warm_slime71

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo warm_slime71

March 8, 2021
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, OLE-938-1
Some copies of this pressing sold from Insound (R.I.P) carried a signed poster.
chrstrkr

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo chrstrkr

May 23, 2020
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1
My version is identical to this except in the Matrix/Runout on both sides: (stamped) 111299E/1A (etched) BB40619-01 A1 HL.
B3 is listed as Peeping Tomboy on both the cover and the label. B6 is not listed at all on either the cover or the label.
movceo

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo movceo

March 11, 2021
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1
Sounds like a repress done by GZ Media based on plates from the original Optimal Media (EU) pressing. You should add it to the database.
Bilby.925

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo Bilby.925

September 10, 2020
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1
I have the same... I wonder if the listing was a mistake?
expo200

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo expo200

June 3, 2017
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, OLE-938-1
I've owned both the US and the U.K. versions (B&W cover).
The U.S. version had very poor SQ, IMHO.
Sold that, and picked up the U.K., which is much better...

cpion

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo cpion

December 18, 2016
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, CD, Album, OLE-938-2

In my opinion does the cd sound much better than the vinyl. More dynamics, more lively, more lows and highs. The vinyl sounds bland.
TheWineGuy

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo TheWineGuy

February 8, 2019
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, CD, Album, OLE-938-2
I've heard nothing but poor reviews for the Vinyl and I am avoiding it grabbing the CD instead.
sharenge

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo sharenge

November 11, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1
I just picked up a copy of the other pressing (black and white cover) and that pressing seems to be completely fine, in case anyone was wondering
jarsu

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo jarsu

July 21, 2014
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, OLE-938-1

This: Matador ‎– OLE-938-1 has a press problems .. also with the colored cover - there is a slight background noise on these.. I have 2 different pressing of this.. also record store (in UK) confirmed the problem and gave discount
streetmouse

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo streetmouse

May 19, 2014
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, CD, Album, OLE-938-2

Have you ever found yourself talking right out loud with yourself? Well, Kirt Vile, one of the founding members of War On Drugs, seems to walk around the house deeply immersed in a lonesome running dialog with himself ... one filled with engaging unfocused melancholia. And while you or I may laugh when we catch ourselves being so open, Kirt slips on his shades and turns his conversations into songs, songs delivered in a stumbling lo-fi manner, songs that are solidly built, yet feel like you’re hearing them from a guy standing in the corner of the train station with a mini-amp, guitar case opened to catch passer’s by quarters. And if you’re not in too much of a hurry, you might just find yourself drawn ever deeper into his listless mumbled lyrical wisdom as his songs work their way into you very being, relentlessly engulfing you ... like an empty house filled with dusty furniture, broken mirrors, and vanishing memories. Kirt rides with an uneasy justification, singing songs that are filled with an endearing presence, yet hang in the air like he’s unsure of every word he speaks.

Smoke Ring For My Halo has no climax, it just hypnotically moves on and on, giving voice to all you ever thought or wished to say, yet finding yourself unable to get the vision, tempo, or tenor correct.

Review by Jenell Kesler
tsyeatts

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo tsyeatts

February 2, 2014
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1
It should be noted that this version does not list Peeping Tomboy as B3, but instead lists On Tour a second time. This may or may not increase the value of the album itself, as this is clearly a misprint.
tomauto

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo tomauto

October 21, 2018
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1
I agree
This should be labeled as a misprint I think.
jarsu

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo jarsu

September 19, 2013
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1

Colored cover - version has a press failure.. noise can be heard. Confirmed by normanrecords
lirkan

Kurt Vile - Smoke Ring For My Halo lirkan

December 28, 2012
referencing Smoke Ring For My Halo, LP, Album, M/Print, RP, OLE-938-1
is this the deluxe edition? if not: does anyone who know where i can get it?
thanks