ww23

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis ww23

January 12, 2019
referencing Anastasis, CD, Album, PIASR311CDX, 945.U311.022
superb singing (Brendan especially) and lyrics; sounds like Brendan Perry "Ark" era solo vibe plus some stuff for Lisa thrown in.
ivoguy

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis ivoguy

December 2, 2018
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASA55LP
Yes, I have the double clear vinyl lp version, and it's always been noisy. Avoid.
doomborn

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis doomborn

November 30, 2018
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Crackling mentioned is very light on my copy. Doesn't effect the listening experience at all.
amigarobbo

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis amigarobbo

May 2, 2018
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
My copy didn't have a download card, is that normal or is it just me that PIAS have cheated?
Lautreamont

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis Lautreamont

February 19, 2018
edited 6 months ago
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
I found the bass on the clear and green vinyl pressings to be bloated and not pleasant to my ears. Clarity also seems a bit muffled. Is the black vinyl pressing more of the same?
r.goszczycki

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis r.goszczycki

December 7, 2018
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
No, the black version of 2016 has less bass and is tonally different from the original transparent vinyl, it is slightly thinner musically.
SJP8

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis SJP8

December 2, 2017
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
I found a new copy of this today and just cleared through B1, absolutely pristine through this point. I'd expect nothing less from the rest.
Butterman

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis as reviewed by Butterman

November 7, 2017
referencing Anastasis, CD, Album, PIASR311CDX, 945.U311.022
Having been a fan of the band since 1988's "The Serpent's Egg", I have always prefered their post-"Spleen And Ideal" sound, and have followed their proggress until after their "Into The Labyrinth" release, at which point I was reaching a different phase of musical research.

Upon my first listening of "Anastasis" a few years after its original release, I did notice a few things:

1) The production was much more lush than their previous "Spiritchaser" which was always a bit hit-or-miss for me, and seemed to echo that of "Into The Labyrinth".
2) The song writing seemed more straight-forward than some of their previous efforts which at times managed to explore less-linear song structures.

That being said, when I first listened to "Anastasis" I was instantly brought back to those late 80s and early 90s days when I was a fully dedicated DCD follower, and couldn't help but feel as though this was a return to their mid-period sound. Although (as it is the case with most DCD material unfortunately) most of the songs here have that distinct "recognizable" and "easy to predict" nature (see the review by A-day from January 29 2016), it is essentially a DCD record worthy of their name, and should appeal to fans (generally speaking) both old and new.

... and everytime I hear "Children Of The Sun" and "Agape" I feel like throwing all my intruments away, knowing I could never reach that level is sheer magnificience in production and songwriting.
vamosadelante

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis as reviewed by vamosadelante

August 20, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
This comment was added as a note to the edition by submitter streppe, I removed it and added it as a review:
"A good deal of the edition has been reported to feature pressing faults (unremovable crackling/static noise), particularly on track B2 but also throughout other tracks. What percentage of the pressing is concerned or if the same applies to the US edition, is currently unknown."
Eran.Dax.Lonker

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis Eran.Dax.Lonker

August 1, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Awesome sounding vinyl release. I'm very impressed - completely different (more powerful) in comparison to the digital release.
Vattenpuss

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis Vattenpuss

July 28, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASA55LP
I have the same experience with this. I tried 2 sealed copies with the same bad pressing. I went for black vinyl version instead.
patientot

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis as reviewed by patientot

May 7, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
My copy was purchased in the USA and is on green vinyl, appears to be a European pressing. At any rate, other than some very, very light crackle and pop on B2, my copy is fine.
rtv207

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis rtv207

April 21, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Cristal clear and awesome bass, no pops/cracks, super good pressing (EU, the Netherlands).
zoli79

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis zoli79

February 22, 2018
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012

How can you tell it was pressed in the Netherlands?
dead-end

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis dead-end

April 20, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
As well... US RSD green vinyl pressing is A+. Sounding great. No pops/crackle noticed.
psychedelicasexualis

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis psychedelicasexualis

April 17, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Beautiful recording. As good if not better than their earlier works. This is a seamless blend of exquisite instrumentals, vocals and harmony. Timeless and classic!
dr_mercury

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis dr_mercury

April 17, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Can confirm that my RSD release on green vinyl plays clean throughout as well. And as Anduine mentioned below, the bass response really is excellent on this! Awesome pressing!
anduine

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis as reviewed by anduine

April 16, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012

My copy of the RSD release on green vinyl please clean throughout. Exceptional bass response.
zephyrsky

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis zephyrsky

April 21, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Thirding this the quality on the RSD release. Absolutely clean throughout and Sounds AMAZING.
anduine

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis anduine

April 16, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, RE, Gre, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012

anduine
My copy of the RSD release on green vinyl please clean throughout. Exceptional bass response.

*Please = Plays.... Sorry about the typo.
A-day

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis A-day

January 29, 2016
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Very very disapointed by this album. DCD imo felt into facility... it's a kind of concentrate of the worst Perry and Gerrard did in their solo carreer. The first time i listened to this album i was able to guess what will be played part after part. I'm not an adept of "it was better before" but here i'm afraid it's true.
doomborn

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis doomborn

November 30, 2018
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
I really don't know what you expected. In my opinion DCD never released a bad album. This is no exception. And all their albums are different. Is it their best. No. Is it good? Absolutely.
zibnik

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis zibnik

February 13, 2017
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Yeah, exactly what i was thinking. A-day said it all.
Eran.Dax.Lonker

Dead Can Dance - Anastasis Eran.Dax.Lonker

August 1, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Anastasis, 2xLP, Album, Cle, PIASR311DLP, 945.U311.012
Probably it's a "song-album" - a bit less conceptional. every songs stand more for itself but most are so wonderful. DCD released worse albums in the past and better albums. but imho it's a great album after such a long break and it's just fantastic that DCD had a comback in general. Let's hope for another new album!