leylines

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix leylines

May 29, 2020
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001

This repress sounds great to me - Very happy with my copy
Pistachios

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix Pistachios

July 28, 2020
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001

yeah - it sounds fine - unless you can afford to buy an OG, it does the job no problems.
DetroitBootyBass

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix as reviewed by DetroitBootyBass

October 7, 2016
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
I just spoke to Rick - this reissue is official, but it is from a vinyl rip as the original master plates couldn't be located. He had a sealed copy of the original vinyl and they used that as the source. In addition, he wasn't sure if Archer Record Pressing here in Detroit pressed the original version... and his attempts to find out if the metal plates were in their archive was unsuccessful as he couldn't get a hold of the staff of the plant.

He also said that it wasn't originally mastered by Ron Murphy (of NSC fame), but somewhere down in Texas that is no longer in business. His memory of it all was a bit fuzzy as this happened twenty-two years ago (1994).

Regardless, this is a great release. Obviously, the original should be more highly-prized, but the reissue can be an affordable alternative.
philrobertson

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix philrobertson

March 1, 2014
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
its not bad quality but definitely far from the original NSC cut...R.I.P. Ron Murphy. Just a similar example about Chez Damiers KMS049 repress I was compairing the original and repress and the same thing happend...repress is not from USA and i think this is happening with most of the reissue
jayezralewis

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix jayezralewis

February 14, 2014
edited over 7 years ago
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
My copy is fine.
Monoke

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix Monoke

August 17, 2013
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
Very poor job done on this repress. Either do it properly or don't do it at all.
Monoke

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix Monoke

October 20, 2014
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
I've changed my mind about this. It's not 'very poor'. It's just not as good as it ought to be. This is a classic EP. It deserved better treatment.
simione001

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix as reviewed by simione001

July 21, 2013
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
Not sure what everyone is talking about. Sounds perfectly good to me.
OCCIDENTAL

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix as reviewed by OCCIDENTAL

June 18, 2013
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001

The sound quality isn't great, but it's acceptable, especially given the cost of an original pressing. I actually have the original pressing and I'd love to offer a side-by-side comparison in the future if I can ever find that copy.
Regardless, I'm glad this incredible record was made available again. I support reissues.
beybobeybobam

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix beybobeybobam

February 15, 2013
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
This is the worst master I've encountered on vinyl thus far. I thought so much dynamic range compression was only possible digitally. Well, Rush Hour proves me wrong.

Sounds horrible, stay away and save up for the original from '94.
beybobeybobam

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix beybobeybobam

June 23, 2013
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001
My review is clearly discussing the (re-)mastering which includes processing such as equalization, compression, limiting, noise reduction, and possibly other techniques designed to restore or enhance the signal. This all happens well before the reproduction. I don't see how you could possibly infer I'm referring to the cutting stage given the terms I use.
OCCIDENTAL

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix OCCIDENTAL

June 3, 2013
referencing Late Night Basix , 12", RE, RM, HP001

Worst "master"? Are you referring to vinyl noise on this one...? That has absolutely nothing to do with the cutting of the record. (At least not when the signal-to-noise ratio is high enough and this one was cut loudly, so that's not the issue.) You're blaming the wrong division of labor.
You can blame:
1) pressing plant (bad quality vinyl?)
2) electroplaters (improper processing?)
3) label (couldn't get original masters and just ripped the old vinyl, or worse, mp3s?)
Without getting facts from the label, it's impossible to know the reason for the noise here. I actually don't think this one is that bad, and I bitch about noisy vinyl all the time.
DJ_Eugene_K

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix as reviewed by DJ_Eugene_K

February 9, 2009
referencing Late Night Basix, 12", HP001

Heh. I can't believe no one has written a review on this monster of an album. Both mixes of "Nothing To Fear" demonstrate how deep Rick Wade can get. Very brooding track, with an eerie chorus and melody, and a heavy drum pattern. "I Do Believe" takes hints from the old-school KDJ albums. "I Can Feel It" kinda takes both from "Nothing To Fear" and "I Do Believe" to provide somethin' deep and funky.

Late Night Basix Vol. 1 is another great 2:00 AM-er for the dancer on the cooldown or the warmup.
bitonti

Rick Wade - Late Night Basix bitonti

August 18, 2011
referencing Late Night Basix, 12", HP001
DJ_Eugene_K
"I Do Believe" takes hints from the old-school KDJ albums.


great review but KDJ's first release wasn't until 1994, the same year as Rick Wade's Late Night Basix Vol 1... so maybe Moodymann was influenced by Rick Wade!