theleaflabel

Susumu Yokota - Sakura theleaflabel

April 27, 2019
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
Hello everyone

Some (although by no means all) of the repress of Sakura we did in 2016 have the repeated clicks at the beginning of side 1. Unfortunately we didn't discover the problem until they had been spread far and wide. The pressing plant, MPO in France, refused to correct the error, which was clearly due to a manufacturing fault (the fault was the same on all the affected copies). At the time, we went through every single copy we had left individually and pulled out the affected copies (the blemish was visible on the vinyl to a trained eye). The 'good' copies went back into circulation, and we sold the 'bad' copies, clearly marked as such, at a discounted price on Discogs.

Following our complaints, MPO refused to press any more vinyl of any of our releases, and we haven't worked with them since. I would estimate that somewhere between 2-300 copies of the album were pressed with this mistake.

Please accept our apologies if you have one of the affected copies, but take heart in the fact that, even with the mistake, those copies are probably worth a lot more than you paid for them!

It's worth noting that, as far as we know, none of the white vinyl edition has the pressing problem.

love, The Leaf Label
about_blank.es

Susumu Yokota - Sakura about_blank.es

June 2, 2019
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
Same! this album should be repress, you would sale all the copies for sure!
samfrom88

Susumu Yokota - Sakura samfrom88

May 9, 2019
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
Hi, any chance of more repressing for Sakura? Desperate to get a copy!
Stewie03

Susumu Yokota - Sakura Stewie03

April 23, 2019
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Whi + CD + Album, Ltd, RE, BAY 13V
Disappointing more copies of this weren't pressed. It seems quite a few people missed out.
octave.octavio

Susumu Yokota - Sakura octave.octavio

February 13, 2019
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, RE, TP, BAY 13V
repress please
it's a great album and it has become too expensive
Herbabee

Susumu Yokota - Sakura Herbabee

May 31, 2018
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Whi + CD + Album, Ltd, RE, BAY 13V
wow. what a wonderful rarity. late to the party.... yet again. but thank you for the music, Susumu-san
ilitch

Susumu Yokota - Sakura ilitch

March 22, 2018
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, BAY13V
RIP Susumu. Died to young. has joined the Celestial horizons
retroremo

Susumu Yokota - Sakura retroremo

February 13, 2018
referencing Sakura, CD, Album, STR03
amazing album, genuinely gets better with every listen!

interesting he samples another great ambient album (the pavillion of dreams) by Harold budd on Shinsen
with that of Madrigals Of The Rose Angel, great sampling!
mjb

Susumu Yokota - Sakura as reviewed by mjb

October 14, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Sakura, CD, Album, BAY13CD
As reviewed by me in December 2000:

Yokota's Sakura is a collection of brilliant, warm chillout themes, opening like the latest Biosphere, navigating Apollo territory for a bit, melding into nectarine downtempo around 'Hisen', all the while becoming ever the more interesting as it is contemplative. It is hard to remember which tracks have beats, and in Yokota's world it doesn't matter. By the time 'Kodomotachi' arrives, the listener is reveling in the mercurial interplay of subtle melodies and refined reverb. With a welcome suddenness, the looping keys of 'Naminote' redefine nu-jazz, effortlessly matching Innerzone Orchestra's 'At Les' as an artful hybrid of IDM and acoustic jazz. More subdued themes shake out the remaining momentum, but by now the player is on repeat play, ready for another round of this underestimated bliss.
spectralwaterfall

Susumu Yokota - Sakura spectralwaterfall

February 28, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V

Track 1 has some Clicks on it, and it seems its the pressing cause i gave one copy back cause of that cause i thought its cause of a Scratch. The other copy i got now looks perfect, and still it has the same "looping click" on the start (it might be even longer but i am not that sure). Almost sounds as if the Master had a dustcorn at the start on it ore something.

Can anyone confirm or deny this? I doubt i was unlucky 2 Times, there might be some issues with the pressing.

Other than that its fine though. Its just the first track.

EDIT: I've exchanged it a third time now (so its my third copy of the Album) and it is still present on Track 1. Please anyone; Could you please confirm or deny this?
wehem.mesut

Susumu Yokota - Sakura wehem.mesut

May 4, 2018
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
I also have this problem :( very upset.... it's a loud click at the beginning and lasts well into the track.
ArtimusBaldwin

Susumu Yokota - Sakura ArtimusBaldwin

September 29, 2017
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
Sorry for the late response. Just tried my copy. Can confirm the clicking on track one. It's constant for a good 20 seconds or so then I can hear it a few more times across the track. After that, all good. Has to be the pressing.
spectralwaterfall

Susumu Yokota - Sakura spectralwaterfall

March 14, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V

thanks for your respone (i hope even more people will respond to this cause i think its very interesting/important).

thats so strange its the same for you on track 1, but not on the start ... the copy i currently have has it on the start and thoughout almost the whole track ... now i wish i would have my first copy of this release back i had, cause it was less clicky then the copy i got now.

like i edited on my post, i exchanged my copy with 2 different ones (so i know 3 copys of that album) and ALL of them had it, more or less similair, but kind of different with each copy too, but all that clicking starts directly when you start playing the record.

can someone explain this (technically)? my first guess was the master record had maybe some dust on it. that it differs makes me wonder a lot.

and yes other than that i have to agree that its a perfect pressing, truly wonderful music. i dont want to be picky, but yes, its such a great album i just had the hope i will get a perfect fine one somehow, just cause i love this album so much.

EDIT: i just checked the marketplace and some seller mentioned this "Vinyl has slight manufacturing defect (MPO) that causes click on each rotation at the beginning of side 1." ... That is exactly the defect i meant ... It seems to be a common thing with this release which is a shame. What went wrong there? Like i said, can someone explain this techincally?
musiclover075

Susumu Yokota - Sakura musiclover075

March 14, 2017
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V

Indeed,there are some clicks (not loud) on my album and they are on track 1 but not at the start (clicks after a minute and after two minutes in). Other than that just a perfect pressing. Happy to listen to this masterwork.
abecedarians

Susumu Yokota - Sakura abecedarians

February 12, 2016
edited 7 months ago
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V

Pressed in France by MPO - Quiet pressing...as good as the original first pressing.
ranf1970

Susumu Yokota - Sakura ranf1970

February 10, 2016
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
Was very excited to see this also. Ordered a copy as soon as I could. So happy to have this on vinyl now!
RGros

Susumu Yokota - Sakura RGros

February 4, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
what a weird idea to ruins that amazing original & lovely artwork.
joew7277

Susumu Yokota - Sakura joew7277

January 4, 2016
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
Pledgemusic has approx 70 copies left & Yokota's bandcamp and Leaf have some copies too. Brill.
Deniz94

Susumu Yokota - Sakura Deniz94

January 4, 2016
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V
Thanks for finding it, I can't believe it! 35 EU is a rough price, but I'll see..
Sprite_Fight

Susumu Yokota - Sakura Sprite_Fight

January 4, 2016
referencing Sakura, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE + CD, Album, RE, BAY 13V

Indeed. Can't find any mention of it on the Leaf website.
mathieugarcia

Susumu Yokota - Sakura mathieugarcia

November 14, 2015
referencing Sakura, CD, Album, STR03
One of the best ambient record out there. A truly powerful and beatiful record.
RIP.