Amjac

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream as reviewed by Amjac

October 10, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, SC310
1 of the 3 records I first bought. Have had a great time with this one, while tripping on LSD, and for cozy MDMA comedowns and sober this one is bliss.

The package is great. Lovely artwork. Comes in non-poly-lined inners, I was late to using Nagaoka's so the records have stained a little for me, so beware of this and don't leave it years like I did.

The sound is still very good however, side A1 being the best, and the rest having slightly more surface noise, nothing major though.
granorob1

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream granorob1

September 5, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310, SC10LP-C5
Far from a great pressing, but not terrible. Bought this because I'd heard a lot of negative things about previous versions. Fair amount of clicking but no major pops or anything, and the clicks are really only noticeable during the quiet bits and between tracks, which is still annoying. I've bought other recent pressings of various records that are dead quiet (Beirut, David Gray, Ascent of Everest, Liela Moss) on both black and colored vinyl, so what's the problem? Is it just a simple lack of give-a-shit? I've got records that are 60 years old that sound better than some of this new stuff!

GreenMountainBot

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream GreenMountainBot

June 26, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, SC310

I guess I lucked out. My copy sounds fantastic - it may be the best sounding record in my collection.
Trevorw24

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream Trevorw24

June 21, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310, SC10LP-C5
It’s limited to 800 copies, not 500 as listed in description.
adamwolpert1

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream adamwolpert1

June 20, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310, SC10LP-C5

Like the TTL pressing, the VMP pressing and the original limited purple pressing I own, this one is subject to a little noise at the end of Under the Pressure, however, this is by far the best overall pressing I have purchased yet. This is one of my favorite albums of the decade so I own every version there is to own haha.
adamwolpert1

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream adamwolpert1

October 7, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310, SC10LP-C5

Great question! The first issued black pressing is pretty on par with the colored ones in terms of sound quality. Not really any difference in dynamics, the slightly increased distortion on guitars, etc.
jon.scanlon

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream jon.scanlon

July 3, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310, SC10LP-C5
So for all the coloured versions you own, how does the regular BLACK version compare? Sounds like it should be far better on an SQ basis than the lot of them?
mrbinky3000

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream as reviewed by mrbinky3000

April 11, 2019
edited 8 months ago
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310LPC4
Wow! Most of side A sounds like a cassette tape getting eaten. There are skips because of little flakes of white plastic stuck to the record face. First impression: not a good pressing at all. Will try the cleaning kit but not much you can do about the sway on A/B. The record looks gorgeous though. :-)
JohnnySaintLethal

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream JohnnySaintLethal

March 19, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, SC310
I have a copy mislabeled with both side A and B having the B-side label. Any news on this anywhere?
blake.r.henderson

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream blake.r.henderson

February 12, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310LPC4
Bought this sealed and mint condition and the first plays were unrecognizably bad; skipping and slurring all over. After cleaning with a kit (fine brush, spray and microfiber cloth) it began to play clean. Not sure if anyone else had this experience, but it's been perfect ever since that first debacle!
joepv.nu

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream joepv.nu

February 8, 2019
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, SC310
I'm very happy with mine because it sounds just fine!
drd77

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream drd77

September 18, 2018
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, SC310

I think I have the American pressing of this album as I bought at a local record shop. My copy seems to be a very good pressing. Had I read all of these reviews though, I probably would not have take nthe chance on it as it was $28 in a brick and mortar store. It is flat and pressed on center. It is not very noisy. Sonically, it sounds pretty good too. Musically, this is great. I'm just discovering them.
schwaggy

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream schwaggy

July 6, 2018
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310LPC4
Minor swaying on A&B, minor warp on C&D. Minor pops here and there, nothing worse than the original black. Nothing is affecting quality enough for me to be angry. Glad to have this on color.
SoulPurpose77

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream SoulPurpose77

June 21, 2018
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310LPC4

There is swaying happening on my LPs and it does sound like it's affecting the overall quality and tone. Also, there are spots with popping. Not impressed at all...
funeralfrost

The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream as reviewed by funeralfrost

June 21, 2018
referencing Lost In The Dream, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre, SC310LPC4
My copy isn't bad. A small amount of swaying on LP2, and there are a few spots with minor popping, but other than that, it sounds fine. Happy with it overall!