OrthodoxCandlegoat

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth OrthodoxCandlegoat

December 27, 2014
referencing With Teeth, 2xLP, Album, B0004553-01
Although I know it's little comfort due to the superiority of the vinyl format and all, the dualdisc CD/DVD release of the album actually has the album in 24-bit, 96khz stereo, and 24-bit, 48khz 5.1 surround, if it's just the higher-quality audio you're looking for.
Rintarou

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth Rintarou

October 18, 2014
referencing With Teeth, 2xLP, Album, B0004553-01
You're far from the only one. :/
Angel_Vampiro

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth Angel_Vampiro

September 20, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390

I won't enter into any discussion with anybody. Just want to give my honest opinion to the general public an NIN fans alike.

I think this production is a bit step forward into Trent Reznor' music composing. Yes, there are some weak compositions. Also, there are other ones very much alike what NIN is right now, and was then, before With Teeth. The opening track is a weak one, but, You know what you are?, The Collector, are perfect NIN aggressive approach to music. Even, The Hands that Feeds, Everyday is Exactly the Same and Only (sounds kind of commercial) are great tracks, in my opinion. Then, will keep on that aggressiveness with, Love is Not Enough, Getting Smaller, The Line Begins To Blur (this one sounds more like some music composed on The Fragile era). Need to point that all Dave Grohl Drums [Live] parts, were very good, to great, as so was Jereome Dillon' ones. The 2 closing tracks are not good enough for my taste. But, the extra track, the perfect one to close this With Teeth version, Home, is not musically that complicated, but I love it and, Jerome Dillon, did an excellent job on his drum parts, stands out, like a fist on your face, and Trent Reznor, adding his electric bass and guitar parts, plus a bit of [drone] treatments, makes this composition a perfect one. So, as a whole, it is not a perfect NIN album, but for those tracks mentioned above, it's worth investing on the, With Teeth [Limited Tour Edition] CD.
jpl1976

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth as reviewed by jpl1976

December 18, 2009
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, UICS-1095
The best version of this album is the Japanese version as it has ALL the additional songs on it(Home, Right Where It Belongs V.2 and The Hand That Feeds (Ruff Mix)). I really think that this is one of the things that set Trent off in regards to his albums, the fact that Interscope was jerking around his fans and releasing so many variations.
realmdemagic

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth as reviewed by realmdemagic

December 31, 2007
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, UICS-1095

A very good release. This is a more stripped down, almost radio friendly approach to Nine Inch Nails. Again, Trent is avoiding repetition, which is a good thing. This has some of Trent's Best songs (The Hand That Feeds, All the Love in the World, Right Where It Belongs) but overall is not one of his best albums. This one is better than Broken in my opinion, but inferior to the rest. It does have some interesting gems such "The Line Begins To Blur" and "Beside You In Time." The vinyl version also includes "Home" which is better than some of the tracks on the CD version. Vinyl folks out there-get this on LP instead. Not the best, but a great effort nonetheless! 4/5
ibbjamin

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth as reviewed by ibbjamin

April 6, 2006
edited over 8 years ago
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390

This is the most dissapointing album I have ever heard in my entire life. I actually anticipated the album a lot because NIN is THE most influential music in my life. After hearing The Hand That Feeds on the radio a few times prior to its release, I did not completely lose my hopes; the radio usually features some of the worst songs from some of the best albums. After burning an advance copy illegally, with the plan to purchase the album upon its release, I quickly learned that The Hand That Feeds truly is one of the better tracks on the album. After one listen, I literally threw the CD away and lost a lot of respect for Trent Reznor. I cannot say I have completely lost respect for NIN because his earlier work is some of the best music ever made. I just think that it would have been a better career move to stop making music than to do like Metallica did and start making horrible music.
makisgroove

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth makisgroove

April 3, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390
Your opinion sounds strange to me. WITH TEETH (8/10) is not DOWNWARD SPIRAL (10/10). But for me is a TOP ALBUM! Also, YEAR ZERO is worst for me (6/10). Tastes, tastes, tastes always tastes.......
ibbjamin

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth ibbjamin

November 30, 2010
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390

I would be a terrible therapist, you are correct. I wrote this shortly after listening and may have come off a bit harsh. It actually was a joke with the drugs and torment part; I have deleted my misinterpretation. I agree with you; his life is important. He is a musician and was born to be one. As soon as he stops making good music, which he has, then I don't really have a reason to listen anymore. If his change in formula was good, I would still like his music. Unfortunately this is not the case. If you still like the watered down crap he's putting out, then great, more power to you. I wish I could get off on crappy music, but I cannot, so my search for good will continue.
tibbar

