scherben

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo scherben

August 4, 2021
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201

The demo tape of 'Digeridoo' was allegedly posted to R & S Records contained inside of a piece of drainpipe. I wonder if that actually did happen?
jamiedonald73

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo jamiedonald73

October 18, 2020
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
Hello people. my copy has a generic R+S sleeve. Long time ago but I'm pretty sure I bought it on import. There is no sticker on the sleeve, so I'm fairly sure its a Belgian version. All the copies on here seem to have a picture sleeve. Anyone any info?
mobilelibrarymusic

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo mobilelibrarymusic

July 1, 2021
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
I have the import copy bought at the time in the generic R&S sleeve with no writing on. The picture sleeves appeared a bit later as the track gathered momentum beyond the standard life of a techno track.
dexterfeng

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo dexterfeng

May 8, 2021
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
Depending on what point of the release cycle you picked it up at. Either a first run, or in the middle of them trying to keep up. They would likely have had to put quite a few of them in the basic R&S outer sleeve. I have numerous R&S releases from that period where I have no idea what the picture sleeve looks like. I have several releases that I picked up right away which came out first either in just a paper sleeve, or their regular sleeve that would turn up a month or so later with sleeve art.
Gateaux_Fabulous

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo Gateaux_Fabulous

April 11, 2020
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
I just bought a copy of this, no barcode, sideways writing on the silver label but it does have “IN ORDER TO DANCE” on labels. Anyone else have this?
rob_d

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo rob_d

October 8, 2019
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RE, RS 9201
Does this 2006 reissue contain Isoprophlex? I know it's missing from some versions of the release.
Flip_Sides...

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo Flip_Sides...

June 1, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RSUK 12

We saw a spritely young Richard in Preston Ritzys circa 1992 after John Peel had played this tune on Radio 1. We turned up and danced till 29 minutes later he'd blown the rubbish speakers off the wall with his top notch kit. Thats when we all sat down and Richard ate that orange and afterwards we all went home.
Collector_Cave_Guy

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo Collector_Cave_Guy

July 12, 2016
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RE, RS 9201

Electronic porn of the highest order. Classic tracks that will always be important
MISTER_DIA-TRIBE_73

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo MISTER_DIA-TRIBE_73

September 21, 2017
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RE, RS 9201
Electronic EAR and MIND porn of the highest order ;)
Collector_Cave_Guy

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo Collector_Cave_Guy

January 31, 2016
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RP, RS 9201
mine is from 2006 and has no sticker on the sleeve. It comes with a sticker on the back from R&S Records with details of email addresses and tel nos
dean_o_matic

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo dean_o_matic

February 24, 2016
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RP, RS 9201
Intriguing. A scan of this back sticker would help, and maybe see if there is a different matrix number etched on the runout groove.
Thanks for replying.
dean_o_matic

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo dean_o_matic

December 1, 2015
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RP, RS 9201
Can anyone confirm if their copy of the 2001 repress came with an R&S Vintage sticker on the sleeve, just like the 2006 repress?
My repress copy has the R&S Vintage sticker on it, but I do not believe I was buying IDM any longer in 2006, but what have been in 2001.
Something to ponder: R&S considered 1999 material to be "Vintage", as seen in this release: http://www.discogs.com/Various-Vintage-RS-Volume-3/release/62133
Thanks for digging out your copy to check - much appreciated.
beybobeybobam

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo beybobeybobam

February 22, 2014
edited over 7 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, CD, Single, RSUK 12CD
This is completely overcompressed shit.** When played on a decent system, it distracts from the compositions (which are, of course, quality).

---
** It's relatively rare to see so much clipping/compression applied in a release from 1992 (i.e., a number of years before the loudness war got really bad).
zevulon

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo zevulon

March 10, 2020
referencing Digeridoo, CD, Single, RSUK 12CD
Aphex made music these days - he wasn't skilled as a mastering engineer. The vinyl sounds like s*it as well.
I used it to test my new stereo amp + speakers and was appalled as Digeridoo sounded absolutely horrible - the i put on Autechre or similar, and finally found out the "truth" about these recordings. Brilliant material, still, from the Master.
dylaf

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo dylaf

January 1, 2014
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RP, RS 9201
This version has the same sleeve as the OG release, with different type on the labels. Otherwise all the same...
djrobovw1

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo as reviewed by djrobovw1

June 25, 2011
edited over 10 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RSUK 12
this tune is repetative, but theres something about it,, its wicked,, puts a grin on ya face... 1 of my faves from the time... always reminds me of crock dundee for some reason... lol mad..
cutjules

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo cutjules

August 10, 2014
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RSUK 12

Sometimes it's strange how music can make some images to pop in our mind. It's surely a good start to make your own videoclip ;)
djrobovw1

