jtrezzo

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) jtrezzo

May 1, 2021
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), 2xLP, Album, BFLLP 24

It's the Sgt. Pepper's of goa trance. What else can be said? If you don't see the greatness of this album then you don't like music.
briandavison

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) as reviewed by briandavison

August 15, 2020
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24
A trip out in a flying saucer! Goa and psy definitely was at its best between 1995 and 1999
doctorg

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] doctorg

December 12, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], 4xLP, Album, RE, RM, Gal, DATLP007

This is of course a classic album, so it might help others to know what a user with a perfect condition original Dragonfly lp thinks of this reissue/remaster.

Firstly, the "galaxy" blue vinyl with red/purple swirl and silver dust looks great. You can't see the sliver glitter in normal room light, but the sun or artificial light brings it to life, and it does indeed resemble a galaxy. A thoughtful touch that adds to the overall gestalt. I also appreciated the liner notes, photographs of Pleiadians live and the great image from the unobtanium "Alcyone" 12" promo. On the debit side, fitting four lps into a double gatefold is a squeeze. Maybe this should have been a box set? Also, it must be said that whilst the dubious clarity of the name and title on the original vinyl cover has been nicely cleaned up, the cover art loses a substantial amount of the vibrancy, texture and detail of the original cover.

On to the music. The live mix of the album, which occupies the first 2 vinyls, is very nice to have. The tracks are all subtly different from those on the studio album, and that in itself is a valuable historical document. The sound is rather low in volume, but with decent clarity and detail. I think that this is a worthwhile improvement on the "Live in Athens" set which is mastered at too high a level and was not a great vinyl pressing. The more I listen to this the more I like it. I actually prefer some of these live tracks to their studio equivalents.

The remastering of the studio album is also good, though it cannot be said to improve on the original. Playing them back to back, I notice that the remaster does seem to bring out a bit more detail in the bass and treble, but it is at the cost of midrange presence and dynamics and the very nice black background of the original. In all, the sound is quite a bit brighter on this reissue than the original. This is typical of most reissues and remasters which seldom have the body or presence of the original pressing; with analogue tape this is perfectly understandable as the magnetic flux density of the tape ages, not to mention the often dubious electronics involved, but with a digital source it doesn't make quite as much sense. Did Sony/Philips lie to us when they billed digital as "perfect sound forever"? Excuse the tangent - this is a decent remastering, though I prefer the original, and the pressing is good with hardly any surface noise or other anomalies. No tracking issues.

Overall then this is a very nice piece of work by Draeke of Dat Records, showing an impressive degree of loving attention to detail. If you don't have an original Dragonfly vinyl then I can heartily recommend this one, and I have no doubt it sounds just as good on black or black/red swirl vinyl.

By the way, my theory about why this album is so good and so highly regarded is that it is the closest that Goa trance got, so far, to epic, psychedelic prog rock. It, of course, also stretches far beyond prog rock. ~*~

Dark1PDX

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] Dark1PDX

January 31, 2021
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], 4xLP, Album, RE, RM, Gal, DATLP007

I also have the galaxy colorway, and although not super quiet, I would not consider them noisy. The volume is a bit low though, so it will have a higher noise floor when turning up the volume.
Baldoak

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] Baldoak

August 19, 2020
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], 4xLP, Album, RE, RM, Gal, DATLP007
I recently obtained a copy of the galaxy colorway release in mint condition. It is really quite lovely - there is an opalescent sheen in some areas of the records, and it really gives them a phantasmal and striking appearance unlike any record I've seen before.

I do note though, that these records are quite noisy. I suspect this is due to the inclusion of glitter. I wonder if Draeke can comment on wether or not the glitter is actually present in the grooves of the records? It's not a big deal to me, but I also didn't expect this before purchasing. I'm considering picking up another copy in black for listening.

