mrjn

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope as reviewed by mrjn

December 21, 2019
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, Tresor 196

My first listen to this Masterpice was one of my big Moments in Music.
Just outstandig Sounds from the Legends of D.
Solar Wind is always a Trip into deep Space.
Waveform Cascades and White Dwarf with freaked out Electronix.
Respecting this Work so much
inkognito_mod

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope inkognito_mod

October 2, 2019
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, CD, Album, MP, Tresor.196
"Track 11 should have been "Flux", but has been miss-pressed and does not appear on this CD like it does on the vinyl"

I will never forgive Tresor for this...
Mezzum

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope Mezzum

October 19, 2018
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, Tresor 196
Some wish for eternal life, others for peace on Earth and some more still for riches beyond their wildest imaginings. But then, there are others who wish only for a repress of this master piece.
mecatronic

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope mecatronic

September 30, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, CD, Album, MP, Tresor.196

My CD version has track 11 correctly titled "Flux" and a sticker with "Tresor Classics Re-release Produced by Drexciya" above the "DETROIT ELECTRO approved by Drexciyens" sticker.
lixenixen

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope lixenixen

March 28, 2019
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, CD, Album, MP, Tresor.196

You've misunderstood the Notes section. Track 11 is indeed titled "Flux" on the CD, but it is not actually the track called "Flux" that appears on the LP version of this album, rather than "Song of the Green Whale", which had already appeared on Drexciya's Harnessed the Storm. So the Discogs page is telling what the actual track on the CD is, even though the CD sleeve erroneously claims it to be a different track.
samuelp13

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope samuelp13

August 3, 2017
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, Tresor 196
In this feature (http://win.gs/2sqOvDR), Carola Stoiber who ran Tresor in the 90s said this was a Gerald Donald record given to Stinson as a wedding present.
Adel.Akram

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope Adel.Akram

March 29, 2017
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, Tresor 196
OMG a friend of mine found it in the trash and gave it to me as a present because she knows I have a turntable...
ionbritton

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope ionbritton

January 9, 2017
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, CD, Album, MP, Tresor.196
White Dwarf is so mysteriously creepy...visions of stellar core remnants floating into deep space... My favorite album out of the 7 storms and probably the one closer to pure techno.
man-bear-pig

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope as reviewed by man-bear-pig

November 13, 2014
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, Tresor 196
Another classic from James Stinson, anyone who digs any of his work will love this. Cerebral, thinking-man's machine music from start to finish. Shame 'Flux' is missing from the CD but 'Crossing the Sun-Ra Nebula' is missing from the vinyl which is crucial, so deep.
adolf

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope adolf

December 26, 2011
edited over 10 years ago
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, RP, Tresor. 196, Tresor 196
mine came in a matte cardboard black die-cut sleeve but also has the sticker (large rectangular) on the front. Original barcode though is stickered over w/ a new barcode: efa 56196-6 / 0718755 619667.The barcode underneath (still slightly visible) end with 62. Hope this helps regarding original/represses issues.
Rob_Etch

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope Rob_Etch

May 26, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, RP, Tresor. 196, Tresor 196
Correct - this isn't a "repress", it's just a stock variant for a different territory (in this case , the UK and anywhere else that uses EAN barcodes. No, I'm not a barcode fan - I just used to work in the industry :) My copy, which came from the distributor pre-release, and so isn't a repressing, is in the brown-black stickered sleeve, and the 11-digit barcode has been stickered over with a 13-digit barcode for UK release.

If you have one of these, it's an original pressing/release, however you want to term it. It's just stickered up for correct scanning in the UK market.
ichini

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope as reviewed by ichini

July 28, 2006
edited over 15 years ago
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, Tresor 196

For me this is one of the best techno albums ever recorded. It certainly is the high point of James Stinson's much too brief exploration of digital sound generation. The tracks oscillate between harsh digital percussive noises and warm analogue harmonics, showing off the abundant musicality that set Stinson light years apart from his imitators. Never too simple, never too anxious, always straight to the heart. R.I.P.
Moer

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope as reviewed by Moer

April 27, 2006
edited over 15 years ago
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, 2x12", Album, Tresor 196

Most of the tracks on this album from the Storm series sound odd compared to other Storm releases. I must say this album is not one of my Storm-favorites, but it is still very very good. The tracks are more abstract than the other Storms. My favorite Shifted Phases track has to be 'Lonely Journey Of The Comet Bopp'. This track is made with a great deal of sensitivity, like only James Stinson could. Another great track, more dancefloor oriented, would have to be 'White Dwarf'.

Get this album if you're a Drexciya fanatic, for other people this one may be difficult to dig. I absolutely love it.

3Dman

Shifted Phases - The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope as reviewed by 3Dman

August 19, 2003
referencing The Cosmic Memoirs Of The Late Great Rupert J. Rosinthrope, CD, Album, MP, Tresor.196
You really need to give this one a few spins... after that it sinks in, and it's obvious that this album rocks. Nobody ever told Miles to start playing a guitar, so Stinson & Co. shouldn't be criticized for sticking with what works. If you're disappointed with the recent "modern" Drexciya lps, try this. Instant sleeper classic.