Hazim.Sabanovic

Roger Waters - Amused To Death as reviewed by Hazim.Sabanovic

March 16, 2019
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, AAPP 468761, 88875075471

Fairly good issue, but I have expected more. I used to have this album on a CD ever since it came out in the nineties, one of my dearest albums in collection. Now for the first time I have heard it on vinyl - far better sound than CD, it is more dynamic, very smooth and warm. However, at the price I paid, I would like it to be cleaner, with less cracks and noise. I will have to try and wash it, then I might edit this review. In any case, anyone who loves Roger Waters, this album is a must have, but it is worth considering other re-issues, I heard there is a 45 RPM version in the pipeline.
Kuba86

Roger Waters - Amused To Death Kuba86

February 8, 2019
referencing Amused To Death, CD, Album, SRCS 5913
Anyone knows if this is the same mastering as western discs?
ldgendt

Roger Waters - Amused To Death ldgendt

November 25, 2018
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, AAPP 468761, 88875075471
There seem to be both an Analogue Productions as a very similar Sony version. Only difference is the material of the sleeve and the finishing (shiny glossy <> less glossy) + a Analogue Productions Booklet in the AP version
info on: http://www.superdeluxeedition.com/feature/spot-the-difference-amused-to-death-rival-vinyl-pressings/#more-115975
rupert_lysol

Roger Waters - Amused To Death rupert_lysol

August 25, 2018
edited 7 months ago
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, 468761 0
Why you'd want this album on vinyl is beyond me. It was recorded to utilize the superior dynamic range of compact discs and you will never get that out of vinyl. Sorry, love vinyl but also know its limitations...
drgn238

Roger Waters - Amused To Death as reviewed by drgn238

June 27, 2018
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, AAPP 468761, 88875075471
No ( colur ) booklet ! No embossed front cover ! Gatefold ( original was a single cover ), so when you open it
there's songs" texst all over it, which looks s....y!
This way costs are definitely minimized and it's soundwise not as same as original was, i.e. instrument passages missing.
Well, it's cheaper to get then Original.

So...now you know it.
markimarkftm

Roger Waters - Amused To Death markimarkftm

April 1, 2018
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, 468761 0
What is the value of a good NM fake, any suggestions anyone?
Fishman313

Roger Waters - Amused To Death Fishman313

April 4, 2019
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, 468761 0
$0, and every day that passes it becomes less and less.
Sergio2401

Roger Waters - Amused To Death as reviewed by Sergio2401

December 13, 2017
referencing Amused To Death, CD, Album, CK 47127
This Pitman's edition was made in 1994, but sound better then Sony DADC Austria(1992)!
timsonghurst

Roger Waters - Amused To Death timsonghurst

November 22, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, AAPP 468761, 88875075471
A lot of the album has been changed. Some of Jeff Beck's guitar had been removed, why ?????. Disappointed, although the pressing is top notch.
zoddo7

Roger Waters - Amused To Death zoddo7

May 20, 2018
edited 11 months ago
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, AAPP 468761, 88875075471
Are you sure? What version did you compare to? Maybe the 5.1 sacd has some changes, but also the vinyl?
d.hubbins

Roger Waters - Amused To Death as reviewed by d.hubbins

October 29, 2017
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, APP 468761, 888430905818, 88843090518
Brilliant sounding pressing. But! Does anyone else have an issue with your automatic turntables not picking up the needle at the end of every side of this pressing?
EricLeRouge

Roger Waters - Amused To Death as reviewed by EricLeRouge

October 8, 2017
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, AAPP 468761, 88875075471

Purchased new, my copy of this record was perfect as far as pressing and surface noise go. One of the best sounding records I have heard on vinyl (the music is anyone's taste, I think it's very much in the vein of The Wall, and I enjoy it very much on this LP). Anyway, fantastic sonics, great reissue by AP.
er6k66

Roger Waters - Amused To Death as reviewed by er6k66

January 2, 2017
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, RM, 88875065801
I have europe issue #2238 ordered direct from waters website
abg_gpl

Roger Waters - Amused To Death abg_gpl

January 2, 2017
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, APP 468761, 888430905818, 88843090518
Agreed with Pcyrus. Far from the best album in my collection, but without doubt one of the best sounding I've ever heard. Easily up there in terms of sound quality with the Music Matters jazz represses and leaves anything I've heard from MFSL behind. Worth buying just for the sound quality alone.
Guy_Lafond

Roger Waters - Amused To Death Guy_Lafond

October 21, 2016
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, 200, AAPP 468761, 88875075471

I believe this to be US and not Europe, New York is mentionned.
Kittysafe

Roger Waters - Amused To Death Kittysafe

May 21, 2016
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, RM, 88875065801

I heard this was limited to 2500 worldwide copies, but there are not only at least 10,000 NUMBERED, there are many more maybe that many that are not numbered... does that constitute a fraud?
PearlyNewDrops

Roger Waters - Amused To Death PearlyNewDrops

May 14, 2016
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, 468761 0
Dear EricLeRouge, dear all,
I have only got the European version. Even this is not musicaly my favorite album, it is with facus 2 (joy division 12" athmophere) the best sound rendering I ever heard
Pierre
EricLeRouge

Roger Waters - Amused To Death as reviewed by EricLeRouge

March 2, 2016
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, 468761 0
How to tell the Sony 2xLP (sub-contracted to Analogue Productions) from the 'pure' Analogue Productions edition? (see link below)

http://www.superdeluxeedition.com/feature/spot-the-difference-amused-to-death-rival-vinyl-pressings/

It seems the difference is essentially cosmetic, all discs were pressed at QRP by Analogue Productions - stronger cardboard cover (AP) and inside of cover white (Sony). AP edition has the AP propaganda leaflet.

It is still unclear to me why some people think the US edition is better than the European edition, since they were all pressed at QRP and only have a different catalog number. Some people say the pressing is very noisy, others say it is very quiet (amazing differences in perceived quality for the same production run, it seems).

Does anyone have more insight on this ?
bensonisdead

Roger Waters - Amused To Death bensonisdead

February 23, 2018
referencing Amused To Death, 2xLP, Album, 468761 0
Loved this article thanks for the direction, have to remember for when it's time to purchase.