scotters1969

Sun Kil Moon - Benji scotters1969

September 13, 2020
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1

My Copy:
Disc 1. Pressed onto 135 grams of Clear Vinyl.
Disc 2. Pressed onto 134 grams of Clear Vinyl.

This very melancholy kid plays like a dream on my turntable.
johnyxer

Sun Kil Moon - Benji johnyxer

August 18, 2020
referencing Benji, 2xCD, Album, Ltd, CVCD029

please do repress on black vinyl, i am very sad cuz cant get him
Trevorw24

Sun Kil Moon - Benji Trevorw24

March 31, 2019
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1
Just picked up the clear vinyl, I have no complaints at all. Sounds excellent! This album is a treasure. I’m very pleased.
Spell_Caster

Sun Kil Moon - Benji Spell_Caster

February 28, 2019
edited 6 months ago
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, VFR-2014-1
Can confirm that it sounds great. Very minimal surface noise, only really noticeable (but far from distracting) on the first track of Side B for me, and the mix is dope.
BoneHurtingJuice

Sun Kil Moon - Benji BoneHurtingJuice

January 28, 2019
referencing Benji, 2xCD, Album, Ltd, CVCD029
I really wish this would get scheduled for a 180 gram repress sometime soon
SmittyJenkins

Sun Kil Moon - Benji SmittyJenkins

April 15, 2018
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1
I own this clear version, nothing spectacular but seems to sound alright; everything I wanted at least. I read that the black pressing faired the best on average, anybody know if there is that much of a difference across the colors?
djemar

Sun Kil Moon - Benji djemar

February 20, 2018
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Yel, VFR-2014-1
My yellow copy has no issues. It’s dead quiet and sounds great on all four sides.
WesHeadley

Sun Kil Moon - Benji WesHeadley

February 18, 2018
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1

Fantastic album. Poor quality pressing. Ruins the experience if you're playing it back on a high-end system. I also have the red pressing. Even worse.
KyrosKidd

Sun Kil Moon - Benji KyrosKidd

May 21, 2020
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1
Would you be willing to sell one of those pressings?
Lukas.Nowak

Sun Kil Moon - Benji Lukas.Nowak

November 21, 2017
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Benji, 2xCD, Album, Ltd, CVCD029
Looking for an EU based Benji press (any color), will pay 60€.
Have heart for a desiring but also poor student. ;-)
AbsurdistOxymoron

Sun Kil Moon - Benji as reviewed by AbsurdistOxymoron

April 16, 2017
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Blu, VFR-2014-1

Nice pressing of this album, packaging is very nice with the insert featuring the lyrics being a nice touch.
AbsurdistOxymoron

Sun Kil Moon - Benji as reviewed by AbsurdistOxymoron

April 16, 2017
referencing Benji, 2xCD, Album, Ltd, CVCD029
One of my personal favourites. At first I didn't hold much love for this album, but at second listen, and upon properly reading through the lyrics, I realised my prior mistake. I'm not usually a fan of this type of music: one that is sad and accompanied by rough vocals. However, there is something so sincere about the melancholy and thoughts shared on this album that the listener cannot help to connect with the palpable emotion. On too many occasions do vocals such as these come off as melodramatic or manufactured, but here they sound fittingly broken, vulnerable and reflective. The lyrics songs themselves are fascinating in sounding like epic ballads, but when analysed tell tales of simple provincial life and Kozelack's personal tragedies. The simple, yet infectious, upwards arpeggios perfectly serve to back the minute-by-minute storytelling and let Mark Kozelack's visceral vocals take centre stage. Occasionally, the music builds in such a subtle way that the emotions is only heightened, such as on the fantastic track "Dogs". The packaging on the vinyl additions, which I believe is identical for the coloured editions is lovely as well (I purchased the blue vinyl). I cannot recommend this album enough and rate it a perfect five stars.
ChurchChill

Sun Kil Moon - Benji ChurchChill

December 13, 2015
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Blu, VFR-2014-1

Got this at a show in SF for 20 bucks. Vinyl is very wobbly.
jarsu

Sun Kil Moon - Benji as reviewed by jarsu

August 19, 2015
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Yel, VFR-2014-1
All the yellow ones are misprints? wax is somehow melted wrong etc? my local store will send all yellow issues back to distro
ColinWigle

Sun Kil Moon - Benji ColinWigle

May 17, 2015
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Yel, VFR-2014-1
I edited the track listing order of the live songs. Not 100% sure why it's been wrong for so long, but Truck Driver (Live) is the last song on Side C, not Micheline (Live) as previously stated. The back cover of the album in the image gallery clearly shows this. It also does play Truck Driver, so it's not a label error issue.
evertonis1

Sun Kil Moon - Benji evertonis1

April 1, 2015
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Promo, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1
Can anyone show a photo of their own copy of this pressing? I wanna see it on a turntable really badly. Looks awesome.
hans_gruber

Sun Kil Moon - Benji as reviewed by hans_gruber

March 11, 2015
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Yel, VFR-2014-1
My yellow pressing sounds great
dparke00

Sun Kil Moon - Benji dparke00

November 27, 2014
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Yel, VFR-2014-1
My yellow pressing also sounds great, although side A is slightly off centre as people have mention.
d.teil

Sun Kil Moon - Benji d.teil

November 9, 2014
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1

his best one under the name sun kil moon. First hearing on this certain vinyl version in 2017: a really bad pressing...
dannijr

Sun Kil Moon - Benji dannijr

January 25, 2015
referencing Benji, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Cle, VFR-2014-1

I dunno man. "Admiral Fell..." (the guitar playing!!) I think is his maybe best with "Ghosts..." "April" "Tiny Cities" you know...