caribou - Swim ajmedway

December 29, 2010
referencing Swim, 9xFile, MP3, Album, 320, MRG348

Ha! Amazing!

Just consulted Discogs as I thought exactly the same thing. Where's the credit that is so clearly due?

Great track though :)