Charlie.White

LTJ Bukem - Earth Volume Two Charlie.White

February 14, 2020
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Earth Volume Two, 5x12" + Box, Comp, Ltd, Num, EARTHLP002
Sounds to me like 'Intense - Flashback' samples the bassline from 'Deep Cover- Dr. Dre Snoop Doggy Dogg' off the Deep Cover soundtrack.
TackyMan

LTJ Bukem - Earth Volume Two as reviewed by TackyMan

April 15, 2017
referencing Earth Volume Two, CD, Comp, M/Print, EARTHCD002, EARTHCD001

Probably the best or at least my favorite in the Earth series.
Deploy

LTJ Bukem - Earth Volume Two as reviewed by Deploy

May 23, 2008
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Earth Volume Two, CD, Comp, M/Print, EARTHCD002, EARTHCD001
The second installation of Earth series borrows more downtempo themes from its predecessor while deviating further from the drum and bass narrative. The openers in "Fictions" and "Cosmic Interlude" set the tone with a myriad of deep bass, structured synth layers and arrangement that provide a fresh take on the series.

However, there are 3 traditional drum and bass tracks: Odyssey's "Artificial Life" representing the formula for the emerging 720 (at the time), to DJ Crystl's inspirational outing in "being capable of anything" as well as new comer in DJ Addiction's "Senses" breakbeat slab.

The middle section of the Earth 2 is where I feel the compilation takes off. To this date, Blame's "J-Walkin" is his magnum opus in my personal opinion. If future jazz was ever a concept, then I think we heard it in 1997. A 6/4 track smothered with an elegant flute, rhodes and bassline. Let's not forget Artemis and Intense on their first appearance to the series bringing some well-infused downtempo vibes, as well as Blu Mar Ten's infectious snare march towards the deep blue, including sonar radar sounds, whistles, and Miles Davis samples. Yes, it actually works out. :)

I feel Earth 2 really cemented where the series was going, and the production level is quite evolved: sounding crisp, tight, and carefully leveled. At the time, no other major DnB label were branching off like this to expose their artists and showcase their talent. From here on out, the Earth series didn't need to walk on egg shells to cater to the known core base. A risk worth the temptation.
Deploy

LTJ Bukem - Earth Volume Two Deploy

March 22, 2015
referencing Earth Volume Two, CD, Comp, M/Print, EARTHCD002, EARTHCD001
Sorry for not replying sooner. The samples are in BMT's track. I don't know if BMT sampled directly from the source, but it clearly appears to come from MIles Davis "Sanctuary" off the Bitches Brew album.
LIFELINE

LTJ Bukem - Earth Volume Two as reviewed by LIFELINE

December 27, 2005
edited over 15 years ago
referencing Earth Volume Two, 5x12" + Box, Comp, Ltd, Num, EARTHLP002

This compilation is so staggeringly beautiful; every track is utterly breathtaking. Released in the midst of the dark ‘No U-Turn’ dominated winter of ’97, it really cut against the grain. The majority of tracks are down tempo and coupled with the fact that this LP was released to a drum and bass audience who, particularly at the time, were extremely wary of the perceived watering down of their sound, was a bold move on the part of Good Looking Records. The compilation, albeit not in the same malevolent vein as much of the music at the time, was no less experimental or indeed diluted. Feel the sense of foreboding on Intense’s ‘Flashback’ or the serene solitude in the forlorn ‘Adrift on Deep Water’ by Blu Mar Ten. Hear the drop-out midway on Bukem’s ‘Cosmic Interlude’ for a taste of sheer tranquillity; whilst the sublime ‘J-Walkin’ by Blame makes for a lesson in pure exploration of the drum & bass / breakbeat sound. So far for me, Volume 2 is by far and away the cream of the Earth series.
dannotunes

LTJ Bukem - Earth Volume Two dannotunes

January 24, 2019
referencing Earth Volume Two, 5x12" + Box, Comp, Ltd, Num, EARTHLP002
There are down tempo releases by lots of artists on Good Looking records, Looking Good Records, Cookin' Records, the Logical Progression series of compilations, Blames 720 degree label & Ascendant Grooves, also the other box sets in the Earth series. Artist such as MC Conrad, Big Bud, Odyssey, Intense, PHD, Alaska, Invisible Man, Seba, Future Engineers and thats just off the top of my head. Calibre also has released lots of smooth liquid vibes on his Signature Record label.... Hope this helps x
poeperdjelieben

LTJ Bukem - Earth Volume Two poeperdjelieben

November 2, 2018
referencing Earth Volume Two, 5x12" + Box, Comp, Ltd, Num, EARTHLP002
This is a long shot because you posted this 12 years ago but do you know more labels,artists,albums in this particular genre? I am listening this album from when I was 8yrs old. This shit never gets old! I mean, this mean, old school vibe is So hard to come across these days. Shit is timeless! Buying this right now!😁