keefy6

John Coltrane - Giant Steps keefy6

May 15, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, Gre, 1311, SD-1311, SD 1311
I dont own many represses - in my experience they are underwhelming.

This sounds absolutely incredible - bought overseas almost a decade ago and shelved, came back to it. Would be interested in other impressions.
Joekr

John Coltrane - Giant Steps as reviewed by Joekr

April 28, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, SACD, Album, Mono, Ltd, RE, RM, SHM, WPGR-10006

Truly stunning, amazing dynamic quality... surpassed only (and just barely) by John Coltrane - Giant Steps. What a shame it was so limited/rare/pricey... should be more widely available for the sake of humanity :-)
Joekr

John Coltrane - Giant Steps as reviewed by Joekr

April 28, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, Mono, Ltd, RE, WPJR-10029

OK, yes I realize that there are over 100 iterations of this "Hall of Fame" album... but this one is truly special. I also have the Japanese SHM SACD (John Coltrane - Giant Steps), and hitherto that was far & away my reference copy... and now there is a new King. If you love this legendary landmark record as much as I do, then please do the needful & seek this puppy out.
GalaxyExplorer

John Coltrane - Giant Steps as reviewed by GalaxyExplorer

April 27, 2019
edited 29 days ago
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 1311, SD-1311, SD 1311, 8122787061

I gave my copy two rounds in the Spin Clean, and it's nearly perfect. Good pressing, great bargain.

Get this one, not 081227520311.
hammershaug

John Coltrane - Giant Steps as reviewed by hammershaug

April 27, 2019
edited 29 days ago
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 180, 75203, R1 75203
I guess there must be a later batch from Rainbo with serious defects. SQ is top notch! Pressing is pretty flat and centered. Vinyl is glossy without residue. Side 1 sounds really good. A few pops, that’s all. Problems starts at the end of B1. B2 (Naima) is so distorted it’s painful to listen to.

It’s a shame that Rainbo f*cked up this great Kevin Gray mastered milestone.
hammershaug

John Coltrane - Giant Steps hammershaug

April 27, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 180, 75203, R1 75203
That number leads to two different releases, but none of these is mastered by Kevin Gray...?

1) European 2014 cut by Jörg Peters and pressed at Optimal. Optimal is reliable.
2) UK 2005 mastered by Doug Shearer at The Town House.

Which one?
GalaxyExplorer

John Coltrane - Giant Steps GalaxyExplorer

April 27, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 180, 75203, R1 75203
Get the item with UPC 081227870614 for a much better pressing.
krasdale

John Coltrane - Giant Steps as reviewed by krasdale

April 25, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, MO, 1311, SD 1311
The horns on my copy sound ok, but the piano and cymbals sound threadbare and brittle. I'll be on the look out for a better pressing.
cboetticher

John Coltrane - Giant Steps cboetticher

March 13, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 180, 75203, R1 75203
Something happened to this at some point. My copy isn't warped or off-center, but side 2 is so distorted as to be unlistenable.
GalaxyExplorer

John Coltrane - Giant Steps as reviewed by GalaxyExplorer

February 2, 2019
edited 29 days ago
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, Mono, RE, 180, 1311, 081227945251, SD 1311, RR1 555371
The text on the rear of the sleeve is definitely NOT crisp. In fact it's quite blurry.

Not sure why something like that is hard to get right.
JustTony64

John Coltrane - Giant Steps JustTony64

January 21, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 1311, SD-1311, SD 1311, 8122787061

Picked this up off Amazon, it dropped to $10.00. Can confirm the pressing sounds fantastic.
GalaxyExplorer

John Coltrane - Giant Steps as reviewed by GalaxyExplorer

January 19, 2019
edited 29 days ago
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 180, 75203, R1 75203
Bad pressing. I've had two (update: FOUR) copies; both had scratches. The second one (the copy I kept) is slightly warped. Side 2 is slightly off-center. I can deal with that, but worst of all, the sacred ballad "Namia" is distorted beyond belief. I tried it on two different turntables, two cartridges, two amps. The sax, piano, and bass are just overdriven and distorted. This distortion is present, though slightly less, on tracks 1 and 3.

edit: Local record shop opened a third copy and all three had severe distortion on side 2. Shop clerk and I both listened. There must be a bad batch. I returned all my copies.

edit 2: for grins I tried a copy from Barnes & Noble. Same distortion issue on side 2, and weird scratches on side 1. Going back for a refund.

I cannot recommend this pressing at this time.
Bassman69

John Coltrane - Giant Steps Bassman69

January 5, 2019
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, Mono, SD 1311
I am really interested in having a copy of this album, if anyone is willing to sell one, notify me please.
Anthropod

John Coltrane - Giant Steps Anthropod

December 31, 2018
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 1311, SD-1311, SD 1311, 8122787061
I agree, this is a top quality pressing, and I bought it brand new for £7.99 from HMV, so proper pleased.
Plattenkreisel

John Coltrane - Giant Steps Plattenkreisel

November 3, 2018
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, Pre, SD 1311

my Presswell 1972 copy looks exactly the same but the "STEREO" on the cover is violet-blue and different matrix
Doctor_of_Jazz

John Coltrane - Giant Steps Doctor_of_Jazz

September 18, 2018
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, Mono, RP, Lam, 1311
Mine looks exactly like this pressing. Same labels, same matrix numbers, back cover is identical. The only difference is the cover. It has no black fan in the circle, and does not state "full dynamics frequency....", although that is stated on the label. I saw no covers that had a white circle on the cover without a fan. Any one else have one like this?
Okkam-Music

John Coltrane - Le Géant Du Ténor Okkam-Music

July 23, 2018
referencing Le Géant Du Ténor, LP, Album, Mono, 332017
This is clearly the first French pressing and most probably also from 1960, though 1961 is also still possible.
OldRusty

John Coltrane - Giant Steps OldRusty

June 28, 2018
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, RE, 1311, SD-1311, SD 1311, 8122787061

Dynamite mastering & pressing on this LP, with dead-silent vinyl.
nomasfe10

John Coltrane - Giant Steps nomasfe10

November 20, 2017
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, Mono, RE, 180, 1311, 081227945251, SD 1311, RR1 555371
Hi, I received this vinyl from amazon and doesn´t bring the Rhino sticker but comparing with the images they´re all the same except for that sticker. The sticker is the only thing that indicates that it´s a Rhino version?
AbstractWax

John Coltrane - Giant Steps AbstractWax

May 15, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Giant Steps, LP, Album, Mono, RE, 180, 1311, 081227945251, SD 1311, RR1 555371

nomasfe10
Hi, I received this vinyl from amazon and doesn´t bring the Rhino sticker but comparing with the images they´re all the same except for that sticker. The sticker is the only thing that indicates that it´s a Rhino version?


On the rear top right corner of the sleeve you should see a number. This is the UPC used for the Rhino version. If those numbers are 081227945251, your copy is indeed a Rhino one. That is the only indicator besides the sticker. Hope this helps :)