Does your copy in the galaxy colorway sound pretty noisy?
dr_stas303

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) dr_stas303

July 11, 2016
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24
It`s the best of the best album ever! It`s all about music! Big Thanks, Pleadians!
_2trancentral_

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] _2trancentral_

March 29, 2016
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], CD, Album, P/Mixed + CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, DATCD007

CD trays had to be transparent, with some art behind of course, you can't put black trays on a triple digipak release like this, unless you seriously lack style and class.
thanosp81

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] thanosp81

May 2, 2020
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], CD, Album, P/Mixed + CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, DATCD007

Ehhm, they are transparent.
At least 10 words must be entered. Please enter at least 6 more.
SShamanixx

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) as reviewed by SShamanixx

March 27, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24

Well this is one of those albums, at least for some it takes multi plays to get it completely. One might ponder on... what are all these high praises and reviews about, until the discovery is made. A creation many people just stopped shot of rating as the greatest ever, at that time (1997) as Master pieces were raining down during the golden age of Goa. Now it has not only stood the test of time but strengthened itself and highlights the standards kept during the golden age of Goa.
You may hear many things, some very positive / great and some not very positive, about this album. That's because the album is so complex, vivid and intelligent yet so highly mature that, grasping it completely is a kind of a discovery. In case you don't "get it" right away, Never Mind just hold on, you will be grateful you put in the effort if you are into trance and especially GOA .

IMHO, this is one of those creations, which might prove very difficult to better. After all its the highest rated release on Discogs on the entire psy genre.
3 CD's inside the 4 fold pack, with a cover sleeve on the Project showcasing some promotional posters and party photos of the golden days of the band.
Its all about cosmic Journey and there are 7 tracks in total to drive you, with 6 of them on higher bpm's and the last down-tempo track Celaeno rightly placed to help us come down after the amazing high energy cosmic travel awaiting.

Maia- The gem which starts it after all, awesome acid line synths to begin with and the keyboard melodies starts to rock after few moments, directing us to the cosmos. Its pretty soon very evident the myriad melodic layers and mixing is mesmerizing. That roaring vocal chorus towards the end is just amazing and something special. The restart at 9.15 wow. In terms of the journey speed, the sound barrier has just been broken and 'that feeling', that a high velocity travel is awaiting us starts to sink in.

Taygeta- Layers and Layers which are so melodic, wild and intense! High energy base lines with all the complex multi layers, melodies and mixing this is a total masterpiece. Not to miss the quality of arrangment put across. The visual representations and interpretations it develops on the mind propelling us into deep cosmos combined with high energy melodies, is so pleasurable and is a rare combination. That out of earth melody introduced at 4.03 pushes us more and more, we are practically now at speeds more than Mach 4.

Merope- Very deep and powerful bass lines with powerful melodies and energy tailored to perfection. The intricately layered lower bpm phase in middle of the track leads to magical places before the take off at 6.00. Another crushing melody from 7.10, getting into prominence from 8.07. Cruising now at Supersonic speeds greater than Mach 20's. :-). We can realize this journey is something which we always knew about, but never experienced, unraveling itself from the hidden deep troves of the mind. Craftiness in arrangement is to that level to evoke such responses from the mind.

Aclyone- Well just while we start summarizing up that it couldn't be any better, Aclyone steps in with a screaming acid line and that boiling up beat effects. Not much time is required to comprehend on where this is taking us now. It is game on. The accelerator is stepped on at 1.30 and we keep to gain on speed. Sonic Layers and its complex orchestration starts at 2.10. Moving on we have now officially passed over the heliopause and that 'Shock center crossing' experience at 3.55, simply amazing. By around 5.13, its all clear and we start to actualize that this entire album is on a totally different level. From 7.13 it just super sonic cruising in some space craft, at Mach 40+ speeds... Asteroids, comets and planets seems to fly past in micro seconds.

Electra- The Emperor & The Heavy weight champ of the entire genre. Audacious Intense Beautiful Powerful Awesome. No drop in speed or intricacy here, just pushes and pushes to unimaginable fastness. Layers are intelligently and beautifully woven over and over, setting us up for the fantastic climax. High energy bass kick set in immediately & The gears are shifted at 1.30. We slowly realize we are approaching Light speeds at 2.04. What follows has to be just experienced.

At 5.32 we are traversing the cosmos at light speeds and preparing ourselves for that unprecedented climax. But then just when you think you can’t take more of this intense energy, standby for classical climax Mayhem which starts at 7.35. Oh! What an energy. Ears are burning. I have seen people unable to move by now, on dance floor for the sheer intensity.

