thecombine

Mastodon - The Hunter thecombine

December 25, 2018
referencing The Hunter, LP, Album, Ltd, Pic, 561701-1
Good sound quality, but this must be the first time I've heard a censored album. The vocals just cut out, which sounds pretty sloppy. It's not like anyone could understand what was being screamed in the first place, so I don't understand what the reasoning is there.
Onyong

Mastodon - The Hunter Onyong

August 8, 2018
referencing The Hunter, 2x12", Album, 528703-1
The 45 rpm Mastodon pressings are consistently a step up from their other versions. Just a shame they're always limited runs.
diegoromeo00

Mastodon - The Hunter diegoromeo00

January 10, 2018
referencing The Hunter, LP, Ltd, RP, Red, 9362-49293-5
Can anybody tell me whether this is an explicit version or a clean one?
diegoromeo00

Mastodon - The Hunter diegoromeo00

December 23, 2017
referencing The Hunter, LP, Album, Ltd, Pic, 561701-1

In spite of the Parental Advisory label, all profanity on Blasteroid is bleeped out. Also, my copy had a loop in the middle of The Sparrow.
phelix_optigan

Mastodon - The Hunter phelix_optigan

January 30, 2017
referencing The Hunter, LP, Ltd, RP, Red, 9362-49293-5
I received a black vinyl with the same barcode and release info.
saangel

Mastodon - The Hunter saangel

November 9, 2016
referencing The Hunter, CD, Album, RR7675-2, RR 7675-2, 1686-17675-2, 168617675-2
My copy came without the hype sticker in front, and was bought sealed in Germany.
cbermeos

Mastodon - The Hunter as reviewed by cbermeos

November 19, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
referencing The Hunter, CD, Album, RPRW529017.2
The quality of 1LP vinyls is sad. I'll try to get a copy of the 2x12" hoping that things get better!!
cbermeos

Mastodon - The Hunter cbermeos

February 24, 2016
referencing The Hunter, CD, Album, RPRW529017.2
Finally I bought de 2LP 45RPM and the quality is absolutely better than the 1 LP.

I agree that they should just stick to the good quality (reducing prices).

Best!
redstingray1977

Mastodon - The Hunter redstingray1977

February 24, 2016
referencing The Hunter, CD, Album, RPRW529017.2
I don't understand why Mastodon bothered releasing their albums in these inferior single LP editions.

They found a winning formula with the 2LP 45rpm format, why not just stick to that? What vinyl fan doesn't want the best audio quality?

Also, they could've reduced the price of the 2LP releases if the production run had been higher.

cbermeos

Mastodon - The Hunter cbermeos

November 19, 2015
referencing The Hunter, 2x12", Album, 528703-1
You are comparing this pressing with other one?
Riffgott

Mastodon - The Hunter as reviewed by Riffgott

October 10, 2011
referencing The Hunter, CD, Album, Dig + DVD-V, NTSC, RR7675-5, 1686-17675-5

I recently bought the latest Mastodon album, called “The Hunter”. So what’s up with the successor of their opus magnum (up to now, that is…) “Crack The Skye”? Well, it follows the footsteps of
“Blood Mountain” and “Leviathan”, therefore much emphasis is put on riff-laden, mostly short and hard-hitting stompers and by that the album moves away from the epic conceptual approach that made up their 2009 masterpiece.

The carving on the cover (dubbed by a friend of mine as Judas Priest-ish, which fits pretty well…) indicates a step back to the old days’ aggressiveness, but the psychedelic and ethereal soundscapes are still featured to some extend. Best of both worlds, so to say, but don’t expect any tracks to come even close to the ten minute mark. The material on “The Hunter” is actually very accessible at first listen. Mastodon haven proven that this is not a bad thing before with their stand out track Blood And Thunder from “Leviathan” and now they spread it out on a whole album: after going overtly into outer space, down to earth accessibility is the key if you don’t want to repeat yourself!

Some new additions to the Mastodon sound are also present, especially if you listen to the vocal harmonies in Creature Lives.

Production-wise, Mike Elizondo, mostly known for his production jobs with Hip Hop acts (!), managed to keep up the high standards Mastodon have come to be known for. Every little detail has its place in the mix and the over all sound is a real punch in your face. Brent and Bill battle it out on the front line (again some low A tuning is present), while Brann and Troy keep the supplies never dry at any moment. To keep the tradition, Spectrelight is the track to feature vocals by Scott Kelly.

After only a few spins of the disc, I’m already willing to rank “The Hunter” as my top album of 2011, right next to Red Fang’s “Murder The Mountains”. In the Mastodon catalogue, I’d rank it higher than “Blood Mountain”, but it doesn’t match “Leviathan” or “Crack The Skye”.

The documentary part on the DVD is rather disappointing when compared to the making of “Crack The Skye”, but hey, as Brann tells us: it’s just a rock album. They’ll make another one next week! On the other hand, the track-by-track commentary makes totally up for this, as does the video for Black Tongue, showing the carving of the beast gracing the cover. Also check out the more than funny video for the non-album track Deathbound!

please visit my blog-page with other reviews: http://underneathadyingsun.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/review-the-hunter-by-mastodon/
bobarob

Mastodon - The Hunter bobarob

October 21, 2011
referencing The Hunter, CD, Album, Dig + DVD-V, NTSC, RR7675-5, 1686-17675-5
Thanks for that! Sounds good. Just saw them performing 'Black Tongue' on 'Later...With Jools Holland'. I was impressed. Not least for Jools featuring Mastodon on his show!