Blackout-

BT - ESCM Blackout-

June 16, 2019
referencing ESCM, 2xLP, 3984-20934-1
i hope this gets repressed sometime soon. The 2nd hand copies that float around on Discogs are completely trashed by DJs or super expensive
brian.elder.180

BT - ESCM as reviewed by brian.elder.180

February 6, 2019
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 9 46799-2
If bt’s first album was a trance classic, groundbreaking in its fusing of organic sounds with Progressive House and bt’s signature piano sound, ESCM was a conscious effort to straddle as many genres as possible over the course of 10 tracks.
Obviously Flaming June is regarded as a classic but it’s b side Orbitus Terranium was a far more interesting breakbeat monster that genuinely sounded fresh and exciting. Other tracks like Remember and Road to Losthwithiel are pleasant enough, but all too often it sounds like a precocious talent unbridled by genre constraints and perhaps the complete faith of Perfecto allowed him creative freedom that he didn’t have previously.
The result is a tendency to overcook everything when a bit of restraint may have improved the finished product enormously. While you can’t fault the production, the enthusiasm or even the PMA, it all does start to sound like a child on a sugar rush.
wildblunthickok

BT - ESCM as reviewed by wildblunthickok

October 31, 2018
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 9 46799-2

BT's second album (ESCM) is easily his best album of all time. An acronym for Electric Sky Church Music, this is the only music I've ever heard that has managed to successfully convey the feeling of being in nature and getting that "big sky" feeling. Definitely a must-have album.
After this album he drifted into the whole "guest rappers rapping over his music" thing and made everything sound as commercial as it could. I'd recommend avoiding this period (Movement In Still Life, Emotional Technology, This Binary Universe, These Hopeful Machines). The only good part of it was the Dreaming single/remix ep.
After that period he made the album "If The Stars Are Eternal So Are You And I" which is about the only thing he's done that came close to ESCM, but after that he went into really really cliched sounding dubstep (the kind where every instrument is an annoying alarm sound). To be fair "If The Stars..." had 1 minute of dubstep mixed into the ending of one of the slow ambient songs and fans responded positively to it, so I can see why he would think people would like an album of dubstep from him. The truth is it was actually the juxtposition that people liked (playing slow stark sounding ambient for 9 minutes and then building towards a climax that manifested itself as over the top dubstep insanity). BT just playing dubstep on it's own sounds cliched, boring, and rather like Homer Simpson's first webpage ("you'd think all the noises would be annoying but they're not").
I should probably include his first album ("Ima") in the list of BT albums worth getting. It's not as good as ESCM but it's at least in a similar direction. It's still got that pre-commercial sound.
freakaz0id

BT - ESCM freakaz0id

October 10, 2018
edited 8 months ago
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, Promo, PRO-CD-8939
The rubber sleeve this came in damages plastic. It left a film on the disc and altered the surface of the jewel cases that were adjacent to it to a milky white.
Triquatra

BT - ESCM Triquatra

August 24, 2018
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 3984-20065-2
Most peculiar, but Road to Lostwithel seems to be a vinyl rip. At first I thought it was a "bad" mastering and was just clipping from distortion in places, but turns out not to be the case. It happens during the quiet breakdown at the 5:30 - 6:00 mark, there are crackles and pops clear as day if you load up the waveform in audition/favourite DAW. you can see/hear them quite clearly. Weird.
BigBeat25

BT - ESCM as reviewed by BigBeat25

August 13, 2017
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 3984-20065-2

I gonna say that this album is Extraordinary, Sublime, Classic and Magnificent. From start to finish, it's all about trance melodies and solid breakbeats.
"Flaming June" is a superb trance classic, with the outro "Content" being in the same vein. The intro "Firewater" and "Memories in a Sea of Forgerfulness" got some arab chorus which fit perfectly with the airy notes, while "The Road to Lostwithiel" has a drum and bass tempo and this song sums up the meaning of "feeling good" pretty well. At last, "Love, Peace And Grease" is the sole big beat piece of the CD.
It is impossible to feel anything but satisfaction while listening. Happy 20th birthday "ESCM" !
thebottomlesspit

BT - ESCM thebottomlesspit

March 27, 2017
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 3984-20065-2
Nectar is worth a listen - there is something special there
anemiccinema

BT - ESCM anemiccinema

January 4, 2017
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, Promo, PRO-CD-8939
"Lullaby for Gaia" samples Depeche mode - "Shouldn't Have Done That"
HipsterDoofus

BT - ESCM HipsterDoofus

July 1, 2014
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 3984-20065-2

I just put this on after not listening to it for many years. Man, I don't remember the last time I danced that hard without being drunk.
Conjure

BT - ESCM as reviewed by Conjure

August 9, 2011
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 3984-20065-2

Despite BT being a trance pioneer, ESCM is almost anything but trance. Only 3 tracks (Flaming June, Nectar & Content) are trance, while the rest is a mix of Drum 'n Bass (The Road To Lostwithiel, Memories in a Sea of Forgetfulness), breakbeats (almost everything else). Even rock gets a show case here (Solar Plexus). I don't mind though, because most of the tunes are pretty good.

