neurodancer808

Arpanet - Wireless Internet neurodancer808

November 11, 2020
referencing Wireless Internet, 2x12", Album, REC-05, SOURLP 058, 7243 8 12078 1 9
Record Makers replied to a post from Drexciya Research Lab's FB page saying: "For your information, we are working on re-pressing both "Wireless Internet" and "Inertial Frame" on vinyl in 2021."
Cardia1

Arpanet - Wireless Internet Cardia1

December 9, 2019
referencing Wireless Internet, CD, Album, REC-05, 7243 8120782 6, CDSOUR058, 8120782

Interesting listening, it offers a dark , relaxing and sci-fi experience , some of the melodies are interesting. the only track i don't like is "Software Version" it's very aggressive and stripped of any melodies.
Moer

Arpanet - Wireless Internet as reviewed by Moer

June 2, 2006
edited over 15 years ago
referencing Wireless Internet, 2x12", Album, REC-05, SOURLP 058, 7243 8 12078 1 9

This is definately one of the best electro albums of all time. Arpanet is another thematic alias from Gerald Donald, this was the first album released under the Arpanet monniker. The sound troughout this album is warm, hypnotic, deep and at sometimes industrial.

The very first track is 'The Analyst', it is a long monologue by a computer animated voice. The monologue is about what the future will bring us in terms of wirelessness. Next up is 'Illuminated Displays', this is just a tremendous electro track. It is a warm gentle sounding composition, absolutely beautiful.
The B side starts with a more serious, dark hypnotic track called 'i-mode'. It's a short track, but very effective though. 'Wireframe Images' is up next, this track has a clinical Dopplereffekt thing going on. If I listen to this track closely I can actually freak out, great braincracking sounds.
The C side is the only side which contains three tracks. C1 'p2101v' is the first of two beatless tracks on this album ('The Analyst' not included). Great track, Donald has made quite a few of this kind electro/ambient tracks in this millenium. I love each and every one of them. C2 'ntt docomo' is another dark, rugged, hypnotic track. Again a computer simulated voice is heard, talking about the Internet and wireless information. The last track on the C side, 'Software Version', is the track I like the least. It's a very organic beat, it moves up, down and everywhere. I think he recorded this track live in the studio.
Now there is one side left, the D side. Wow! These two tracks are almost unparallelled. They are two of the finest pieces of electronic music ever made in my opinion.
'Devoid of Wires' just does it for me. The complete track, from the snare to the vocal, it's a masterpiece. I just can't find the right words to describe this one. So, I will talk a little bit about the very last track; 'Wireless Internet'. This is the second beatless track on this album. The start of this track will wake you up anywhere anytime. But when the actual sounds of this track hit your ears you'll be in heaven for a little while. The deep, dramatic sounds will take you to another level. A great way to close down this legendary album.
nowhere.sound

Arpanet - Wireless Internet as reviewed by nowhere.sound

February 3, 2006
edited over 15 years ago
referencing Wireless Internet, CD, Album, REC-05, 7243 8120782 6, CDSOUR058, 8120782
For me the last great release by the remaining half of Drexciya. The LP has an analog warmth typical of a lot of the Japanese Telecom/Dopplereffekt work but feels as if has been honed and refined even more. In some ways the production of the LP is more inviting than the compositions of some of the tracks and per usual there is a bit of wayward rambling throughout with a few overlong tracks. Some tracks aimed at the dancefloor whilst others clearly nowhere near it he fails to instil enough variation to keep my finger from hovering over the fastforward button.
Having said this, I do thoroughly enjoy the LP, more as a background mood enhancer than a focus on the details headphone listen.
minya

Arpanet - Wireless Internet as reviewed by minya

July 28, 2003
referencing Wireless Internet, CD, Album, REC-05, 7243 8120782 6, CDSOUR058, 8120782
Extremely hypnotic, minimal and repetitive Drexciya-style electro. Not sure if this is a Drecxiya ex-member or not, but it sure as hell sounds like it. Definitely for electro purists, though: not really dancy at all. Very repetitive. Extremely pleasing to listen to sometimes, but not a dance record.
TaalgoMusic

Arpanet - Wireless Internet TaalgoMusic

December 10, 2020
referencing Wireless Internet, CD, Album, REC-05, 7243 8120782 6, CDSOUR058, 8120782
This abs bangs on the dancefloor!! :) Well it used to lol
JimQode

Arpanet - Wireless Internet as reviewed by JimQode

September 29, 2002
referencing Wireless Internet, 2x12", Album, REC-05, SOURLP 058, 7243 8 12078 1 9

Arpanet takes the basic electro one step further than we know it. sounds and samples are very carefully chosen and work very well together. Best electro album i have so far.