ELITE_MUSIC

Herbie Hancock - Sextant as reviewed by ELITE_MUSIC

February 3, 2019
referencing Sextant, LP, Album, KC 32212
Three years after MILES & Co. spilled the BITCHES BREW all over the unsuspecting Elton John/Led Zeppelin/Streisand-listening planet, Master Hancock's "SEXTANT" is a logical and fitting follow-up. Nothing more to add to the already numerous superlatives and well-deserved accolades. *Except:

DR. PATRICK GLEESON, baby! The man got Herbie hooked on analog synths! A few years later, hear Gleeson all over the Coppolas' "APOCALYPSE NOW!" movie soundtrack, and "STAR WARS", too! Hey, Different Fur studios on 19th and Valencia, in SF's Mission District! Gleeson's first appearance on record with Herbie Hancock was "CROSSINGS", then followed up with more work with HEADHUNTER Bennie Maupin, Julian Priester, RETURN TO FOREVER's Lennie White, etc.; even on DEVO's "Are We Not Men?" (1978!), and MEAT BEAT MANIFESTO in the mid-'90s!!
Gleeson was recently interviewed on NPR (radio) for his longtime/current work on environmental recordings and preserving natural sounds/ambience essential for the survival of endangered species (I don't think NPR really knew the history of this electronic genius!) ...
P_Hangman

Herbie Hancock - Sextant as reviewed by P_Hangman

February 20, 2013
referencing Sextant, LP, Album, C 32212
Just amazing! Its begins with twisted electronic dance-like music, then flows into a hard cosmic funk and then gets to the top with pure african dissonation. The best record from Mwandishi (And the last one, that's a shame). Hancock's avant-garde side.
sawa37

Herbie Hancock - Sextant sawa37

February 18, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Sextant, LP, Album, KC 32212
.
fastskillfulinjured

Herbie Hancock - Sextant fastskillfulinjured

January 11, 2013
referencing Sextant, CD, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, Pap, SRCS 9338

A non-mini l.p. variant of this release exists, (standard jewel case issue) in the same Master Sound series. Using the same cat no. and with the same price/release date. Obi info is slightly different. Should this variant be added to master release?
Boy_Wonder

Herbie Hancock - Sextant Boy_Wonder

August 29, 2015
referencing Sextant, CD, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, Pap, SRCS 9338
I have that release. I was wondering if it is the Remaster used on Columbia Legacy CK 64983 released a year later?
GalaxyExplorer

Herbie Hancock - Sextant as reviewed by GalaxyExplorer

September 12, 2012
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Sextant, LP, Album, C 32212

Sextant has always been one of Hancock's most challenging and difficult records for me. I'm never able to come to my own consensus on it; can't decide whether I like it or not. As a diehard Herbie fan, I suppose that demonstrates how raw and unpredictable this music is. But I do know that something keeps me coming back, and at this minute, I'm loving it. A previous review compared it to Bitches Brew, and I think that's a good comparison. It's out there, and it takes considerable effort to dig through it, but there are some serious musical rewards in doing so.

Obviously the accountants at Columbia Records did not like it, which is why the very commercial (though still spectacular) Head Hunters followed.
rgbbyrch

Herbie Hancock - Sextant rgbbyrch

June 30, 2016
referencing Sextant, LP, Album, C 32212
Interesting... it was my introduction to Herbie Hancock, and when I first picked it up randomly it instantly blew my mind.
cvoltaire02

Herbie Hancock - Sextant as reviewed by cvoltaire02

December 18, 2003
referencing Sextant, CD, Album, RE, RM, CK 64983, 64983-S1

Over ten years before 'Rockit' hit the shelves, and was subsequently played to death on the airwaves, this multi-talented monster of jazz was already producing sprawling electro-jazz masterpieces. 'Sextant' was one of the more intricate of the releases Hancock produced during his highly creative 'Mwandishi' period (1970-1973).

The opening track 'Rain Dance' is the most electronic-sounding and probably the most unconventional of the three tracks on the album. Dr. Patrick Gleeson provides some of the synthwork, most notably a looped synth 'bloop, bloop' that runs and snakes its way through the loose free jazz-funk workouts. The other two tracks lean towards a more regulated style, but are still comparatively loose in form.

Unlike many experimental jazz/fusion releases that came out in the early-70s, there is a definite electronic presence in this album that makes it as much an electronic release as it is an avant-garde/jazz one. Save for the previous 'Crossings' release, this is probably one of the most original recordings Hancock has released. Should be a hit with the electro-kids too!
Stuart_Judd

Herbie Hancock - Sextant as reviewed by Stuart_Judd

January 7, 2003
referencing Sextant, LP, Album, C 32212

This album is the last of Hancock's 'cosmic' CDs and follows on from "Crossings" and takes the angular funk of "Bitches Brew" and adds electronics from Dr Patrick Gleeson & heavily modified Fender Rhodes to take it 'out there'. The standout track for me is "Rain Dance" with its strange rhythmic pulse juxtaposed with a jazzy vamp in the middle. The next track, "Hidden Shadows", must be the only time a Mellotron makes it onto a jazz album.

IMHO, this CD is a must have.

Herbie Hancock - Sextant as reviewed by

April 14, 2002
referencing Sextant, LP, Album, C 32212
fucking wicked record, been ripped off by global communications to mention but one. very mad stuff, equals bitches brew by miles davis easily. good stoner record