paul.hobbs

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP as reviewed by paul.hobbs

December 5, 2021
edited 6 months ago
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

When looking back at "The Bells", I think it's worth adding some context. The Bells was officially released in 1997, however, Mills had been playing the track in his sets since 1995, this is evident on the Liquid Rooms mix (1995) and the Moving Beats Volume 2 mix (1996). I remember Mills playing The Bells at a number of events during that period and on each occasion the crowd would go wild. I can't say for sure if at that time anyone actually knew the track title, I certainly didn't. I think that due to the crowd's reaction to the track it finally got released. A number of his test pressing from that time didn't get released. So, for me the popularity of the track was decided by the crowd long before it was an official release. I also think that if he was really trying to capitalise from the track, wouldn't he have released it as The Bells EP, with a hype sticker "As featured on...". It's also worth pointing out that Mills created the Purpose Maker label to release more dance floor focused tracks instead of Axis which was for his more experimental material.
djcaspa

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP as reviewed by djcaspa

January 5, 2022
edited 5 months ago
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

Spot on, pretty sure I first heard it at Lost at the Vox in Brixton in 1994, so on test press, possibly even acetate. Him, Steve Bicknell (natch!), Robert Hood and DJ HMC DJ'ing that night. He was definitely caning The Bells in 1995, for sure!
Latiif

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP as reviewed by Latiif

October 13, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
who just paid 261 € for this record? classic, yes. but 261,- EURO!?
Thecreatorre

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP Thecreatorre

July 13, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

OMG "The Bells" is a rockning monster track. Jeff Mills is one of the greatest techno artist ever!
SirRob

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP as reviewed by SirRob

October 19, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

Yes he is the king of techno! After many years still the reference class for all the others in this genre!
Butane_Bob

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP Butane_Bob

June 4, 2021
edited 12 months ago
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
A product of its time. Mills has been coasting on the success of "the bells" since before this EP even came out. zzzzzzz
gmos

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP as reviewed by gmos

November 5, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

Coasting? He's released about 30 albums and many many more EPs/singles since this EP came out, constantly evolving his sound. I mean, if you don't like his music, that's fine, each to their own, but coasting?
Typ237

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP Typ237

November 5, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
That sounds like time travel to me, how would someone milk the success of something before it has come out?
coiatony2

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP as reviewed by coiatony2

April 8, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
Just sensational loved that man loved those times. Absolute legend
spectre3000

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP spectre3000

January 30, 2021
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
This will probably upset a lot of people but I used to really like The Bells until it was played to death, when I hear it in a mix now I always fast forward. Probably the most over played and over rated track in techno!!!
sethson

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP as reviewed by sethson

January 5, 2022
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
I think that The bells can be mixed in a tribal context, it is not enough to put it so much with music from now, maybe it will be disconcerted if they put it with tracks from now with another mastering, another sound. Regarding that you got tired, the same thing happens to me, but it does not mean that it is worth listening to until you know each instrument by heart. Imagine Jeff being asked to wear it at every party at contract level surely.
roguetrader101

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP roguetrader101

August 7, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
twas fresh at the time but quickly became massively overplayed and now sounds very dated...

Jeff was 'the man' for a good 10 years but all his recent conceptual, orchestral shit leaves me cold - in fact I recently heard The Bells played by a full orchestra, it was as bad and pompous as you would think !

those DJ sets though ? late 90's 3 dex and a 909 - some of the musical highlights of my life..
magssellingmusic

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP magssellingmusic

February 28, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
Every genre has to have it's anthems mate. I don't like a lot of hard techno as it's just dark, pounding noise to my ears but 'The Bells' has melody and is a real earworm that gets inside your head.
I understand what you are saying, you can get sick of hearing a tune too much but at the right moment in a set, I bet you would still play this and nothing else would make the moment as special.
djcaspa

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP djcaspa

February 14, 2021
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

It's a stone cold classic, man. Not Jeff's fault how much it got played. This was in my box for years, everywhere I went. Never failed.
mheola1981

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP mheola1981

January 24, 2020
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

what do you think about the quality of the press? I just bought a copy and it is sounding very low and terrible
mheola1981

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP mheola1981

October 20, 2020
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

So...I bought another copy, it has shiny nice labels and pressign is cool, sounding is cool. Looks like my previous copy was a cut of athe digital version...maybe an unofficial...
DJRW

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP DJRW

May 17, 2020
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
Mine is also not perfect. Must state that I've played it maaaany times in the 90's but the mastering was not very well, some distortion.
The label on my copy is fine though. Smooth silk shiny and deep in colour (well gold/black).
mheola1981

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP mheola1981

May 13, 2020
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

even the label itself is like a printed A4 paper...not that shiny one
mheola1981

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP mheola1981

May 13, 2020
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

looks hardly played, minimum qty of hairline scratches ... well looked after record that is sure... i am 90% sure the pressing is bad... or simeone cut it from files..maybe
colintraveller

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP colintraveller

May 13, 2020
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
Maybe you're copy had been played to death ,,, Was you're copy brand spanking new when you bought it ??
HellBazZ_Davy

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP HellBazZ_Davy

December 8, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

Quite a lot of reviews and comments on this one, and deservedly so! This record seems to please and unite electronic music fans from all the different subgenres! Bangin' hard for the lovers of hardcore and hardstyle, subconsciously trippy for the fans of trance and sufficiently hypnotic for the techno fans!
Rich.C

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP Rich.C

August 5, 2019
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002

Picked this up for a £1 the other day, well happy, the bells is a quality bit of techno but the other tracks are awesome aswell, at a time when you didnt even have to listen to a jeff mills track to know it was going to be awesome!
John_Galbraith

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP John_Galbraith

April 3, 2019
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
The Bells ... awesome. Can't believe I had this for so many years and never even appreciated it. Would prefer playing stupid Happy Hardcore records instead when this gem was in the collection, untouched the whole time.
MrMaximal

Jeff Mills - Kat Moda EP MrMaximal

April 11, 2019
referencing Kat Moda EP, 12", EP, Gol, PM-002
Never too late to come clean bro. Guilty myself of the same thing.