MyStyleFreestyle

Manix - Heading To The Light MyStyleFreestyle

February 17, 2020
referencing Heading To The Light, 12", RIVET 1243

Maybe the "Do Ya" sample in "Headin' To The Light" comes from Vesta Williams Do Ya
swinch2187

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) swinch2187

January 28, 2018
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243R
The barcode on the reverse of my sleeve does not match the barcode listed here... mine is 5021260124300
Anyone else confirm / deny they have a different barcode?!
Other than that, this is the release I have!
0e0

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) 0e0

December 18, 2017
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243R

as far as I know the A side of this release is pressed off center.. so if you are after the "When You Hold Me (92 Mix)"...the only perfectly playable version is the Mispress of RIVET 1243

https://www.discogs.com/Manix-Heading-To-The-Light/release/2221886
kungfufoster

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) kungfufoster

June 12, 2021
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243R
My promo copy of the remix plate seems fine; maybe I just got lucky?
breakbeatscientist

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) breakbeatscientist

February 27, 2019
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243R

I thought I'd just picked up a duff copy. Always thought that the 'Heading To The Light (Remix)' sounded a bit off, especially on the strings. I did file away one side of the spindle hole to centre it a bit better, which isn't perfect but seemed to fix it a little. Damn shame though as 'When You Hold Me Close ('92 Mix)' is a belter of a tune.
rousa

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) rousa

May 20, 2018
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243R
My original copy was mispressed, however I managed to pick up another copy that isn't mispressed a couple of months ago in LA.
0e0

Manix - Heading To The Light 0e0

December 18, 2017
referencing Heading To The Light, 12", EP, Mis, RIVET 1243
the version of "When You Hold Me (92 Mix)" on the official release of RIVET 1243R is pressed off center and wobbles with pitch. but this mispress is perfect.
dlb

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) dlb

August 20, 2017
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", Promo, RIVET 1243R

Mine is cut horribly off center (are they all like this?) and deck arm sways from side to side. Shame as it is a cracking release, especially A2 and AA1.
kungfufoster

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) kungfufoster

June 12, 2021
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", Promo, RIVET 1243R
My promo copy is pressed correct, so assuming same metalwork (?), maybe they’re not all bad?
0e0

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) 0e0

December 15, 2017
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", Promo, RIVET 1243R
the 1243R record is pressed off centre on the when you hold me close remix. there is a mispress of the original heading to the light EP promo that's pressed properly
Weareonenation303

Manix - Heading To The Light Weareonenation303

January 21, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
referencing Heading To The Light, CD, Maxi, RIVET CD1243, RIVET CD 1243

Have this CD. My copy has very early signs of CD Bronzing. (This pressing was made by PDO UK evidenced by the inner ring.)
adylee

Manix - Heading To The Light adylee

July 8, 2016
referencing Heading To The Light, CD, Maxi, RIVET CD1243, RIVET CD 1243

Oh yes the ilusive made in the UK by P.D.O back in the day i dreaded going down to my local store for the new CD releases for the week hoping that the track i wanted wasnt pressed on this naff label! i always hoped for Disctronics or Nimbus but the DADC were the best most of R&S CD singles are on the Austria pressed DADC and are superior!! All these purchased years ago are still perfect to this day stronger substrate too!
Pleinmont

Manix - Heading To The Light as reviewed by Pleinmont

March 25, 2014
referencing Heading To The Light, 12", RIVET 1243

Head into the Light and Alright Wid Me are absolute SMOOOTH belters. Big strings and crispy beats.
Inner City Life has its roots right here.
breakbeatscientist

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) as reviewed by breakbeatscientist

July 12, 2012
edited over 8 years ago
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243R

'When You Hold Me Close (92 Mix)' is possibly one of the most 'mental' tunes that I've heard on the Reinforced label. As the remix title suggests, it takes a huge amount of it's energy from the year before. Borrowing Blame style arpegiated helium vocal riffs, chipmunked Public Enemy ('Brothers and sisters!') and the most itchy sounding, hoover stabs. If that wasn't enuff, all this is layered over a heavy-as-hell, pitched down amen break.