Asterope- While we all try to figure out where we have reached after that high energy travel, 'Asterope' is just the track to guide us, by slowing us down just a little. Post that Alien breaths at the beginning and the picture starts to clear before us, revealing the amazing place we have been taken to. Beautiful melodies build and build over one another, and guide us deeper and deeper and at 9.25 its pure bliss. Long track.

Celaeno - Just one beautiful musical piece of blissful melodies carefully detailed and rightly placed into the end, to help us to someway reach back and touch down on to ground. Amazing level of intricately composed down-tempo layers. But most of us by now would be pondering what has just happened before this & trying hard to get ourselves grounded somewhere to make a sense of it all.

The complex layers, melodies, synths, energy and more importantly the intelligence and ideas embedded is just on the different level in this epic piece of musical history. It does so in an extremely audacious, provocative, classy and highly intelligent way.
Something must have got into Carlo's mind while he begun writing these songs, while one of his hand was broken in 96. Well he was unassumingly writing in golden letters on to the History of Music. That unusual X factor under the guidance of Max and combined with effort from Maurizio & Rizzo is what has ultimately paved the way to this "Undisputed Heavyweight Champion" of Goa Trance to emerge.
20+ years of its release, it just continues to stand and deliver.
Just praying if they could regroup together somehow and create more.
A+
oldgoaerectus

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) oldgoaerectus

May 27, 2016
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24
Hello, i mean the Live versions of course,
...but they are not (live/remixes) the same thing at the end?
;)
SShamanixx

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) SShamanixx

May 25, 2016
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24

Hello, Do you mean the IFO remix ? Or the diffrent IFO Live version
oldgoaerectus

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) oldgoaerectus

May 13, 2016
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24
YES, I can feel it!
..please would you mind write something about the remixes?
cristianHa

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] cristianHa

March 27, 2016
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], CD, Album, P/Mixed + CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, DATCD007

Waited for so long for a proper re-release and this one fully met my expectations. The extra CD's make it perfect. A remarkable job by DAT records. EPIC!
SabKuchMilegator

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] as reviewed by SabKuchMilegator

December 31, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], CD, Album, P/Mixed + CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, DATCD007

It's somewhat a hard task to write something decent about a release that's pretty much the wet dream of every goa fan. This release spans three full cds, making it a perfect statement what Pleiadians sound was all about circa 1995-1997. Not only you get the excellent debut album, but once again (or should I say once more?) you'll get to hear a retro liveset by these Italian wizards that showcases a full new side to IFO. The original being very expensive to buy these days and the live set giving you grand display of true 90s live philosophy, it goes without saying that this release has made a lot of old school aficionados happy.

The third cd ain't something you could call "leftovers" either. Their early compilation and vinyl material is almost all here. During my years listening to goa trance, I've slowly started to appreciate the raw and "to the point" sound more and more. These days I simply adore what these guys were doing around 95; tracks like Pleiadians or Cyberland are aggressive and magnificent in their melody work, even if not technically as developed as you'd come to expect from Pleiadians brand. A slight error seems to have occured while compiling this third disc. What happened is both Cyberland and Analogue Step were recorded at wrong speed (compared to the original). Maybe this little error was meant to be? Hah, all I can say for myself I definitely like these new versions a whole lot more! Cyberland gains a great energy level and, well sorry to say this, but Analogue Step was always my least favourite Pleiadians track. The slower pace, however, gives the track a fantastic hypnotic feel.

Like the other reviewer said, an essential release if there ever was one.
Nousagi

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] as reviewed by Nousagi

December 6, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], CD, Album, P/Mixed + CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, DATCD007
Monumental release! There is not a single doubt in these two words when speaking about this repress of IFO with two more CDs as a present for us, the Goa trance lovers!

This was a chance for people (like me) to obtain the most-acclaimed classic of the Pleiadians, without spending ridiculous amounts of money for a scratched copy. This goes also for the vinyl only tracks, some of which are very hard to find thus expensive as well.

But most of all, of course, it was the Live set I was looking forward to as the rest I had the opportunity to listen both live and digital and we all know how magnificent it sounds! The live set is not full-on IFO material though the tracks bear the same names. There are obvious influences from their next output - Family of Light - in the music. Something that I immediately fell in love with as it sounds more coherent and mature, rather than total craziness. Of course, this is a matter of taste but the blend does it for me. Listen to Alcyone for example. Slower, with more acidic lines and bass, still preserving those wicked buildups and melodies. Mind-staggering!

