Mooshrum

Bonobo - The North Borders Mooshrum

June 11, 2018
referencing The North Borders, Box, Album, Dlx + 6x10" + 10", S/Sided, Etch + CD,, ZEN195X, ZENCD195
Wait, so there's only one song per side? Why? Wouldn't that get annoying, having to constantly go over and switch the records?
nathan.j.gelfant

Bonobo - The North Borders nathan.j.gelfant

July 19, 2017
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195

anyone else getting a static-like noise in the right channel? it's in and out on all four sides for me.
scoundrel

Bonobo - The North Borders as reviewed by scoundrel

August 17, 2014
referencing The North Borders, CD, Album, ZENCD195

After BLACK SANDS, it'd be difficult for Bonobo to maintain his reputation, but THE NORTH BORDERS manages to do it. Sure, it's not as stunning as his previous album, but that's a pretty high bar. Instead, Bonobo branches out in other directions, like the mellow, folk-esque "First Fires" or the garage of "Emkay," or the more straight-up house of "Cirrus." His multi-instrumentation stays wholly intact, despite these new ventures, helping to fill out the sound, as with the plucked strings of "Saphhire" or the . He tries out a heavier bass with "Jets" or the typewriter rhythm on "Ten Tigers." Sure, a few of the tracks aren't as compelling-- "Know You," for instance sounds like a reprise of "Emkay" -- but it's still a pleasant listen, especially once the chopped-up chorus starts in. Even though Andreya Triana doesn't appear here, she's ably replaced by Erykah Badu, who makes "Heaven For The Sinner" appropriately angelic. Szjerdene, as well, adds some soul to "Towers," The darkly sad "Pieces" closes the album on a good note. For its faults, it holds up.
modernwarpaint

Bonobo - The North Borders as reviewed by modernwarpaint

January 28, 2014
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195

After listening to Bonobo for quite some time, this release had to be a stunner to even compare to its predecessors. So when I first listened to 'The North Borders', I was disappointed. It lacked a coherency that his other albums, like Black Sands, had. However, this album requires multiple listens because a month went by and then this was on repeat for months. My personal standouts are First Fires, Jets, Know You, Ten Tigers, and Transits. It really grows.
Greek999

Bonobo - The North Borders Greek999

September 3, 2013
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195
"Heaven For The Sinner" & "Sapphire" are the only stand out tracks, IMO...the rest lacks originality of Simon. Deffo not even one 100th of Animal Magic...sorry
Foo4Fun

Bonobo - The North Borders Foo4Fun

May 3, 2013
referencing The North Borders, Box, Album, Dlx + 6x10" + 10", S/Sided, Etch + CD,, ZEN195X, ZENCD195
My copy from US RSD 2013 has Ninja Tune 2013, Made in EU, ZEN195X on the back, Barcode 5021392806167. It's 7x10", so this seems to be mis-labeled.
town_x

Bonobo - The North Borders town_x

April 24, 2013
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195
why the need to evolve when you're already doing great music (and original)???? bonobo, please reconsider!
Esot_Eric

Bonobo - The North Borders Esot_Eric

April 21, 2013
referencing The North Borders, Box, Album, Dlx + 6x10" + 10", S/Sided, Etch + CD,, ZEN195X, ZENCD195

Anyone else notice the alternate track listing order for the box set versus the CD?
cpburke24

Bonobo - The North Borders cpburke24

December 6, 2018
referencing The North Borders, Box, Album, Dlx + 6x10" + 10", S/Sided, Etch + CD,, ZEN195X, ZENCD195
What’s the track listing for the vinyls? And are all the songs from the release pressed to vinyl? Any info is greatly appreciated, thanks!
GalaxyExplorer

Bonobo - The North Borders as reviewed by GalaxyExplorer

April 10, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195

I'm editing my review a year later because I just recently gained an appreciation for this album. I listened to the whole thing again (minus the first track which I still don't like) whilst driving down part of California Highway 1 along the Pacific. It made a great soundtrack for that experience and I really enjoyed it.
Mooshrum

Bonobo - The North Borders Mooshrum

June 17, 2018
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195
Haha, I live just off the One. It's a very beautiful dive.
Barnabe

Bonobo - The North Borders Barnabe

April 30, 2013
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195

Hahaha I just had the same thought about First Fires! I agree : this is a "normal" release from Bonobo. But if you forget the fact that it's Bonobo's work this is quite awesome! (Sorry for my english Im a frenchie)
Speakerzmoon

Bonobo - The North Borders as reviewed by Speakerzmoon

April 2, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
referencing The North Borders, 2xLP, Album, 180, ZEN195
I like the album very much. It has a new genre to it in some tracks and hence the reason of a new album.
The album has a ''mature-eclectic sounding'' feel to it.
Also, tracks like ''First Fires'', ''Emkay'' and ''Sapphire'' brings a more hyped, ''mount kimbie-ish'' vibes, which usually I'm not big fan of, but bonobo makes a great job integrating his style making them sound amazing.
The track that really corresponds to my style is ''Antenna''.
Hats off bonobo for another wonderful album!
liffarome

Bonobo - The North Borders liffarome

March 26, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
referencing The North Borders, CDr, Album, Promo, Car, ZEN195

Dj Bonobo now? great album, you can hear Bonobo style in it but i find it quite artificial, there is no cool bass lines like you can find in all Bonobo albums and since i like Four Tet i like the album. Cant find a track that stands out though...