stevenkemp

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 stevenkemp

April 24, 2011
referencing Public Energy No.1, CD, Album, NoMu54CD
Another change in style for Speedy J, and for me a step in the wrong direction. Gone is the lush atmospherics and melodies of the first two albums. In it's place is harsh electronics and rhythms, not dissimilar to The Aphex Twin. Whilst this is a solid album, its certainly not easy listening, and for me is far less enjoyable than Ginger and G Spot.
stevenkemp

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 stevenkemp

September 22, 2018
referencing Public Energy No.1, CD, Album, NoMu54CD
Nothing wrong with evolution, but he evolved into something i didn't care for. If I want Aphex Twin , I'll buy Aphex Twin.
acidchewer

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 acidchewer

April 27, 2015
referencing Public Energy No.1, CD, Album, NoMu54CD
great artists change their sound... its called evolution. i guess you like predictable music
noizstepper

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 noizstepper

January 13, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Public Energy No.1, CD, Album, NoMu54CD
no way... man! :)
I absolutely disagree: In my oppinion this one is the first mature work of J.
Untill PENo1 Speed j recorded rubbish techno. But this one is perfect mindblowing IDM/Industrial-Tek.
Maybe it is because I don't like most kind of Techno untill Mid of the 90s, when most of the acts grew up, become more alternative and deep as you could see with Speedy J.
Not as great as the following works, but surely best work untill then!
presmach

Speedy J - Public Energy No. 1 as reviewed by presmach

February 18, 2011
referencing Public Energy No. 1, 2x12", Album, W/Lbl, Sti, +8066LP
no idea what Paulo M is on about, the album has some great tracks, but since i own the Patterns (Remix) and the Promo for the album the only stand out track not included in those two releases, in my opinion is As The Bubble Expands. Not enough for me to try and acquire the album release but make no mistake, this is excellent material by Speedy J.
maroko

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 as reviewed by maroko

May 21, 2008
referencing Public Energy No.1, CD, Album, NoMu54CD

Indeed, "Public energy no. 1" follows hot on the heels of "Patterns" release from the same year. The ingredients which marked "Ginger" and "G-spot", thus making them almost instantly likeable, are bravely replaced by far more challenging musical patterns, erratic and deeply disturbing percussion, profound atmospheres and intertwining layers setting complex moods all converge into a unique sonical experience like no oher I've ver heard. Jochem Paap, more than ever, constantly builds upon, and amplifies, ideas previously displayed, taking his sound further from track to track, which demands patient listening, as only then will you be conveyed to the realm of this man's mind. Definitely a more agressive approach to his sound than on anything released prior to this, but the music has a charm of its own nonetheless. Not really fast and furious, rather fat and massive.

"Public energy no. 1" was obviously not intended for impressing the masses, and is far from being easily accessible, but give it quality time it deserves to sink in, and I give my left arm it will become a regular in your CD player. Mind bending stuff, especially when one looks at it within the historical context of Speedy J's discography. I've not seen many other producers match the progress he's made in just a few years since his debut. Remarkable.
paulo_m

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 as reviewed by paulo_m

April 3, 2007
edited over 12 years ago
referencing Public Energy No.1, 2x12", Album, NoMu54LP

The only track that gets pass marks here is "As The Bubble Expands". The rest is absolute dross. I admire Speedy J and like a lot of his output but this release is awful. You can't dance to it, it's too uncomfortable to listen to at home, and many of the tracks sound too similiar. It has no atmosphere, just horribly produced broken industrial beats with no IDEAS. Yuck! If someone wants my copy they are welcome to it if they send the shipping.
kentandrew

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 as reviewed by kentandrew

September 25, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
referencing Public Energy No.1, CD, Album, PLUS8066CD
I first heard hayfever on a promo disc for a UK magazine, which led me to wander into this. I thought haywire was cooler than hayfever after I bought it, then heard tesla, which was a short song, but I liked it. If you know anything about Nikola Tesla, he was a scientist who devoted himself to the study of electricity, but basically failed. The sadness is heard in the song and elsewhere on the album. Patterns was gradually pulling me in with a long intro and the climax after around four minutes or so of strenuous anticipation. Then, as I repeatedly cycled through, As the bubble expands became bearable and almost enjoyable after understanding the lo-fi recording effect by gating and filtering the sound. There is no way I can explain this album to a friend and have him understand and like it. Trackheads ought to love it, though, as you can feel Speedy J's writer's block blasting through and saying I don't care if you don't like it, because I have scraped out all the ideas in my brain here. It is a step above the 4-4 technical G-Spot, which was a leap above the slick electro-style Ginger.
Dr.Awesome

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 as reviewed by Dr.Awesome

January 2, 2003
referencing Public Energy No.1, 2x12", Album, NoMu54LP
ambient, dsp exploration meets wicked electro. as good for listening on headphones as it is for dancing in a club.
echunk

Speedy J - Public Energy No.1 as reviewed by echunk

May 14, 2002
referencing Public Energy No.1, CD, Album, NoMu54CD
A much harsher but ultimately more rewarding release than Ginger, Public Energy is Jochem Paap at his best. The distorted rhythmic textures and delicately underpinned with melody.

Not for the fans of chilled out atmospherics, but for the rest of us, this release is essential.