Hydrology

Cliff Martinez - Solaris : Original Motion Picture Score as reviewed by Hydrology

March 10, 2019
referencing Solaris : Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Cle, INV128LPcol
Surface noise - this seems to be a recurring theme of Invada releases, coloured or black vinyl. Cleaned mine a couple of times in the KLAudio Ultrasonic cleaner, no better. 5/10
Hydrology

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score as reviewed by Hydrology

March 10, 2019
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, Whi, INV128LPcol, INV128LP
Another Invada release with plenty of surface noise even after a couple of US cleans in the KLAudio machine. 5/10
BigMikeATL

Cliff Martinez - Solaris : Original Motion Picture Score BigMikeATL

November 30, 2018
edited 6 months ago
referencing Solaris : Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Cle, INV128LPcol
Does anyone else notice the variable surface noise on this one? Guessing I should've bought the standard black pressing. This seems to be a common occurrence with most of the splattered vinyl pressings in my collection.
Only_Mint

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score Only_Mint

October 23, 2018
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, CD, Album, TRM-74070-2
For those who care about such things, note that the audio of the 2002 CD is brickwalled -- I asked the new-release company back in 2010 when the reissue came out whether this would be rectified in the reissue and they told me that this was just a repackaging of the 2002 audio.

What a sorry state of affairs for such extraordinary music -- the digital compromised and the analogue vinyl a click-and-pop-filled mess pressed by incompetents.

What's more they found it impossible to release this without a picture of Clooney gurning out of the sleeve -- what a shame they couldn't have used the beautiful visual from the rear cover. The first album that I've declined to buy simply because the LP cover is so fugly...
brianwould

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score as reviewed by brianwould

April 16, 2018
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, RE, Cos, INV128LP

Beautiful record to look at and almost silent,quiet as a cd but with the clarity and urgency of vinyl. lovely.
derekdavidkent

Cliff Martinez - Solaris : Original Motion Picture Score derekdavidkent

March 20, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Solaris : Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Cle, INV128LPcol
Very crackly. Lots of regular rotational clicks. Tone is overall inconsistent. As if someone is lightly jiggling a pitch bend.
I do a great job cleaning my records so the pops are in the pressing. Very unfortunate because it's a gorgeous looking release and one of my favourite scores.
cutjules

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score cutjules

June 16, 2017
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, RE, Cos, INV128LP

I've bought a brand new copy or this cosmic coloured edition, I've listened to it twice for now, with headphones and speakers. There are no pops at all, this pressing sounds really good and deep, maybe a little low but it's insignificant.
deandoodles

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score deandoodles

March 31, 2017
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, RE, Cos, INV128LP
Extremely crackly pressing for me. Vinyl is beautiful but I doubt I'll play it often because of the background noise. After this I don't think I'll buy any more coloured vinyl re issues as every one I've bought has sounded sub par.
nikolaifrom

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score as reviewed by nikolaifrom

March 9, 2016
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, Pic, INV128LPPIC

Picture disc sounds fantastic, with no surface noise after multiple plays. It also looks fantastic rotating on the turntable. Excellent mastering from Invada, big fan!
Draankol

Cliff Martinez - Solaris (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) as reviewed by Draankol

May 29, 2014
referencing Solaris (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), CD, Album, Ltd, RE, LLLCD 1161

When I first saw this film, I immediately noticed the music and how it added to the melancholy feel of the story. The score adds color and texture in such a way that it is completely unobtrusive. It is complimentary to the story, emotion, mood and overall feel of the film.

I listen to the music at work quite often. At home, when chilling in the early evening or twilight with a glass of wine, the music creates and ethereal soundtrack to whatever is going on at the moment. I hesitate to use the term “timeless”, but the music does not fall into any specific genre other than ambient/chill out. I had never heard of Cliff Marinez prior to this soundtrack, but he’s got mad talent, that is clear.

If you liked the film, then the soundtrack will take you back to all the moments in Solaris that were so magical. If you have never seen the film, listen to the music on youtube and get a feel for the journey this album can take you on.

This soundtrack falls perfectly in line with music by Solar Fields, Asura, Aes Dana, etc…
texasvinyl

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score texasvinyl

December 12, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, LP, Album, 180, INV128LP
this copy (black vinyl) sounds nice. excellent soundtrack.
karlrichard

Cliff Martinez - Solaris - Original Motion Picture Score as reviewed by karlrichard

August 20, 2008
edited over 7 years ago
referencing Solaris - Original Motion Picture Score, CD, 0146922ERE

What can I say... Other than, Wow! This release isn't holding a 4.9 for nothing. A much over looked ambient score that was written by an ex-member of the Red Hot Chili Peppers for a film losely based on a Polish authors very good Sci-Fi book!? Sound odd? Yeah... Well it kinda took me by surprise too.

