sunhammer

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs sunhammer

March 3, 2019
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gat, 88985462631
Fantastic album and immaculate pressing. The jacket is so glossy that I considered at one point getting white gloves just to handle this record. But seriously, get this release.
WaitsUp

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs WaitsUp

February 26, 2019
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385

Quality control on this release is terrible. Took three copies to get one without surface noise and with only a moderate warp. Awful.
jfwoodman

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs as reviewed by jfwoodman

February 11, 2018
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385

Excellent pressing of a great album. Rich, clean, full sound compared to CD/digital format. Highly recommended.
leonthepro

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs as reviewed by leonthepro

April 14, 2017
edited 8 months ago
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 2743427

Although I did not appreciate many of the songs on the album Im mostly here to review its sound in general, and the sound is nothing I can complain about. A release with a very punchy mastering and clean pressing, with the exception of some songs that have a slight white noise in the background, leaving me wondering if its a stylistic choice. Hardly noticeable, but then why include it? Perhaps its static from the recording itself. The sleeves however can be problematic. Aesthetically they all look very nice but the task of fitting in your records is quite arduous.
Firstly, taking out the record from the inner sleeves is practically impossible without touching the vinyl itself, something I am not fond of. They simply fit so tightly that you require manual force to slide them out.
Secondly, because they are so tight you can hardly fit your own plastic ones into them, something I like to do if they are not lined with plastic material. They should not be discarded either because they include lyrics and song lists on them which as stated look nice but written with poor handwriting, turned sideways at times, and even covered with song numbers it can be a headache to read.
Lastly, the outer jacket sleeves which of course is a gatefold suffers from a problem which a lot of gatefold designs do. Trying to tuck in your sleeves to the very spine of the outer sleeve will make it unable to close, most likely because the record or sleeve is hindering it. Meaning you have to find a sweat spot close to the spine so that the sleeve is inside the jacket, but not so close it blocks its connection point.
There are a lot of negative points in the design here but whats important is the music, so do not misunderstand me and know that this is a great item for you collection if you like Arcade Fire.
Edit: If you are worried about the pressing quality because its GZ you might want to look into the US MRG385 version instead. Cant say if its better but it might be a safer bet than the EU GZ, mine plays quiet after a clean though.

Update:
Over a year later now I have to say that my opinion on the sound of this has changed a bit. Im hearing a lot more dynamic compression and lack of instrument separation, especially in the mid range where I feel the vocals arnt present enough a lot of the time. Its still quite a decent listen however.

Equipment used:
Rega RP1 with base carbon cart
Cyrus 2 Amplifier
System Fidelity SF-3050 tower speakers
Custom made HQ speaker cables

Update Equipment:
Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
norexit

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs as reviewed by norexit

November 26, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385
I thought that this album sounded kind of flat, but then I compared it with a digital version, and the vinyl is actually better. Maybe it's just designed to sound better on headphones or something.
PBenderRecords

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs as reviewed by PBenderRecords

October 20, 2014
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385

I was extremely surprised at how much I liked the vinyl over the cd. It is rare for my aged ears to hear a strong difference between formats, but this is one of the few were I felt it was a different record altogether. I owned the CD since it came out, but was disappointed at the monotonous chugging along sound that plodded through the whole piece. I found the LP at a used shop that didn't normally have vinyl and bought it to resell. After listening to it for grading purposes, I started noticing the unique aspects of each of the songs. It appears that they had an engineer who knew how to mix for vinyl. I have completely changed my thoughts on a disappointing album and would highly recommend a replay on a good LP setup.
leonthepro

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs leonthepro

March 13, 2019
edited 8 months ago
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385
PBenderRecords
I was extremely surprised at how much I liked the vinyl over the cd. It is rare for my aged ears to hear a strong difference between formats, but this is one of the few were I felt it was a different record altogether. I owned the CD since it came out, but was disappointed at the monotonous chugging along sound that plodded through the whole piece. I found the LP at a used shop that didn't normally have vinyl and bought it to resell. After listening to it for grading purposes, I started noticing the unique aspects of each of the songs. It appears that they had an engineer who knew how to mix for vinyl. I have completely changed my thoughts on a disappointing album and would highly recommend a replay on a good LP setup.

Im guessing what you felt was different was the dynamic compression on the CD perhaps. Although I feel like the vinyl isnt very dynamic either.
preamplified

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs as reviewed by preamplified

November 23, 2013
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 2743427

Great album for sitting back and just relaxing. The pressing is very quiet and clear. One of my favorite records and very much worth having.
Gilmania

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs Gilmania

January 29, 2012
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385

There are two versions right? Standard and 180 gram preorder? Is this listing supposed to be the non-preorder one?
whoracle

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs whoracle

September 7, 2013
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385
The standard *is* 180-gram.
this_is_a_document

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs this_is_a_document

November 5, 2011
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385

It's so awesome that side 3 has runout grooves that play music! Is this the first of it's kind or are there others like this? I'd be interested to know.
olivertom1980

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs olivertom1980

October 9, 2019
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385
Yeah i have the Original Pressing of Yazoo (or Yaz) 1983 LP "you and me both" and at the end of side 1 there is a looped laugh at the end of "Good Time"
-electricity-

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs -electricity-

January 11, 2014
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385
This has been done many times in the past already by other artists. The earliest album that I can recall is Sgt Pepper by The Beatles from 1967 where there is a hi-pitched sound in the runout groove on side B.
whoracle

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs whoracle

September 7, 2013
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385
Nope - there are actually quite a few albums with runout grooves! I think the most famous one is (certain pressings of) Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band by the Beatles, Side B.
capitalG

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs capitalG

February 28, 2013
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385
the earliest vinyl i know which has this feature is sgt peppers, 1967.
onpurpose

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs onpurpose

March 20, 2012
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385

two i know are a waterfall at the end of "Whatevershebringswesing" LP by Kevin Ayers, and a water drop at the end of "Atom Heart Mother" LP by Pink Floyd
onpurpose

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs onpurpose

March 20, 2012
referencing The Suburbs, 2xLP, Album, Gat, MRG385

dude, this exists for a very long time. As far as i know, artists like Pink Floyd and Kevin Ayers used to feature such loops in runout grooves at the end of the 60s.
Crijevo

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs as reviewed by Crijevo

November 14, 2010
referencing The Suburbs, CD, Album, Bei, MRG385
Up to this point, I haven't really payed much attention to Arcade Fire. Was it the lack of time, the fact there are so many (equally great if not greater) bands, etc. Maybe its the sleeve here that attracted me first, cannot tell. Well, for all of its sleepiness with occasional bursts of energy (and despite the universal acclaim votes that were there probably way before it was actually released), 'The Suburbs' is an altogether pretty enjoyable album - not the one that grabs you at the first listen (or a number of them that follow), but the beauty is it manages to depict the traces it presents in the very title.

Musically, it is a nicely orchestrated collection of songs lost in a number of styles (while the obvious one leans more towards Americana, a phantom presence of Shoegaze, New Wave and Lynch/Badalamenti melancholy is also evident) - adding nice twists to the playlist.