entity279

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis entity279

October 2, 2020
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gat, 8122796557

heard the digital version for a few of the songs and got all hyped.
This sounds much more flat & boring by comparison. Avoid this, IMO. Otherwise it is very clean and silent. I guess originals is the way to go here?
ricardpascal74

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis ricardpascal74

July 18, 2020
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gat, 8122796557
Je viens de l'acheter en Fnac, le pressage est bon sur le mien, pas de soucis majeur. Attention, la poussière reste peu visible sur le jaune, et cela peu nuire à la lecture, pas des craquements. Le pressage de 1970, ne doit pas être au dessus, mais, cependant une petite remastérisation serait sympathique, afin de gagner en profondeur et en chaleur, mais techniquement ce LP de Curtis est musicalement très bon et innovant, à noté que le tirage est limité à 1000 EX.
dj_hipz

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis dj_hipz

September 15, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gat, 8122796557
so how is this pressing, i'm not after a yellow record i just want a good sounding reissue
biohazard13x

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis biohazard13x

September 28, 2020
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gat, 8122796557
Well I believe that the album sounds better on Youtube than on this pressing ... The brass instruments sound completely flat and the high frequencies are shrieking and too bright.
mickeybass

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis mickeybass

April 30, 2020
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gat, 8122796557
Does it have a tip on thick cardboard sleeve or just a modern cheapo one? thanks!
wmarden

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis wmarden

March 9, 2020
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gat, 8122796557

I think it's a great pressing! It was a lot better than I thought it was gonna be...
ValentinChb

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis as reviewed by ValentinChb

September 10, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, Gat, CRS 8005, CRS-8005
Really bad pressing. All the "sh", high-mids, from Curtis's voice and from the cymbals are incredibly agressive. It really disturbs the listening. Is it only on my copy ?
Mr_B

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis Mr_B

May 19, 2020
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, Gat, CRS 8005, CRS-8005
Might have just got a bad pressing. I was worried when I saw that this was manufactured by Rhino Records. I purchased the reissue they put out of Trout Mask Replica and my copy sounds terrible; tons of sibilance, distortion and surface noise. However, my copy of Curtis sounds great. So, kind of luck of the draw. Maybe those bad copies were pressed towards the end of a stamper's lifecycle.
Mike.hoare

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis Mike.hoare

July 7, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557

An OK pressing, but could do with more "life". 5 stars for the music
jon.torrez.3

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis jon.torrez.3

September 11, 2020
edited about 1 month ago
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557

Haven't heard an original but I'm sure you're not wrong. I do like that the disc is flat and the pressing is (for the most part) surface noise free. The master is a little tame and safe, but this is not bad at all for a reissue. You won't feel burned with this one.
akosmvp

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis akosmvp

September 13, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557
Completely agree. This vinyl is the reason because of which I don't fall anymore for these represses of classics like this one here.
KDSutherland

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis KDSutherland

July 3, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Gat, YS-2445-DA
Whomever recently bought this pressing with the OBI, could you take a picture of it and add it to this listing? TIA
Vulcatron

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis Vulcatron

February 27, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557
I agree with preszende. I don't understand why so many "new" records have this much sibilance. Definitely returning this one; what's the point of keeping it if it sounds better (and doesn't hiss at me!) on YouTube?
jon.torrez.3

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis jon.torrez.3

September 11, 2020
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557

I'll agree with moveceo. It's maddening but par for the course when listening to music on vinyl. I have records that others complain about that sound great on my setup and then of course the opposite is true for other releases. Try to find a stylus that tracks really well. Ortofon usually doesn't disappoint.
movceo

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis movceo

July 13, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557
A lot of sibilance issues are stylus related. The recording itself is very sibilant and some styluses may reproduce it with some distortion. I didn't have any such issues with my copy of this.
pp_

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis as reviewed by pp_

January 25, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, Red, CRS 8005, CRS-8005
One of those bad quality Rhino/Scorpio reissues. Bad pressing and awful mastering, Record is cut way too and there's ridiculous amount of sibilance, distortion and surface noise. Avoid!
movceo

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis movceo

October 11, 2018
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557
I'm surprised to see some negative reviews for this version. It actually sounds much better than the other reissue that's on the market (the Scorpio one from the US). That pressing sounds very distorted and sibilant; this one sounds very clean and lively. Unless you're willing to pay $100+ for a minty original, this reissue should do just fine.
prezende

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis as reviewed by prezende

October 26, 2017
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557
Didn't like this version. It's too high. The horns have no bright.
RobbeV

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis RobbeV

November 7, 2017
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, 180, 8122796557

It sounds a bit flat indeed. I am also disappointed.
Reptillian

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis Reptillian

August 22, 2016
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, Gat, CRS 8005
Mine also has red sticker - front right side"" " (don't worry) if there's Hell below - we're all gonna go"
jrsmusic

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis as reviewed by jrsmusic

May 13, 2016
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, Gat, CRS 8005, CRS-8005
Purchased the gatefold version RE of this Lp. Sounds absolutely stunning.Bright vocals and strings/brass, great bass. I use Rp3, Marantz and KEF.
jeromy

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis jeromy

August 3, 2019
referencing Curtis, LP, Album, RE, Gat, CRS 8005, CRS-8005
Are you sure you are talking about the Scorpio version?