At the time, having just read Frank Herbert's epic and somewhat lengthy masterpiece, Dune, a friend recommended that I read a book written by a Polish author by the name of Stanislaw Lem. Feeling somewhat blown away by Herbert's amazing story telling, I figured it would pale in comparison, much in the same way an old Mini Metro might do if one had just driven the new Audi R8. So I decided to leave it for a while... Then, as if by coincidence, a film by the same name, directed by the infamous Steven Soderbergh (Michael Clayton, A Scanner Darkly, Good Night Good Luck, Sex, Lies, and Videotape to name a few of the films he has produced) came out. Realizing that this was based on Lem's book, I immediately hired the movie and watched it... And not just once. Nor twice! But three times in a row... And it wasn't for the story line either!

While Soderbergh's adaptation of the book pretty much focuses solely on the relationship between the main character (Kris Kelvin) and his deceased wife, often to the exclusion of many of Lem's other themes, I feel it is important to know something about the film's plot in order understand what it is trying to portray, as the score beautifully reflects the relevant emotions embedded in the films story and totally make it what it is: the story is guided by the music, which in turn is guided by the film... Yin and Yang.

Soderbergh sets the story in the future, and centers it around Kris Kelvin, a psychologist based on earth. When he is asked to go to a planet far away in order to investigate some bizarre happenings on an observatory outpost, he carries nothing more with him than his entire life's experiences. As with the film, Lem's clever narration suggests that humans are studying the planet, but in actual fact the opposite seems to be the case: the titular alien planet, Solaris, is examining the secret and often guilty thoughts of human beings. Soderbergh centers this idea around the relationship between Kelvin and his deceased wife. All their secrets and thoughts are given physical form on the space station which orbits the planet, and as they come back to life, they haunt the observatory's inhabitants, often to profoundly disturbing effect. Both the novel and the film are pervaded by a powerful and moving poetic sense of remoteness, loneliness and illusion, which is beautifully and intensely invoked by the film's musical score... Memories from the past, rippling over the present's conscious train of thought, like rain drops on a clam lake in spring time, bring into focus our own realities.

Who could write such intense moving music??? I would have initially hedged my bets with composers like Steve Reich or Philip Glass. But... Having been throughly hooked in by this soundtrack, I just had to get the CD and find out. And having acquired it and listened to it several times, I couldn't help noticing that it wasn't Reich or Glass, but this "chap" called Cliff Martinez, who had written the score. Curious as to what other stuff he had done, I punched his name into Google and did a search. And "ex drummer for the Red Hot Chili Peppers (1984 - 1986)" kept on coming up. But this was an ambient score! Surely it just couldn't be the same guy... !? So I figured this was another Cliff Martinez... But after continued searches, nothing yielded an further clues... So I decided to read "this other guy's" resume. And, in doing so, realised (to my total surprise) that it was the very same Martinez who had played in the Chili Peppers!!!

What more can I say other than Martinez has created an amazing masterpiece of languid melodic dreamscapes that glitter to rainy days and afternoon dreaming. While it can be listened to in context with the film or without it, I'd recommend the later... Simply by itself... As it's pure tonal timeline invokes deeply personal spaces from which to reflect the markings of our experiences over the canvas of our own minds.

What a glittering jewel of sound design you have bestowed upon us, Mr Martinez!!! Rock on! 5/5
evenflouw

Cliff Martinez - Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score as reviewed by evenflouw

October 4, 2007
edited over 9 years ago
referencing Solaris: Original Motion Picture Score, CD, Album, TRM-74070-2

Bold, groundbreaking, beautiful, mindblowing. Those are the first of the few synonymous that comes through my mind everytime i listen to this motion picture score. Solaris is warm, subtle and sensitive - the way the orchestral and electronic parts starts to melt together and same time unravel a bit by bit, minute after minute so it's almost awe-inspiring experience and i especially love it how it seducts the listener in to the deep unknown part of dark space or should i say state of mind..? Anyway. Whereas Vangelis' Blade Runner is still today inspiring work and man himself is pioneer on soundtracks that rely on ambient textures, i personally think right next to the Blade Runner is Cliff Martinez's Solaris. In both cases the music catches the atmosphere so perfectly and leads the viewer to the point where the music itself becomes essential part of the film. Like someone said before, this is ambient for mature listeners.