Worth buying this EP for that one track alone, however 'Heading To The Light (Remix)' and the Tek 9, mentasmic reworking of 'Alright Wid Me' are no slouches either. 'Reach Out (Dr Tommy Remix)' is a bit too housey for my liking. With the track taking an age for a breakbeat to appear, but I can accept that due to the strength of it's three companions. Stunning remixes!
0e0

Manix - Heading To The Light (Remixes) 0e0

November 23, 2017
referencing Heading To The Light (Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243R

i agree...i first heard goldie play this on the radio in Toronto 25 years ago..i think it was on dubplate then. BLEW ME AWAY
jimi_renaissance

Manix - Heading To The Light as reviewed by jimi_renaissance

November 27, 2008
referencing Heading To The Light, CD, Maxi, RIVET CD1243, RIVET CD 1243
Although all of the tracks on this CD are good in their own right, I feel Marc Clair's best tunes are on vinyl, it's a shame there is only three EP's on CD, especially for us modern day Hardcore Jungalist's.

Heading to the light, the first track, is a euphoricaly dark tune. After a brief trippy-drum intro there's a typical analogue synth breakdown with an anonymous diva wailing what sounds like 'do ya?' eventually followed by psychadelic strings and piano. Unlike the remix, this version doesn't feature the 'Heading to the Light' vocals.

'When you hold me close' sounds to me like a predesessor of Trip-Hop but is obviously a track that smacks of Jungle, if Jungle music had hoovers.

'Alright wid me' is the most intense tune on the CD with a tearing breakbeat and rising piano loop. There's another vocal section I can't quite understand, the word's which lead up to 'let the music play on' and there's another chipmunk sample which says 'pump it up this is high powered stuff' I'm not sure where if anywhere these acapella's come from, the Tek 9 remix of this track uses the 'Alright wid me' lyrics more often.

Reach out is a very sensitive sounding song, a signature piano tune from the 4-Hero man but the lyric's kind of take any rawness out of it.
DJ_Nik_Gnashers

Manix - Heading To The Light as reviewed by DJ_Nik_Gnashers

November 5, 2008
referencing Heading To The Light, 12", Promo, RIVET 1243

Although this is a 1993 release, I really love the whole EP because it has the classic manix 92 vibe about it.
A1 152bpm is typical manix, nice vocal sample, nice amen beats, and good production. Track has enough variation to keep you interested, nice mellow synths, and stabs in the drops.
A2 150bpm starts with an amen break then a drop with a lovely vocal sample "when you hold me close". Quite a dark vibe and bassline, with jungley beats but the piano lifts it, and overall a very trippy tune.
AA1 150bpm and starts with nice mellow synth and simple breaks before vocal sample "ooooh" and then a drop with the sweetest piano you can imagine. In comes a full vocal line to complete the manix sound, and your cant help but move ya feet !
AA2 150bpm nice synth at start, simple jungle amen break before the typical manix drop section with amazing piano and vocal sample "reach out". The difference with this tune is the full vocal parts which personally I dont like as much, although others may like it. Still a great track though, and overall another quality 4 tracker from reinforced.
eleeut

Manix - Heading To The Light (U.S. House Remixes) as reviewed by eleeut

May 6, 2004
edited over 7 years ago
referencing Heading To The Light (U.S. House Remixes), 12", RIVET 1243 RR

Yes. This set of remixes is laidback after-hours house at its essence, featuring soft and sparse keys, a deep and minimal bassline, a snappy break used over the kick, and well-used and not overly done vocal sample in an Mark Kinchen sort of way. If you're a fan of that early 90s NY deep after-hours house sound, this is definitely something to be sought after. It took me 7 years to find this piece and still love it to death.

update // I first heard this on a mixtape that I bought at Eightball in NY circa '92, and the last time I remembered hearing this out was at Legends in NY sometime in the spring of '96 or so. still digging this over 20+ years out...