YGH

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning YGH

January 9, 2021
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, Ltd, RP, Cle, 14BCLP2
On of the best work on electronic since Aphex Twin ! James Holden have no label, his inspiration comes from his depp soul. Free to talk and collaborate with strong musicians.
reydu

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning reydu

November 22, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, Ltd, RP, Cle, 14BCLP2
anyone else has the side D sticker on both C & D sides?
Edwin___

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning Edwin___

October 27, 2019
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, Ltd, RP, Cle, 14BCLP2
Record was really warped when I received it. Anyone else has simular issues?
moritzmustermann

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning moritzmustermann

October 31, 2019
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, Ltd, RP, Cle, 14BCLP2
Mine is fine too. The sound is really clear and the record too.
badadoom

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning badadoom

October 29, 2019
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, Ltd, RP, Cle, 14BCLP2

Edwin___
Record was really warped when I received it. Anyone else has simular issues?

no, sorry for you, my copy is perfect.
jamesbacon

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning as reviewed by jamesbacon

July 26, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, 14BC, 14bc
That 10101!!!! Brillant track : electronica, dub and minimal melodic at their best, creative and not boring. Timeless compared to so many others.
Effects, stereophonic depth, so simple and complex at the same time. A Masterpiece!!
OCCIDENTAL

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning as reviewed by OCCIDENTAL

February 24, 2019
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, 14BC, 14bc

"Lump" is nuts in the best way and still crushes dancefloors. Try it.
dsocohen

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning dsocohen

August 2, 2019
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, 14BC, 14bc
Still gives me chills every time I hear it. Best track on the album.
zevulon

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning zevulon

April 14, 2018
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, 14BC, 14bc

Not a very enjoyable album, but I guess some enjoy pain. The music/sounds do come across more potently on vinyl than on CD, the bass croons even more, and the Faust like cringing and spasms of the winning idiots conjured by Holden are truly vivid, but so, what's the point? I tell you, you give this a good listen, on vinyl, once or twice, just get it, and then you'll never have to play this ever again.

The album artwork, on the other hand, is really, really enjoyable, specially as a contrast to the "music".
puschi

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning puschi

September 23, 2018
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, 14BC, 14bc

I tell you, you give this a good listen, on vinyl or whatever, once or twenty times, just get it, and then you'll always have to play this ever again.
Cardia1

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning as reviewed by Cardia1

May 1, 2013
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC

When i listened to this album for the first time i was expecting musics like" bloodlock" "i have put out the lights", "kaern turned", "solstice" and "nothing", instead i hear a new side of James holden, it was a deception at a first listening, but after listening to this album a few more times i end up enjoying this dark album, i don´t know how some people find its musics weird, honestly i think the musics are quite acessible and simple to assimilate,its dark melodies are usual in Electronic music, so there´s nothing awkward about it. Its a pity that this album is short and includes a blank track ""intentionally left blank" wich i think it occupies unnecessary disk space, besides it turns to be a uncomfortable silence of two minutes, it feels like wasted money on this pseudo-modern art track. I find this album very satisfying untill the track 8, the final tracks i find them more ordinary lacking melody, dynamic or any consistency in its expression. My favourite tracks are "Lump", "Flute" and "Lumpette". The only reason why i don´t give the max rating to this album is because i find it short and with some track that are not enough satisfying, i hope James Holden is working on a new Album whether is dark or progressive house. James is one the best artists when it comes to do remixes such as "Fine day, "The sky was pink", "the darkest star", "inner laugh" and many other remixes wich i find amazing placing James as one of the top remixers. I hope James Holden is producing a new album, and i hope it will be a more varied album, more extended and more satisfying than this one.
Konstantin_Sibold

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning Konstantin_Sibold

August 6, 2012
edited over 8 years ago
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, 14BC, 14bc
I remember listening to this in a record store the first time back in the days, I didn't bought it because I didn't understand it, nevertheless a few weeks later I bought it, thankfully, and then I listened more intently to it... and it really opened doors in my way of understanding electronic music.
I hope that someday I can give him a big hug for what he gave to me with this record.

6/5
jiggawhat

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning as reviewed by jiggawhat

January 9, 2012
edited over 8 years ago
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC

It lacks melody, harmony, tonation - every single basic aspect of music composition is ignored. Intelligent dance music? This is as dumb as it gets, and it certainly isn't dance music. Lump is the only half-decent track on the album, the rest is pseudo-art that "intellectuals" will pretend they enjoy. It's akin to going to a modern art convention and seeing a rusted frying pan on display. If this album was any no-name artist, it would be dismissed. But since it's James Holden, it suddenly becomes this revolutionary, breakthrough album that "defines new boundaries" and other nonsense.
Tech_Life

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning Tech_Life

September 1, 2016
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC

Couldn't have said it better myself. He was my favorite producer before he went all experimental on us.
megamarkd

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning megamarkd

March 4, 2015
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC
It's all down to taste. I can't stand Prog House or Trance, but my taste is different to yours. Despite my distaste for those two genres I'm not about to poopoo them just because I don't like them. In the end it's my loss not anyone else's, as it I am the one who is unable to enjoy something that so many other believe is the penultimate of music.
With regards to the album itself, I feel it has dated a little since I first heard it in '06.
jiggawatt

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning jiggawatt

January 9, 2012
edited over 9 years ago
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC
Holden had a great start, fusing a listenable, and sometimes danceable, blend of minimalist progressive house and trance, but seemed to have used up all his brilliance and mass appeal on these first releases. He fell off the wagon after about '04, deciding to dive headlong into a minimalist trench of obscurity. I don't know if you want to call it avant-garde or musique concrete, but it's often unlistenable and definitely not danceable.
scoundrel

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning as reviewed by scoundrel

September 2, 2011
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC

When a track like the densely textured "Lump" kicks off an album, you know you're in for a treat. And that's exactly what James Holden's THE IDIOTS ARE WINNING is. "10101" is spartan at the start, but once the synths come in, it becomes like an electric ocean, with waves of crackle and synth ripples. "Corduroy," on the other hand, starts ticking away into acid-like wobbles, while the ambient, atonal "Flute" accumulates layers of noise and feedback. "Idiot" takes its steady thump through several tonal variations, while its sister track, "Idiot Clapsolo" is a slightly stripped-down version. "Quiet Drumming" ends the album with a heavily-filtered rhythm track, almost a counterpoint to the tracks elsewhere. The album as a whole: a musical smörgåsbord.
megamarkd

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning megamarkd

March 4, 2015
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC
Pretty sure it's an homage to John Cage's 4′33″.
dezseu3

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning dezseu3

August 1, 2012
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, CD, MiniAlbum, 14BC

What's the meaning of that "track"? Seriously...
Shpira

Holden* - The Idiots Are Winning as reviewed by Shpira

May 10, 2009
referencing The Idiots Are Winning, 2x12", MiniAlbum, 14BC, 14bc
One of the best electronic albums yet. It breaks boundaries and creates something truly unique. A master piece, a true musical composition. I think Holden deserves praise for this album...Consequently I find it strange that its being criticized by people for being too experimental and what not. Is this not what electronic music is originally about?

The only ways for things to improve is by testing the limits. This album does just that and the result is some of the best melodies I have heard yet.

A must have.