Meowstro

Nujabes - Modal Soul as reviewed by Meowstro

November 29, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Entire friend groups and relationships I once had from my twilight days of high school but are no more are stored in this album and listening to it allows me to revisit them as if in a cemetery. RIP Nujabes.
walsh2.matt

Nujabes - Modal Soul walsh2.matt

November 14, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004
My side C&D arrived scratched from Turntablelab. Hoping for a refund or replacement. Anyone else have this problem?
levitz

Nujabes - Modal Soul levitz

September 11, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004
This is such a great pressing! Literally the cleanest and quietest record I own. The packaging itself is worth the $50+ price tag. I absolutely love this album. Nujabes was such a talented producer and I only wish he were here to see just how much his music affected people from all walks of life.
N.a.t.u.r.e

Nujabes - Modal Soul N.a.t.u.r.e

August 13, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004
Stand out track by far = Pase Rock 'The Sign'. Echoes of Gil Scott Heron 'The Revolution Will Not Be Televised'.
onairwithjr

Nujabes - Modal Soul as reviewed by onairwithjr

August 8, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Fantastic pressing. High quality with no skips, clicks, or pops.

Worth it for the price shipped to Canada. Seriously, buy this.
Within_Your_Reach

Nujabes - Modal Soul as reviewed by Within_Your_Reach

June 12, 2020
edited 6 months ago
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Beautiful record with great presentation. As usual with japanese pressings the quality is top notch here, with no pops, ticks, or surface noise whatsoever. The music sounds great, and very lively on my Technics turntable and Nagaoka cartridge setup. Just drop the tonearm and let the music take you in.

I'm not sure what the fuss about the artwork is about, but it looks fine to me. It looks just like the original, just scaled for the LP release.

Overall this was very worth it at $35. I'd jump on this if you can. I can't wait for when Spiritual State gets a vinyl release. Hopefully for the 10th anniversary next year 2021.
leonthepro

Nujabes - Modal Soul leonthepro

July 21, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Within_Your_Reach
Oh I'm sorry, did my review of the album not match yours? That must be pretty tough.

I mean, when its fine with CD cover scans, up scaled to LP size, you know the standards must be low.
Within_Your_Reach

Nujabes - Modal Soul Within_Your_Reach

July 21, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Oh I'm sorry, did my review of the album not match yours? That must be pretty tough.
leonthepro

Nujabes - Modal Soul leonthepro

July 21, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Within_Your_Reach
Beautiful record with great presentation. As usual with japanese pressings the quality is top notch here, with no pops, ticks, or surface noise whatsoever. The music sounds great, and very lively on my Technics turntable and Nagaoka cartridge setup. Just drop the tonearm and let the music take you in.I'm not sure what the fuss about the artwork is about, but it looks fine to me. It looks just like the original, just scaled for the LP release.Overall this was very worth it at $35. I'd jump on this if you can. I can't wait for when Spiritual State gets a vinyl release. Hopefully for the 10th anniversary next year 2021.

Smh.
ZzzirK

Nujabes - Modal Soul ZzzirK

May 24, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Dreaming away again to this masterpiece. So much emotions come and go listening to the various tracks, the album title truly applies.

Dōmo arigatōgozaimashita Hydeout. ♥

I hope you continue to honour the work of Seba Jun with more vinyl releases in the years to come.
Do not be deterred from people complaining about quality/cover etc, we all know you do a top-notch job!
wakai

Nujabes - Modal Soul as reviewed by wakai

May 14, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

I'm so glad this finally came out on vinyl. It's one of my favourite records of all time, beautiful piece of music. Could listen to Luv (sic.) Pt. 3 all day long. Sound is absolutely fine, not sure what some of the complaints are about, no issues for me at all. It's a very nice gatefold too - slightly disappointed with the lack of paper inner sleeve, but I can easily change that myself. Grab it while you can!
leonthepro

Nujabes - Modal Soul leonthepro

September 21, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

werk91
I understand if people are not a fan of the pocket style Japanese poly inners... but if you actually care about your records you will never keep them in paper inner sleeves either.The solution is poly lined inner paper sleeves, cheap and easier to use than the pocket style ones... with the added benefit of they won't wreck your records with multiple scuffs, surface scratches or charge them with nasty static electricity =]

Agreed, I prefer plastic lined paper over MFSL type sleeves too, they are too flimsy.
werk91

Nujabes - Modal Soul werk91

September 21, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

I understand if people are not a fan of the pocket style Japanese poly inners... but if you actually care about your records you will never keep them in paper inner sleeves either.
The solution is poly lined inner paper sleeves, cheap and easier to use than the pocket style ones... with the added benefit of they won't wreck your records with multiple scuffs, surface scratches or charge them with nasty static electricity =]
leonthepro

Nujabes - Modal Soul leonthepro

May 27, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

wakai
leonthepro wakai Yes, I'm not a fan of the sleeves they used for this record and much prefer the classic paper ones. Once you remove the records, they do not fit back in properly. Let me just tell you that pure paper isnt very good for your records. Yet, 99% of manufactured records come in paper sleeves? I never had any problems with it myself, I clean them regularly though.

And 99% of records have scratches. Not just because of paper sleeves but partly. Its simple physics, the friction between the materials causes damage.
wakai

Nujabes - Modal Soul wakai

May 27, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

leonthepro
wakai Yes, I'm not a fan of the sleeves they used for this record and much prefer the classic paper ones. Once you remove the records, they do not fit back in properly. Let me just tell you that pure paper isnt very good for your records.
Yet, 99% of manufactured records come in paper sleeves? I never had any problems with it myself, I clean them regularly though.
leonthepro

Nujabes - Modal Soul leonthepro

May 26, 2020
edited 4 months ago
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

wakai
Yes, I'm not a fan of the sleeves they used for this record and much prefer the classic paper ones. Once you remove the records, they do not fit back in properly.

Let me just tell you that pure paper isnt the best for your records.
wakai

Nujabes - Modal Soul wakai

May 26, 2020
edited 6 months ago
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

Yes, I'm not a fan of the sleeves they used for this record and much prefer the classic paper ones. Once you remove the records, they do not fit back in properly.
leonthepro

Nujabes - Modal Soul leonthepro

May 15, 2020
referencing Modal Soul, 2xLP, Album, RE, HOLP-004

wakai
I'm so glad this finally came out on vinyl. It's one of my favourite records of all time, beautiful piece of music. Could listen to Luv (sic.) Pt. 3 all day long. Sound is absolutely fine, not sure what some of the complaints are about, no issues for me at all. It's a very nice gatefold too - slightly disappointed with the lack of paper inner sleeve, but I can easily change that myself. Grab it while you can!

Youre disappointed the inner wasnt pure paper?