HaydenLewis

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 as reviewed by HaydenLewis

March 14, 2019
referencing Alive 1997, LP, Album, RE, 180, RP1-113912

Great Reissue, Nice warm bass sounds. Can't compare to the original but sounds fantastic, Worth a Grab.
boudicca61

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 as reviewed by boudicca61

January 16, 2018
referencing Alive 1997, LP, Album, V2952, 724381113912
great live set, but it has no business on vinyl. It sounds like it was recorded with one or two open-air microphones in the middle of a small concrete room. Listen on digital/CD. Vinyl doesn't enhance or improve this recording in any way.
Thomas_Bangalter

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 as reviewed by Thomas_Bangalter

March 23, 2017
referencing Alive 1997, CD, Album, Mixed, CDV2952, 724381113929, 7243 8111392 9
Alive 1997 is an excerpt taken from their full set during the Daftendirektour at the Burmingham Que club. It's A shame we probably wont ever get to hear the full set, but what we got is amazing! Alive 1997 is definitely one of their best works. It is an amazing listen to, and the set still holds up to live sets of today's DJ's.
Frostcaiman

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 Frostcaiman

June 27, 2014
referencing Alive 1997, LP, Album, V2952, 724381113912
I would get this is it weren't so damn expensive, yes i understand the vinyl is rare, i am hoping for a vinyl repress!
Thomas_Bangalter

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 Thomas_Bangalter

February 20, 2016
referencing Alive 1997, LP, Album, V2952, 724381113912

Well, I don't know if you are aware of this, and at this point in time you probably don't care about this and you're like "why is this guy replying to this old comment" but there was a repress. A large one :)
zyrcontwizer

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 zyrcontwizer

December 6, 2014
referencing Alive 1997, LP, Album, V2952, 724381113912
look at amazon,it'll be repressed near christmas either in a boxed set including alive 2007 or as a standalone vinyl press,same for alive 2007 (on the box set you get the encores)
jiggawhat

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 as reviewed by jiggawhat

January 27, 2012
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Alive 1997, CD, Album, Mixed, CDV2952, 724381113929, 7243 8111392 9

I echo the thoughts of the previous reviewer. This isn't really mainstream house, it's heavily remixed, heavily manipulated, and at times its just raw beats and basslines. A very underground sound to the CD overall. There are releases like this one that get too experimental, too self-absorbed, too obnoxious and cheeky, and when that happens, it turns into utter crap. But Daft Punk manage to control themselves, they do not go overboard with the complexity, and they keep a good amount of melody in there.

Moreover, 45 minutes is the ideal length for a CD such as this one. Any shorter, and its not really a complete mix, and any longer, and it will probably become an annoying headache - I don't necessarily mean that in a bad way, but that's just the nature of the type of music being spun - it's on the harder side of house music. I'd say this is worth 5 stars because of the technical prowess that went into mixing this.
alyxx

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 alyxx

April 8, 2011
referencing Alive 1997, CD, Album, Mixed, CDV2952, 724381113929, 7243 8111392 9
Alive 1997 has the distinct pleasure of being from a fairly mainstream group but having an almost bootleg-like underground sound to it.
alexisthemanandrocks

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 alexisthemanandrocks

March 30, 2011
referencing Alive 1997, CD, Album, Mixed, CDV2952, 724381113929, 7243 8111392 9
There Is A Sample at Part 3 (Rollin N Scratchin part) of the song , it sampled : Never Seen Before (Acapella) by EPMD
Jayfive

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 as reviewed by Jayfive

October 18, 2004
edited over 14 years ago
referencing Alive 1997, CD, Album, Mixed, CDV2952, 724381113929, 7243 8111392 9
I was there! The Que Club, Birmingham 1997. A converted church with 2000 capacity in the main room with stained glass windows at the back and enourmous organ pipes behind the stage. You think the roar that goes up when the main riff of 'Da Funk' kicks off is good on CD then you should been a few rows from the front. This CD was released because Daft Punk themselves reckon it was there favourite ever performance, not that youd know though, they didnt so much as look up from their keyboards allnight.
I also remember the cover version of 'French Kiss' by Lil Louis and having huge projections of all the people mentioned in 'Teachers'.
And this might be wishful thinking, but I *think* I can hear myself of the record. Listen at about 2min 43sec just before the kick of 'Da Funk' starts up, you can hear someone shout something.
Funky_Dung

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 as reviewed by Funky_Dung

March 2, 2004
referencing Alive 1997, CD, Album, Mixed, CDV2952, 724381113929, 7243 8111392 9

I saw Daft Punk play live in 1997 and it changed my life. I know that's a corny thing to say, but it's true - up until then I thought that dance/electronic music was a basic, formulaic, repetitive load of boom-tish crap that anyone could put together 'by numbers'. But hearing what Daft Punk did to their stuff live completely blew me away. It was like having my brains picked out and put in a blender - all screaming acid noise, thumping techno, chopped-up disco melodies, warped samples, and only the occasional bit of French-style house. Beats would drop in odd places, basslines would creep up into the mix without you even noticing, tracks would disintegrate just as you figured they were getting going, and sounds would reappear 10 minutes after you thought the track had finished.

This live CD captures the balls-out, stomping, twisted madness of Daft Punk live, but it's such a tragic shame that it's only 45 minutes of the set. When it fades out in the middle of 'Alive' it makes me just want to cry. I pray that they play live again sometime in the future and pump out incredible stuff like this, and don't change their live show into a disco-house club set.
interestinkinky

Daft Punk - Alive 1997 as reviewed by interestinkinky

November 5, 2001
edited over 17 years ago
referencing Alive 1997, LP, Album, V2952, 724381113912

this recording is a fucking pleasure! real daftcore sound after that coke-driven happyhouse excursion. seems like an excuse for discovery... wish i was there.