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo as reviewed by djrobovw1

March 11, 2011
edited over 5 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
all i can say is,, "Digeridoo". woud rock the bollocks off any granddad if he like rave,,, not much to it but its got something so catchy about it,, i've never been in a rave when it been played,, but im sure it would make the crowd go mental.... if it was just dropped in from the start of the track.. allowing the buildup.. buzzin tune for me, and will always be in my play list....

mikeholiday

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo mikeholiday

May 15, 2014
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
the crowd always reacts, it's been in my box for years. mixes well in a techno set.
MasterK_74

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo MasterK_74

July 9, 2011
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201

Hi I was at a rave in Colchester back in early 92' and DJ Hype dropped this in the middle of his set and the whole place erupted, it was absolutely mental! Completely lost the plot along with about a thousand other nutters TUNE!
hurleyJ4

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo as reviewed by hurleyJ4

April 2, 2008
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
Besides the massively well known title track, this seminal Aphex release contains some awesome classic industrial techno from RDJ. Flaphead is a track that contains some of the same drum patterns used in SAW 85-92's final track Actium, however the similarities end there. A brutal 4/4 warehouse style assault gives birth to a ferocious acid beast that rides alongside spooky pads until it is screaming at full force, yet never overpowering the percussive attack. Phloam begins with an elastic electropulse which pairs up with a dirty industro-breakbeat. After a short while, some Aphex pads once again show up and reveal the melodic potential of the percussion - this is the essence of superior industrial technique; controlling the pitch and tone of each noise to create a symphony out of klings and klangs. Halfway through, the track goes electrostatic (in reference to the Plastikman b-side of Krakpot which shows up one year later). This record won't run you a fortune these days, grab yourself a copy if you haven't already and watch people wig out when they hear these under-represented jams.
jazzliscious

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo as reviewed by jazzliscious

July 11, 2007
edited over 14 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201

What could I say that hasn't been said? Well, yes indeed, this is a fabtasmical release, we know that. Digeridoo seems to be everybody's favorite, we know that. But do we know that A - this could be one of the most singularly UNIQUE "techno" records ever put out? Look out, though, Luke Vibert and Jeremy Simmonds were crankin' out some pretty tripped out stuff too, among MANY other less "out there" but equally brilliant and unique techno tracks that were being put out in the early early 1990s. And B - I could be wrong, but that sounds like a Roland TB-303 Transistor Bassline to me doing that digeridoo! If it is I ask - who but Richard D James would have ever thought to make a 303 replicate NOT a Bass Guitar, but a DIGERIDOO??? Moral of this review/comment - Richard D James as Aphex Twin always was and still is in many ways a real innovator in the realm of techno music. I've heard some of his stuff I don't even know the titles of but would kill to own on vinyl. Now why is this such an in-demand release? Because R.D.J. has earned every bit of his widespread respect - he IS that good.
swar76

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo as reviewed by swar76

January 16, 2007
edited over 15 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201
Spooky ... mysterious ... insane. Australia's vintage instrument forms the basis for this haunting track. Dark & obscure, but great material for parties as they used to be thrown in the 90's.

The digeridoo is accompanied by a breakbeat kind of hi-hat line and spooky sounds. Love the sirens towards the end of the song.

Triple A status!
paulo_m

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo as reviewed by paulo_m

October 12, 2006
edited over 15 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RS 9201

What a fabulous piece of music. All 4 tracks are very strong hard pieces of techno music. However the main track Digeridoo is one hell of a ride.

A breakbeat fuelled hard techno stomper with an analogue digeridoo that morphs and mutates until the listener can take no more.

I had the pleasure back in early 1993 of seeing the Aphex twin play a live set in both Glasgow(Pussypower) and Edinburgh(Pure) where he played a mixture of heavy techno and some highlights from his Selected Ambient Works Vol 1.
However Digeridoo was the absolute highlight. I do have to admit that whilst watching the show at Pure Edinburgh I was under the influence of some rather potent LSD which certainly enhanced the performance. A delight indeed!
swar76

The Aphex Twin* - Digeridoo as reviewed by swar76

September 7, 2006
edited over 15 years ago
referencing Digeridoo, 12", RSUK 12
Do you know the feeling just before take-off? You don't really feel comfortably, but a few moments later you're airborn. A pleasant feeling emerges and you start to enjoy the ride.

"Didgeridoo" does this with me every time I hear this record. This track confuses you at the start, but then lifts you up and guides you towards the moon (or do I prefer the Red Planet?).

Great sounds of a didgeridoo (the music instrument of the Aboriginals) are combined with great percussion and towards the end spooky strings and sounds. "Richard D. James" at his best.