Cardia1

Actress - Ghettoville Cardia1

February 7, 2020
referencing Ghettoville, CD, Album, Ltd, BRC-403

Overall a satisfying release, very dark, original and surreal .
salvobeta

Actress - Ghettoville salvobeta

January 7, 2016
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
I really, honestly can't tell if this record is supposed to be 33.3 or 45? I wonder if the digital versions may be wrong? Ah whatever, it's pretty good both speeds.
misterlegs

Actress - Ghettoville misterlegs

July 1, 2020
edited 7 months ago
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
I got a copy of this recently and after two plays I reckon I've cracked it.

sides A,B and E play at 45 but sides C & D play at 33 1/3.

It's the only way that seems to work. If you play sides A, B and E at 33 1/3 they sound too 'lethargic' and if you play sides C & D at 45 they sound a bit too 'revved up'.

It'll get one more play before it gets moved from the 'recent arrivals' pile and filed in with the general population' - so I may re-evaluate the speeds but until then I'm pretty sure I've nailed it.

(A few days later) Just given it another spin this time using the speeds pointed out above. It's got to be the way - it's the only way the whole album 'makes sense'.
jmc

Actress - Ghettoville jmc

March 22, 2016
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
I like to think Actress is encouraging us to play it at different speeds every time
Shaneski75

Actress - Ghettoville Shaneski75

October 10, 2015
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
blimey ......that headphone commute review
Headphone_Commute

Actress - Ghettoville as reviewed by Headphone_Commute

April 13, 2014
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
Darren Cunningham‘s latest (or is it really last?) offering as Actress is a dense, hazy, and nearly hallucinogenic stroll through the foggy streets of South London, and indeed Cunningham’s abstract interpretation of his mind, titled Ghettoville. Two years ago, Actress released his third full length, R.I.P, putting this character to rest, and now that the image is deceased, how does it feel to be within the cold and dark walls of the void? Perhaps the answer lies in Ghettoville, which, after being properly released by Cunningham’s own Werkdiscs label, gets picked up by Ninja Tune, since its interest piqued in this particular sound with a three-track Silver Cloud EP in 2012.

The album takes a long time to reveal itself, to sort-of grow on you, like a stubborn weed, choking out the impatient and inept. My first impression of the music was fairly neutral, at times even dipping into the negative scale of appreciation. What exactly is this? What is Cunningham trying to say? The rhythm is gravely beyond any lo-fi aesthetic, hardly resounding through the mono channel of a damaged speaker, at times repeating to no end with a single, seemingly simple beat, sixteen, thirty-two, and sixty-four bars at a time. Did Cunningham just fall asleep behind his drum-machine, or am I just too sober to drop out? Thick layers of hiss, slowed-down hip-hop samples, mired shuffles, dingy atmospheres pulled back into the corners of the stage, as if it’s all coming from within a can, dipped into an aquarium replete with grime.

Things finally begin to make sense when I give up on trying to decipher the sound—and let the clouds overtake the skies. Darkness sets in, and with the stormy winter weather (you know, the one where you almost wished it already snowed, instead of a sideways freezing rain pummeling your frigid clothes), the sounds of Ghettoville cut through the chilly bones. This isn’t really a brisk stroll through a sunny countryside, but rather a nightly crawl through dank streets where moss consumes decaying cigarettes among the cobblestones and tombs. And as the mind attempts to cling to a particular pattern, deciphering the hidden associations with remnants of London’s dance music, the melodies trail off, stumbling over their unquantised progression, diving below the murky slabs of sediment and debris, barely capable to gasp for air and its sustained life-force.

Taking off my headphones after this journey feels like I’m peeling off a space suit, and the world gets sucked back into existence with a loud thump, in all its surround-sound glory and always perfect audiophile quality. Some uneasiness still lurks in the background of my mind. Will I take the plunge again? Perhaps. Most likely I will find myself revisiting the streets of Ghettoville on cold and sombre days, to match my inner state of void with Cunningham’s abstruse and complex music. Meanwhile, even if the rumours of putting the Actress project to bed are true, you can keep your ears open for Cunningham’s few side projects. There is also a limited 5LP + 2CD “Black Elephant”-skinned boxset (plus a 40-page artbook) compiling the Hazyville and Ghettovillealbums out on Wekdiscs and Ninja Tune.
Shaneski75

Actress - Ghettoville Shaneski75

June 6, 2014
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
How long is your journey?
jmc

Actress - Ghettoville jmc

February 9, 2014
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
maybe the sleeve is supposed to get damaged.. like his beautiful damaged soundz..
leafoscillot

Actress - Ghettoville leafoscillot

August 24, 2016
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006

This is my favorite way to think about the design. It wouldn't make as much sense to put this music is a perfect pristine heavy-duty package
emulsion

Actress - Ghettoville as reviewed by emulsion

February 5, 2014
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006

Having a little trouble wading through all the tracks on here for the solid stuff - but there definitely is some.

(Some of that is just wrestling with the annoying packaging, I never want to dig out the next record.)
Shaneski75

Actress - Ghettoville Shaneski75

February 5, 2014
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
Shrink has mangled the cover because of cut out grrrrrrrr
phaks

Actress - Ghettoville phaks

January 28, 2014
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
some of the tracks sound very fine on 45 rpm. actress playing tricks on us.

for my ears the whole sound has got more noise and analogue sounds than before. some interesting vocal experiments. some fine grooves, as always. some drama.

3xLP sleeve is horribly impractical !!! large cut-out, thin cardboard. all will be damaged within weeks.

And please notice: it's a 2,5 x Vinyl. Side F is empty with a scratched triangle.
Rargh

Actress - Ghettoville Rargh

January 28, 2014
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006

a real slowburner, the quality of the second half makes up for a bit of a trudging start.

the design of the sleeve is also horribly impractical.
Spacetube

Actress - Ghettoville Spacetube

February 15, 2017
referencing Ghettoville, 3xLP, WDNT 006
Agreed. The beginning is difficult (some moments not so much) to get through.

Regarding the design, I almost find myself not wanting to throw the record on due to not wanting to tear the sleeve. Overall, I still like the album.