The album isn't perfect. "Solar Plexus" feels out of place. It's also disjointed, ending abrubtly with piano and soft vocals dor the second half of the track. Some tracks, strangely enough, also builds up for something and never quite follows up on it. Everyone knows "Flaming June", but for whatever reason it ends with a very small drum 'n bass version. It sounds pretty good, but it's just sad that the album doesn't follow up on it. "Memories in a Sea of Forgetfulness" starts building up with live drums and rock guitars, then goes over to a drum 'n bass beat (that is a bit more relaxed than what the track build itself up too), and middle eastern vocals.

Those complaints aside, it is a pretty good album, and a nice follow up to Ima. Today, it may seem a bit outdated (less than Ima however). The live drums sounds a bit weird at times, and the production valves, while good, seems a bit weird too. Especially Solar Plexus where I could hardly make out the lyrics, among other things. The usual BT production style (time stretching and all that) isn't present either, though that's not a bad thing, nessecairly. One thing does become aparrent though. It's a shame that BT today, isn't as experimental and genre threading as he used to be. What's presented here may sound a bit outdated, but it's 10 times more interesting than almost anything he has done in the 2000's (save aside This Binary Universe)

To end this review. It's a great album, with a few flaws, that shouldn't ruin the album over all.
Sole_Venture

BT - ESCM Sole_Venture

March 23, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 3984-20065-2
DJResree, if you're saying you appreciate this album less because BT makes references to the Koran and middle-Eastern scripture, that says so much more about you than it ever will about him. Firewater is a truly epic, humbling piece of music. And no amount of misguided bigotry can take away from the moments of brillance in this album.
DJResree

BT - ESCM DJResree

June 18, 2014
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 3984-20065-2
It is a good album. I must admit that I loved this album when it was released and still find wonderful elements of music in it. However, after listening to it again, I recognized something that I had not noticed before. The opening song's lyrics include the opening words to the Koran. The other lyrics on the remainder of now make more sense. BT must have felt a need to study the Arab book. Makes me less appreciative of his works here but explains his downhill slide with future albums.
kentandrew

BT - ESCM as reviewed by kentandrew

September 12, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 9 46799-2

I bought the album for Flaming June and Remember. Flaming June is crisp, clear, and mistakeless. Remember has vocals that are charming, but with excessive flair by Jan Johnston. Bad vocalists are easy to catch because of the way they are always flat or never on time in catching up with the melody. Content, however is the hidden gem on this album, not because it is produced perfectly or because it is eccentric, but because it reveals BT's capabilities without him showing off or adjusting to the norm. The classical background is blatantly evident in the progression of piano chords, and his learning of digital music production is just right as he shows only what he has learned. Flaming June does too much by being a perfect dream trance tune while being forced into a mediocre jungle track. Remember is quite memorable, but once you see the music video that is on the EP, it will make you gag. He is head over heels for mainstream success.
swk24

BT - ESCM as reviewed by swk24

August 20, 2004
edited over 14 years ago
referencing ESCM, CD, Album, 9 46799-2
Superb, so superb. From the opening sweep of "Firewater", which see-saws from king-sized breakbeats into acoustic guitar strummings and violins, to the punch of "Content", a charging rhythm wrapped around a heady piano hook, this disc bristles with imagination and musical boldness. BT's production is among the most impeccable I've ever heard; this album is a crystal-clear trip that brims with emotion. I was just moved to tears when I first heard it, not knowing that music could paint such vivid, epic scenery. Although not all the ideas here have aged well, his impeccable production skill carries the album. I know that's a bit like loving the meal because it was served on a pretty plate, but the fact remains that this is one of the albums I'll take to my grave.
psymonkey

BT - ESCM as reviewed by psymonkey

June 5, 2004
referencing ESCM, 2xLP, 3984-20934-1

ESCM is BT at his best. Released at a time when his sound was still fresh, and he wasn't pumping out remixes every other week. An excellent follow-up to IMA, and a great demonstration of the diversity of his passion for sound. The track "Content" is a fitting ending to the album and is a clear demonstration of his mastery of the equipment and the translation of that mastery into music that truely takes you on a journey. As BT slips further into the grasp of the commercial world of music, I can always listen to this album and "remember" the "content" and "nectar" of his talent in this "Sea of Forgetfullness" brought on by his recent offerings.