To sum it up, this is an essential item for any Goa trance fan! Do yourself a favour and grab one of these before they run out. Every single detail on this release has been taken care beautifully and you will love every part of it - from the artwork, to the booklet, and each second of these masterpieces inside.
draeke

Pleiadians - I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject] draeke

December 13, 2016
referencing I.F.O. [I.dentified F.lying O.bject], CD, Album, P/Mixed + CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, DATCD007

Thanks for these words, they really make me proud of the work at DAT Records and more releases like this one will come! Thanks for your support and lovely review :)
neurodynamo

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) neurodynamo

July 31, 2015
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), 2xLP, Album, BFLLP 24
PLEASE NOTE VINYL 1 AND VINYL 2 ARE MISLABELLED ON THE VINYL IT STATES THERE ARE 2 TRACKS ON THE A SIDE MAYA AND TAYGETA WHERE THERE IS ONLY 1 TRACK ON THE A SIDE MAYA AND VINYL 2 THERE ARE 2 TRACKS ON THE D SIDE AND NOT 1 - WEIRD OR WHAT -
jtrezzo

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) jtrezzo

May 1, 2021
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), 2xLP, Album, BFLLP 24

They seem to have a habit of this. Exact same thing on Etnica - The Juggeling Alchemists Under The Black Light. Maybe it's intentional just to trip people out.
Goa-Trance

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) Goa-Trance

July 2, 2016
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), 2xLP, Album, BFLLP 24

Here I have the same 'issue', maybe all records are mislabeled?
ujw34

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) ujw34

June 24, 2015
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24

... the magic in this music will be found when you hear these tracks as a journey - live on a real pa ... it blows you away - just my opinion - experienced this way
Nousagi

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) as reviewed by Nousagi

November 21, 2014
edited over 7 years ago
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24
For me this album certainly became way too overrated. It undoubtedly is excellent but praising it as the best Goa trance album ever is over-exaggeration. In my personal humble opinion, this is not even the best Etnica/ Pleiadians album, losing to Alien Protein and Live in Athens 1st CD which are a lot more diverse and well-produced. This one is just so much psychedelia that at some point it starts to feel a bit over the top. As other reviewers pointed out, the tracks here sound samey and, Alcyone apart, they are not even the best the group, let alone the genre, has offered to us. I believe that the remix of BPC's Antidote, Time Dilation, Meter and Zeta Reticuli, for example, are better tracks than 80% of the ones here. I think it is certainly not worth spending ridiculous amount of money on this album.
Nousagi

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) Nousagi

July 2, 2015
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24
Unfortunately, I didn't as I was still not a Goa head at that time. And yes, I realise that it is difficult to compare these two releases (and probably wrong) but from my current point of view, Alien Protein and Live in Athens are ahead of IFO.
This, of course, does not mean I do not love IFO and I believe it is a very strong album which did indeed endure the test of time. But its praise is way too high in my opinion as their other albums from that era are not any weaker.
With this being said, I am eagerly waiting for the 3 CD re-release of IFO as not only we will enjoy this music (and much more) but also evade these ridiculous prices for those who weren't lucky to catch a copy of this back in the day.
draeke

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) draeke

June 16, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24

I agree Joseph with the comparison part. The sole exception would be if Nousagi went to the live performance in Athens in October '96. There he could have listened to the set and then come to his conclusion, imagining he was comparing their output at the time, including live appearances.
It's interesting to note how in August '96 IFO was completed (the whole album) and how they also played the most incredible liveset ever a few months later. 1996 was truly a year of splendour for Etnica & Pleiadians. IFO still is a top album, that stood the test of time, but we will see if with the re-release coming soon you will all change your perception of this masterpiece and will be very interesting to read the comments from old time listeners and newcomers.
Joseph_S

Pleiadians - I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object) Joseph_S

May 9, 2015
referencing I.F.O. (Identified Flying Object), CD, Album, bflcd24

I agree with most you said except that you can't compare it to Live in Athens since that was released a decade and a half after :)