RayMystereo

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! RayMystereo

March 5, 2021
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01
Mine skips badly. Silent treatment is awful. Side D skips every few seconds
dancriel

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! dancriel

February 26, 2021
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01
My copy has a lot of surface noise and occasional pops even after wet cleaning. This album needs a high quality reissue.
andreoffdre

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! andreoffdre

January 9, 2021
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01
Several skips on side C for me as well. Unfortunate and pretty egregious to be honest.
skitns

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! skitns

October 12, 2020
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01
Anyone else get theirs with some leftover black in there? Created a nice swirl.
chaeschuechli

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! as reviewed by chaeschuechli

June 8, 2020
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, Unofficial, DGC24708
The pixelated cover on the photo looks not that nice, but in reality it's quite bad. Particularly the back cover is a disaster.
Pressing quality on the other hand is ok, nothing special. Typical bootleg quality I suppose.
Picked it up at a reasonable price, so I took it. Otherwise I would not recommended it.
ThisShouldBeFun

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! ThisShouldBeFun

November 2, 2017
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01

Ive had 2 brand new copies and they both skip on 'what goes on' and also a bit on the intro - also a bit of sibilance and surface noise. Anyone else have this problem? Looks great, but I wish they would 'respect the classics' and do a better job pressing these.
lavidanovalenada

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! lavidanovalenada

November 10, 2020
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01

I've made the same experience; I've had two sealed copies by now - both skipping
several customers on amazon report the same problem
hancock2

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! hancock2

September 30, 2020
edited 7 months ago
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01
No skipping for me. But the sibilance is quite bad
r.e

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! r.e

May 8, 2016
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01

Very good reprinting, quite quite good quality of vinyl, excellent envelope. But the most important is a super sound. Really all drums sound as live here. You awake to listen and for an instant will seem to you that "The Roots" gives a concert in your house today. And 35-45 euros are not the price for this edition. Excellent sound! If all of you still doubt to take this release or not to take, unambiguously get without deliberating.
cottonmouthVII

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! cottonmouthVII

January 3, 2016
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01

SonofGalahad's review seconded. Great repress of an essential album, maybe a little quiet. Worth the high price tag for sure to me.
SonofGalahad

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! as reviewed by SonofGalahad

December 23, 2015
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, 2xLP, Album, RE, Cle, B0022918-01
Short and sweet here: nice sounding reissue, maybe mastered a bit low, but good fidelity. My pressings were dead flat and the wax appears to be something close to 180g. As a bonus, printed inners and the prettiest blue vinyl I have seen in a while: translucent light sapphire that smartly matches some of the shades of the jacket. Overall worthwhile effort reissuing a crucial Roots outing.
EddieA94

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! EddieA94

September 5, 2013
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, CD, Album, RP, GED 24708, 424 708-2
anybody know why the tracklist starts at 19? is it supposed to be a continuation of Organix? i find this album to be much better than organix
akapterus

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! akapterus

September 26, 2013
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, CD, Album, RP, GED 24708, 424 708-2

Yes, its continuation from Organix, they kept doin this for some time, so we have Organix (1-17); Do You Want More?!!!??! (18-33); Illadelph Halflife (34-53); Things Fall Apart (54-70); The Roots Come Alive (random numbers); Phrenology (87-100). Not sure about The Tipping Point because I havent got that one, but on Game Theory tracks are numbered back from one. PEACE!!!
flyfolkmusic

The Roots - Do You Want More?!!!??! as reviewed by flyfolkmusic

May 8, 2009
referencing Do You Want More?!!!??!, CD, Album, RP, GED 24708, 424 708-2
Possibly the greatest Hip Hop album of all time, from the greatest crew of all time. Do you want more by The Roots is awesome stuff - and still sounds as fresh and relevant today as when it first arrived on the scene.
Mix cool raps, with conscious thought, add a little jazz - okay make that a lot of jazz influenced playing - season with funky beats and you get this masterpiece.
This album and the crew - or rather band- sound at their best on this album, at least in my opinion. It's my favourite album of theirs by far. On it, the live keys are rich and lush, the double basses deep, the drums crisp, clean, sharp and clear. Add some interesting, playful filters, delays and other fx to some of the backing vocals and you have a great and engaging album. There's also a lot of beat boxing used to good effect in the production of some tracks on this, too.
Also, the band don't stick to one song formula. In tracks like essaywuman, they play with the whole idea of call and response. Black Thought (on the mic) throwing down some beat box for a little Q & A with first the drums, then the Keys. The whole album, and this track in particular, has a real live, playful, feel to it -as if it's being played on the spot right in front of you, and perhaps it's that that makes this album still as enjoyable to listen to as the first time I heard it. The roots are a great band and this album in particular is something very special. Do you want more? I know I do. That's why it's one of my most played albums ever.