leonthepro

Death Grips - The Money Store as reviewed by leonthepro

November 29, 2019
edited 7 days ago
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1

Its almost like we are back in the 50s with this record, funnily enough.
Not music wise, but sound wise its very mono with much in the center and rarely utilizing the stereo image well.
Otherwise its decent with good balance. Its got bass and highs for sure although a bit lacking in some parts for the former.
It is cut somewhat quiet and even though cranking volume can be scary with these harsh sounds its not to be feared with how its tamed quite nicely. It is Death Grips though so bedtime music should be expected.
Vocals are nicely separated and present thankfully, but I feel like the soundstage lacks some depth overall.
The drums are an attempt at this but they just end up sounding really small instead of distant and that really is a shame.
Pressing wise its not the best either, with some low surface noise but worst being the clicks.
Again, it might not be too detrimental for this type of music so not a huge let down per se.

Equipment Used:
Rega RP1 with Paratrace tipped Nagaoka MP-200
Cyrus 2 Amplifier
System Fidelity SF-3050 Tower Speakers
Custom made HQ Speaker Cables
dentron

Death Grips - The Money Store as reviewed by dentron

June 22, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1

The bass is a bit shy on some tracks but that may have been a result of mastering (I can still get some good lows if I turn volume up so YMMV), although the mids/highs sound better than digital in my opinion. I recently got a sealed copy and my record was very dusty/dirty in the grooves, and it needed a good cleaning and it pretty much eliminated pops/clicks and improved the overall sound quality greatly. The extra lyrics sheet included and printed inner were pretty neat. Completely worth it for the prices you can still get new copies at right now.
Yellow_Moon

Death Grips - The Money Store as reviewed by Yellow_Moon

April 20, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1

This sounds pretty blegh honestly, best off downloading the unmastered FLAC
Yellow_Moon

Death Grips - The Money Store Yellow_Moon

May 1, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1

Im a dumbass and thought i was on NLDW's page when posting that
Jekse

Death Grips - The Money Store Jekse

April 25, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1
''Hmmm, whats your setup? Sounds really good on my end''
What are you smoking?
midnightrunner

Death Grips - The Money Store midnightrunner

February 13, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1
The front cover of this album gave me a torrid, raging erection, I had to hide it from my mam (the album AND the bulge in my trousers!!)
victim.in.pain

Death Grips - The Money Store victim.in.pain

February 11, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1
This record sounds like butt, Sick of these cheap cash grabby pressings! Better off dowloading this one.
kaxey

Death Grips - The Money Store kaxey

January 7, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1
lots of surface noise on get got, at least for my copy. sounds p good otherwise though.
Simmie

Death Grips - The Money Store as reviewed by Simmie

December 5, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1
I received my copy today and did a little comparison on my setup using a DAC to feed the unmastered FLAC to my amp. (AR-3A speakers, Sansui SR222 Mk3 w/ Jico stylus, and Yaqin MS20L amp)

Long story short the bass is shy on the LP compared to the FLAC which is disappointing.

It was noticeable on all tracks, especially, System Blower, and Punk Weight. The FLAC's low end was much more pronounced and sounded great, but when i'd switch to the LP feed i'd be a bit disappointed.

The LP's mids and highs were a bit clearer than the FLAC. Although I suspect that's more to do with the quality of my DAC.

If I didn't know how amazing the low end sounded on the unmastered FLAC I probably wouldn't be disappointed with the LP, but I do, so I am.

I also tested the LP on some Tannoy Revolution R3 floor speakers (played on a Rega Planar 3) and the bass was almost non-existent (note that those Tannoy's produce clear, well defined bass on other hip hop LPs I have.)

Having said all that, the LP sounds OK, i'm just disappointed after listening the FLAC and having the bass shake the room, because the LP definitely isn't doing that.
Thermospore

Death Grips - The Money Store Thermospore

March 30, 2019
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1

Too bad about the bass. Vinyl setups are all over the place in terms of EQ. So many variables. IMO an equalizer is a necessity (a mid/side EQ if possible). I bet with a bit of EQ the bass on your LP would sound the same as on FLAC (bar the increased prevalence of low end rumble / surface noise), unless the sub is actually straight up chopped off. Not too familiar with this album in detail; if there is sub in the side channels then it is likely rolled off more severely than in the center channel - this is where a M/S EQ comes in handy. I use an iZotope vst with M/S EQ matching to match records to FLAC when they are too out of line. It gets LPs impressively close to FLAC

Also (opinion alert) DAC/ADCs are overrated as hell IMO, I doubt it would take that nice of a DAC/ADC to be indistinguishable from a "high end" one in a double blind test. Also I bet a lot of "clarity" is just differences in EQ. I'm more than open to evidence to the contrary
chaoticpaper

Death Grips - The Money Store chaoticpaper

October 30, 2018
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, Ltd, Promo, RP, Bla, 221742740174
am looking for a hastings unstamped copy. long shot asking, but message me if you have one; will pay big bucks.
wyattec48

Death Grips - The Money Store wyattec48

October 13, 2018
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, Ltd, Promo, RP, Bla, 221742740174
up to 52 people. something tells me people arent reading the notes on this.
sonartoremember

Death Grips - The Money Store sonartoremember

August 29, 2018
referencing The Money Store, LP, Album, 88691963511, 88691963511 S1

I remember seeing a "The Money Store" Instrumental Vinyl Bootleg.
can anyone add it to the "Other Version" tab?
sonartoremember

Death Grips - The Money Store sonartoremember

August 23, 2018
referencing The Money Store, Cass, Album, none
email me at: officialpurpleclouds@gmailc.com or discord: autistm/cum #8910
like holy fuck rip my wallet
jonpasqual

Death Grips - The Money Store jonpasqual

April 23, 2018
referencing The Money Store, LP, Ltd, Num, RP, Bla, 221742740174

wow.. Prices jumped. I got signed copy of this (subtle brag)
arthurlurk

Death Grips - The Money Store arthurlurk

March 9, 2018
referencing The Money Store, LP, Ltd, Num, RP, Bla, 221742740174
Goddamn I remember these were selling for about $30 for a good while. The price got jacked up pretty damn high.
android2k3

Death Grips - The Money Store android2k3

August 12, 2017
referencing The Money Store, Cass, Album, none
like at this point just either make your own tape, or buy from orm