normanharvey

Electronic - Electronic as reviewed by normanharvey

December 9, 2018
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, Fact 290
a great album with at least 5 good songs

actually this album is an album by a supergroup
NEIL TENNANT (pet shop boys) Johnny marr and b Sumner

RebirthOfTheCool

Electronic - Electronic RebirthOfTheCool

July 30, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
I can't bring myself to buy this because, damnit, they should have broken it out to 2 LPs -or- cut one song. It's just wrong that Side 2 starts with "Gangster" which is probably the weakest song on this. When listening to this on CD, back in the early '90s, it always made sense to me that you transitioned into the second half of the album with "Soviet" (sort of the intermission) before dropping back into the fantastic "Get The Message"... I'd always skip "Gangster" and move on the the rest of the CD. But on vinyl, there is the offending track, at the start of Side 2, getting in the way. “Soviet” should be at the end of a side, with “Get The Message” starting the next side. Come on, guys! It should be four sides, like so:
Disc 1A: 1. Idiot Country, 2. Reality, 3. Tighten Up
Disc 1B: 1. The Patience Of A Saint, 2. Getting Away With It, 3. Gangster, 4. Soviet
Disc 2A: 1. Get The Message, 2. Try All You Want, 3. Some Distant Memory, 4. Feel Every Beat
Disc 2B: either blank with etched artwork, -OR- add some bonus tracks that the CD had (remastered for vinyl of course!) such as: Free Will (Edit), Getting Away With It (instrumental), 3. Turning Point (Edit)
RebirthOfTheCool

Electronic - Electronic RebirthOfTheCool

December 6, 2018
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
OR if it has to fit on two sides, why not match the cassette tracklist: Gangster ends side 1, Soviet opens side 2!
hayhook

Electronic - Electronic hayhook

November 6, 2018
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
If they added "Disappointed" as Track 1 on side 2 it would be perfect.
schwaggy

Electronic - Electronic schwaggy

February 2, 2018
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
Yes, great album, sounds really good. 2 copies from amazon - both warped, one worse than the other. both play fine but it's a big warp affecting side a. If you have a light tracking force you may skip.
Spatzo

Electronic - Electronic Spatzo

May 6, 2017
edited 8 months ago
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
Very clean vinyl (sound and looks). It's got to be digital, but you'd never know upon listening to it. It's worth the twenty.

3/12/2019 -
I gave this another listen and can honestly say this is one hell of pressing! I said above that it is digital, but my ears can't believe it is.
Tb-303

Electronic - Electronic as reviewed by Tb-303

May 8, 2016
referencing Electronic, CD, Album, 9 26387-2

Unbelievable album, still to this day and never will get old. I can't find one bad song on the entire CD and will never tire of listening to it. I will put it on at least once every year since it came out and am still blown away by the production and quality of each song. Excellent album and a true classic.
Tchotchke

Electronic - Electronic Tchotchke

November 8, 2015
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
Copies sold in the US are pressed in the EU. They do not however include the download code.
Native12

Electronic - Electronic Native12

June 16, 2015
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
Fantastic new pressing of a classic album - sound really is amazing on 180GM vinyl. Lovely sleeve design too - highly recommended if you are a fan of the original release.
eras

Electronic - Electronic as reviewed by eras

May 28, 2015
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747

Thrilled to see this album reissued on vinyl, long overdue in fact. The sound quality and packaging is flawless. Weighty vinyl in beautiful matte inner/outer sleeves. Synths, guitars and vocals sound brand new. A+
yarham

Electronic - Electronic yarham

May 27, 2015
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
My most favourite album finally gets a vinyl repress.
studio5431

Electronic - Electronic studio5431

October 17, 2017
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, Fact 290, 0825646144747
YES however I have to turn volume alot louder than most albums. Excellent sound on my Orbit U-Turn turntable and Grado Black cart. Recommended listening
amurr586

Electronic - Electronic as reviewed by amurr586

October 10, 2013
referencing Electronic , CD, Album, RE + CD, Comp, P/Mixed + RM, S/Edition, 5099990743122

The first disc contains a pretty competent remastering of the debut album by Frank Arkwright. I found to be a little less in-your-face than the Owen Morris 1994 effort but played on a high-end system they both sound pretty good. No complaints and definitely worth it if your only copy of the album is the early Factory mastering which does sound a little flat and of course misses "Getting Away With It" from the running order.

