amoeba26000

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig amoeba26000

July 7, 2019
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055
If you hold up the record to the light, it should turn light translucent brown.
hatfulofelt

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig hatfulofelt

December 30, 2018
referencing Flip Your Wig, CD, Album, RE, SST-CD-055, SST CD 055
The text on my CD seems a darker blue, but perhaps it's just the photo.
Archer_of_Loaf

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig as reviewed by Archer_of_Loaf

January 14, 2018
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055
Purchased my copy only a year or so ago, at a shop in Toronto, Canada. I thought it might be a European pressing because it had an Italian Artists’ publishing rights society hologram sticker on the shrink wrap. Has anyone come across this? No Italian text anywhere on sleeve, everything else has the hallmarks of the standard US release. Everyone should own this album by the way, it’s my gateway album to recommend to the uninitiated.
centipedefarmer

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig centipedefarmer

May 30, 2017
referencing Flip Your Wig, Cass, Album, SSTC 055
Of my two copies, one has a white shell and the other a clear one. Don't know if they should be different versions. I can find no other apparent characteristics in which they differ.
Skateboarding

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig Skateboarding

February 26, 2018
referencing Flip Your Wig, Cass, Album, SSTC 055
I have the white one that says "CrO2" I don't know if that's what the clear one says though.
solarbloom

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig solarbloom

November 23, 2012
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055
yeah, plaidzebra, it's the only record I can think of that I have to turn the treble way down lower than the bass on the marantz 1060 :) Takes "brightness" to a whole new meaning....
superyob

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig superyob

February 24, 2012
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055
I have a CD version with the red/pink CD, the SST logo and info at the bottom left of the rear cover BUT the barcode bottom RIGHT of the rear cover. Barcode 0 18861-0055-2 2
plaidzebra

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig as reviewed by plaidzebra

June 17, 2011
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055

In my mind, this is the quintessential Hüsker Dü album. The production is finally freed from the oppressively shit sound of Spot, and the songs have a depth and luster that is missing from earlier recordings. "The Baby Song" still irritates the shit out of me after 25+ years, but let it be said that the band had a sense of humor. The album is otherwise packed with maximum impact songs that meld their hardcore beginnings with a sixties aesthetic and an irrepressible melodicism. Highly recommended, if you can believe me. I've heard it said that the sound is lo-fi, but my vinyl copy, while heavy on the treble, sounds clear and rages like a motherfucker.
GoodTunes

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig GoodTunes

December 11, 2018
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055
plaidzebra
In my mind, this is the quintessential Hüsker Dü album. The production is finally freed from the oppressively shit sound of Spot, and the songs have a depth and luster that is missing from earlier recordings. "The Baby Song" still irritates the shit out of me after 25+ years, but let it be said that the band had a sense of humor. The album is otherwise packed with maximum impact songs that meld their hardcore beginnings with a sixties aesthetic and an irrepressible melodicism. Highly recommended, if you can believe me. I've heard it said that the sound is lo-fi, but my vinyl copy, while heavy on the treble, sounds clear and rages like a motherfucker.


I love every single thing about this review. Cheers!
simonr69

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig simonr69

October 24, 2018
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055
The first pressing I have is fabulous. It's obviously way too trebly with terrible production - those drums and vocals !. But it's musical history. Although they'd already signed to Warner's they agreed to let SST release one more album for Greg Ginn...which Spot had to "produce" of course...It's a production/financial/business disaster of course....but there's musical greatness here. Hello Pixies. Hello Kurt.
jon.torrez.3

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig jon.torrez.3

March 25, 2017
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, SST 055
Excellent and humorous review. A lot of the post New Day Husker material suffers from an absurd amount of treble, at least from what I've noticed. At least the sound is clear! Cheers!
fatcap

Hüsker Dü - Flip Your Wig fatcap

September 23, 2020
referencing Flip Your Wig, LP, Album, RE, SST 055
1990 repress the original pressings from US were all queix vinyl