USKD_Duke_Decter

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music as reviewed by USKD_Duke_Decter

August 9, 2020
edited 3 months ago
referencing Metal Machine Music, 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music

Many people have different stories about this double album. Usually folks say it was an act of rebellion by Lou Reed against his record label to fulfill his recording contract and be released from the company. However, by the amount of promotion this record did actually receive, I like to think that shitty stupid junkie Lou Reed actually thought he made a brilliant recording, and the record label (RCA), was stupid enough to believe he was right. Record label executives are notoriously idiotic. 

In the end, it was one of the worst-selling double albums of all time. Apparently most people don’t enjoy unlistenable background noise, let alone when they pay for it. Go figure.

While it’s a safe bet to determine that heroin junkies are not brilliant people, I believe this is an exceptional moment, as I do love this record, and hereby declare it the best thing Lou Reed ever did. I have no explanation for this, other than I enjoy strange things, even when they come in the form of a double album of feedback noise without one single song. However, most people would say this record is un-listenable before even completing side one, and then will get actually mad when they discover all four sides are the same.

It was given to my good friend Phil by his son as a birthday present (pretty good), but eventually Phil got a better copy so he gave me this one. One of the records is warped so the first 5 minutes is unplayable, and the other has a skip/scratch in it. None of this will dissuade me, as it only forces me to engage the record even more when I listen.

You may think you’re brilliant, Lou Reed, but I know you’re no more than every other shitty junkie that calls themselves an “artist” to justify why they’re about to shoot up again. For this one fleeting moment, you did stumble upon brilliance (if you even remember)

U.S.K.D.D.
08.10.2020
Aaron_Martin_Peg

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music Aaron_Martin_Peg

March 1, 2020
referencing Metal Machine Music, 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Love how so many sellers describe the media condition with the words ‘looks barely played’. Is that so...?!!😊
will333

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) will333

May 8, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
My copy is a tan label promotional copy stamped "Not for sale. Promo copy". Not listed here on Discogs. Anyone else have a copy?
mindluge

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) mindluge

August 8, 2020
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
yes, i have the same one. the inner labels aren't any different. just promo stamped on outside.
worthywads

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) worthywads

April 14, 2020
edited 7 months ago
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
I've have that one, but it's unopened, gonna stay that way so I can't comment on label.
mikkris

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) mikkris

August 9, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Got a US version with labels in same colur as the Canadian pressing. Can't find it on discogs.
Billy_K

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) as reviewed by Billy_K

June 12, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Beautiful and (for the time, for an artist with a semblance of a 'pop' career) conceptually daring. That said, RCA records showed tremendous faith in the product, with a great deal of pre-oil crisis largesse lavished on the release. For example, four sides of gatefold sleeved vinyl and an 8-track (did anyone blast this on their car stereo?). This recording was clearly only ever going to enjoy 'selective appeal'. Those of us who love it dear aren't fools. If you want Transformer 2 you'll be miffed. If the listener is to modify their expectations, however, the rewards are abundant. This is an extreme electric LP, revelling in amplification and feedback. With decades of ambient and experimental music behind us, this doesn't seem so outlandish. I love melody, symphonic music, well constructed songs, but I also relish pure sound, randomness, chance, patterns. I listen to recordings of white noise, rainfall, waterfalls and hair dryers for relaxation and pleasure - you probably do too. The notion that this music is intrinsically abrasive isn't necessarily set in stone. As formless as water, you can dive in for as long as you can take at any point and take what you get. I appreciate the need for 'Noise Music' as a generic category, but to me it is a contradiction in terms. When we place it in context, Noise becomes musical, we appreciate it for it's tonal qualities, it's hypnotic effects, whereas the most conventionally musical sounds can become excrutiatingly irritating Noise when we are subjected to it incessantly and against our will. If nothing else, this is an earworm of another kind entirely, burrowing down into the bedrock of one's psyche, and acting as a kind of purgative to whatever concoctions bend one out of shape.
cosechehoimparato

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) cosechehoimparato

May 2, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Hello everybody, I need your precious help for a book I'm writing.
Does anybody know when MMM was actually *recorded* (month and year will be enough)?
I know it was published in July 1975, but it would be very helpful to know when Reed recorded it in his Manhattan loft.
Was it still 1974? Early 1975?
I'll be very grateful to anyone who can clear this out for me.
Regards and thank you very much.
Enrico, Milano
Ilovewastingmymoney