The second disc has been rounded on for being a bit of a mess track listing-wise and I can sympathise with those who think that. I think most fans would have preferred a dedicated 1989-92 only bonus disc rather than throwing in seemingly random Instrumental edits from the Raise The Pressure and Twisted Tenderness eras. My personal opinion is that they did it because the record label probably isn't going to release deluxe versions of those two albums and this was the only chance they had to get them out. Happy to be proven wrong by EMI on that score though (!) The guitar version of Twisted Tenderness is absolutely superb and might make up for any disappointment you feel. The "2013 Edits" of the other tracks are curious and don't add that much, at the end of the day you could never really improve on the original 12" version of Free Will so I'm not sure why they bothered. I quite enjoyed hearing Raise The Pressure tracks as Instrumentals though, a geeky bonus if you have a soft spot for that album. The sound quality of the second disc like the first one is top notch.

Finally, it has to be said the cardboard digipak and return of the Factory red/block text artwork is very cool.
greedoe

Electronic - Electronic greedoe

April 24, 2013
referencing Electronic , CD, Album, RE + CD, Comp, P/Mixed + RM, S/Edition, 5099990743122
What drunk moron put this track listing together? I appreciate the rarities disc, but unless otherwise stated, it should be from the same era or at least the same material as the actual album. We've got b-sides and album tracks from all over the shop here. If you want to release a general rarities disc, fine but don't attach it to a specific album and make people assume it's all based from that album's material.

Having said that, there's actually quite a bit of rare material from the Electronic album's release cycle that COULD have been put on the rarities disc.

A for effort, E for execution. Really, "must try harder next time".
dae5id-j

Electronic - Electronic dae5id-j

August 19, 2013
referencing Electronic , CD, Album, RE + CD, Comp, P/Mixed + RM, S/Edition, 5099990743122
"must try harder next time" indeed. but that's the problem, isn't it? sadly there isn't going to be a next time. they already did one variation with the 2007 promo - which would have made a fine retail release - and now this. I mean, I'm not buying yet another reissue if they take another shot at it to get it right - are you? for reissues like this the labels only get one chance - meaning they can only cost-justify it once, if that even - so why don't they enlist the fans for feedback or track selections, people who know the music better than they certainly do, maybe even better than the band itself. aren't we the ones whose wallets they want to open anyway? such a waste.
Fatherless_One

Electronic - Electronic as reviewed by Fatherless_One

April 20, 2013
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, Fact 290
Tim, you actually mean't 909 beats, quite a different sound from the 808.
GalaxyExplorer

Electronic - Electronic as reviewed by GalaxyExplorer

April 17, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Electronic, CDr, Album, RE + CDr, Comp, P/Mixed + Promo, RM, S, none

A bigtime missed opportunity for a good reissue. There are many good remixes of the singles that could have been included. Disc 1 has at least 20 minutes of unused space, while Disc 2 wasted a good 15 minutes. It's missing their first B-side ("Lucky Bag," and its remix, admittedly not their finest work, but still decent). Then there are four tracks from much later that don't belong here, two of which are versions of "Twisted Tenderness," one of their worst tracks in my opinion.

The "edits" on disc two are not much different from previously released versions of those songs.
yarham

Electronic - Electronic yarham

September 25, 2011
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, Fact 290
This is my most favourite album of all time. I believe it is the best album New Order never made! With it's perfect electro New Order beats, synths, Johnny's jangling guitar and Bernard's clear mournful vocals. In a time when Manchester ruled the dance scene with the Hacienda. This album perfectly sums up the late 80's and early 90's for me.
TIM

Electronic - Electronic TIM

June 27, 2010
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, Fact 290
This is a solid album. If you like Technique tracks like Vanishing Point and Round and Round this is like a sequel to that brilliant melodic feel. Strictly 808 beats and some of the best New Order style melodies. Highlights for me are Gangster inparticular. Excellent chorus and nice sounds throughout. Any fan of New Order might not only love this release but think it's up there with Technique and Substance period of 1985 to 1993 new order. A must have for synth dance music of late 80's
TIM

Electronic - Electronic TIM

June 27, 2010
referencing Electronic, LP, Album, Fact 290
This is a solid album. If you like Technique tracks like Vanishing Point and Round and Round this is like a sequel to that brilliant melodic feel. Strictly 808 beats and some of the best New Order style melodies. Highlights for me are Gangster inparticular. Excellent chorus and nice sounds throughout. Any fan of New Order might not only love this release but think it's up there with Technique and Substance period of 1985 to 1993 new order. A must have for synth dance music of late 80's