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth tibbar

November 29, 2010
edited over 6 years ago
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390
redacted
enfantterrible

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth as reviewed by enfantterrible

April 2, 2006
edited over 13 years ago
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390

Think about it: "With teeth" suggest a projection of agressiveness and solid musical stand but that in reality miserably fails into a weaker/brainless pop tentative.
I will thwart that title with a pity euphemism: Toothless.
History has shown that theres indeed some weakening impulse on bands in through the years and an urge to create more "compatible" musical material for audience in order to emancipate their will of profit that will sustain their well accustomed burgueois lifestyles.
Metallica is a clear spot followed by NIN. Bands with a name and a style, even with some kind of "ideology" (metallica probably more) that promptly got dissolved into the futile, insipid, uninspired radio chart, global radio style and the tempting proximity of the crowds.
NIN doesnt pretend to be "industrial" anymore, he shows his real face, the real depth that always had. The bones are visible and all the leather and the spikes are out. And we can see an skelleton made with marshmellows, not even bones.
The opening song was intended to be a radio hit. alternative sounding, funky and disco rythm. originality or brilliant idea? you tell me!. then we find a song after song of common coarsed pop with some NIN typical sounds, a mouse making noises behind the pop structure. yeah he needs to remind yourself what he used to be...with some noises.
the last two songs reminds a bit of "the fragile" but completely lacks any strong emotion or even some accent of honesty. songs for closing a weak album? yeah we have some.
why dont we try what we did before?
The future of NIN is probably clear. Trent using Hilfinger sweaters for advertising, singing in duo with Madonna on stage, making more videos for MTV and "mixing influences" with some unknown latin band in order to "recreate" his career.
Whereas there was a "mastermind" here it is necessary to ask ourselves: to where he left? at least where his "industrial pop" music is it?
nothing... toothless.
Comformity and setback way to go!
nickwinters

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth nickwinters

December 13, 2015
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390
Good gosh. What's the real problem? The artist has to repeat himself ad nauseum? Your complaint might hold more water if TR was doing what you say. But as well as any more commercial sounding music he's also generating moody ambient stuff clearly not written fro the masses. Have to disagree that the artist is being obvious or selling out or phoning it in. I don't have time for it all but the good stuff is magical.
Dan_Akira

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth as reviewed by Dan_Akira

May 29, 2005
edited over 14 years ago
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390
While this album is definately on a softer note compared to past NIN releases, I personally feel that it is still a very solid album from the genius that is Trent Reznor.

Immediately tracks that stand out include The Line Begins to Blur, Love is not Enough and yes, even The Hand That Feeds (with moments that hark back to Prett Hate Machine).
I will admit that some tracks (Only being the main one) caused me to think that Trent had gone Electroclash, but on the whole this album comes across as big success.

Definately worth the money of any NIN fan.
deejsasqui

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth as reviewed by deejsasqui

May 28, 2005
edited over 14 years ago
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390
Perhaps Trent is getting older (when wearing a black sweater in past photo shoots, he has looked rather like a soccer mom), or perhaps the substance abuse has caught up with him. Or perhaps he just listened to the radio a bit too much and his brain's gone soft, but this is the most "pop" NIN album, and not in a good way. The industrial edge of earlier work is gone. He sings a lovely falsetto, has harmonizing vocals, and includes a tambourine, and that's only the first track. I could almost see people clapping along and swaying rhythmically in some stadium, wearing the shirt they just bought, and a notable lack of spikes or leather.

But I like that song, especially when compared to the boring, repetitive vocals on the following tracks. "The Hand That Feeds", the first radio track, which has all the pointy industrial edges softened for mass consumption. "Only" starts with what I could only call a nu-disco beat, and is joined by a funky bass line. Yes, funky. And instead of screaming and spitting teeth, or whispering his dark dreams to us, he speaks, and he reminds me of Ben Folds for some reason. But Ben is fun, and Trent is supposed to be a bit scary. Even when he does scream some obscenities, I'm just thinking of Ben Folds on a bad day, an alternative rocker gone a bit dark, perhaps with an ex-metal band as the new guitarist.

Only on the last two tracks really appease me. Mind you, these aren't filled with the vitriol and rusty barbs that used to rend my ears, but they're the slightly spooky quiet tracks. Perhaps Trent is only a specter of the past monster he played, or perhaps that costume no longer fits.
nickwinters

Nine Inch Nails - With Teeth nickwinters

December 13, 2015
referencing With Teeth, CD, Album, Dig, 0602498814390
For me the real problem is the weak material.