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) Ilovewastingmymoney

November 20, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Sometime between March of 1975 and July of 1975. He recorded the album in his loft alone so there are no studio recording dates for it. RCA was hounding him to put out another record after Lou reed Live which came out in March and he made metal machine music as a response to it. Spring of 1975 is the closest you are going to get to the actual date. That's as close as I could get to an actual date from arguably his best biography Lou Reed: A Life By Anthony DeCurtis
Xopher.tm

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music Xopher.tm

January 25, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music, 2xLP, Album, Quad, CPD2-1101
My copy is stamped, upper front cover "PROMO ONLY. Not For Sale."
worthywads

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music worthywads

October 5, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music, 2xLP, Album, Quad, CPD2-1101
I have a sealed version with the PROMO ONLY Not For Sale.
gauze

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music gauze

April 27, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music, 2xLP, Album, Quad, CPD2-1101
mine too. I bet there are more promo copies than sold copes haha.
fastcar800

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) fastcar800

December 18, 2017
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
My version is the same as this, but it doesn't end in a locked groove, even though the side D label says "16:01 or ∞". Anyone else have this?
cyfisovietspy

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) cyfisovietspy

May 21, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Same here. My copy doesn't have the locked groove at the end of side D.
ThanosF

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) ThanosF

December 10, 2017
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
It's missing from the comments here so I'll just add this up: MMM is the how experimental noise music was born. A far out experiment that opened the box of Pandora for many artists. That it was made by Lou Reed it just makes it all that more obscene. Respect, Lou.
josephhkyle

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) josephhkyle

October 28, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Karlheinz Stockhausen, Igor Stravinsky, John Cage, and Edgard Varese just LOL'ed.
sunset123

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) sunset123

January 11, 2018
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
I thought experimental noise music was invented before Lou was born
Mark5W8C

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) Mark5W8C

July 4, 2016
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Amazing... If this LP were scratched beyond belief it wouldn't sound any different...
Booj1Boy

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) as reviewed by Booj1Boy

May 23, 2016
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
The musical equivalent of the middle finger, this album should be looked at not as a collection of four music tracks, but as conceptual art piece of a legendary attempt at career suicide, and a giant "F**k you" to RCA.
Trying to find any sort of meaning in this album is fruitless, and you'd be missing the joke.

what/5
dsyn2spin

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) as reviewed by dsyn2spin

March 18, 2016
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
A lot of you may not be aware that there have been a few new style tags that Discogs
had added to the electronic genre drop down menu. The one that I bring up here is
called "HNW" (harsh noise wall). Now I have been listening to various kinds of
"experimental noise" music's for quite some time, but HNW was and still is
something which i'm not at all familiar with. In fact I can not even cite a single artist
or group who is known to be associated with, or produce material that can
qualify as true HNR. I know i've heard some of it just by chance but so far
I have not been able to identify anything in particular. I'm not even sure
where i'm trying to go with all this jibber-jabber?... Oh yeah now I recall,
"Metal Machine Music" has got to be the original grandfather of all HNW
(music/ definitely not musical) You gotta hand it to Lou for always managing
to arrive in bold fashion to preemptively define himself a conceptual vanguard
years before the current standards of cool had fully taken shape. Everything
about "MMM" seems proto bad ass, and on a visual level it almost seems
to convey a promise that is aesthetically too well crafted. for the content
it falsely represents. The end result is that it totally succeeds on one
level, while failing quite dismally on another. It's a landmark piece of
artistic terrorism which was never intended to be listenable to any
real degree. Over the years I have tried listening to "MMM" on several
occasions to see it I could "get it" but I never make it more than a
couple minutes in before I pick up the needle again. it''s quite
literally one of the most annoyingly harsh records of all time.
Even harsh noise wall HNW is going to be holding a candle
to "MMM" when it comes time to crown the the harshest of the harsh.
bernardrone

Lou Reed - Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring) bernardrone

April 29, 2016
referencing Metal Machine Music (The Amine β Ring), 2xLP, Album, Gat, CPL2-1101
Metal Machine Music doesn't have much to do with HNW (lots of evolutions and changes in Lou Reed's album) but it is more or less the first "modern noise" album made (in opposition to russolo's music for example), so it is the grandfather of all noise music and perhaps of harsh noise (and so by very far it is linked to hnw). HNW are walls of noise (monoliths, no evolution or change). If you want to get into it, Vomir is the most extreme HNW maker; other artists are Richard Ramirez (Werewolf Jerusalem), Tourette, The Rita and loads of others I don't know about.