muchorelaxo

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock muchorelaxo

April 30, 2021
referencing Duck Rock, CD, Album, 7 90068-2

Classic classic sounds great great great great great great album
butterbeatsrecords

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock butterbeatsrecords

March 21, 2021
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
Take a minute or an hour to contemplate Trevor Horn's incredible production work which takes Malcolm appropriations and produces such a fun LP. The cover design by Nick Egan got thousands of graffiti writers inspired with 'Dondi' White's lettering being used for the cover and the title 'DUCK ROCK' . Thousands of old school breakers around the world dug the video clips and DJS and producers around the world were also inspired by this record and its feast of ideas. I got NZ press with bonus 12" and booklet!!!
bimster14

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock as reviewed by bimster14

March 20, 2020
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
Why hasn't this been re-released with all the extra 12" tracks and mixes? The Double Dutch 12" is a classic.
Kurt

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock Kurt

July 20, 2020
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
Good idea, it could merge with this release which contained a lot of the B-side mixes. https://www.discogs.com/Malcolm-McLaren-Dya-Like-Scratchin/master/68686
bubcentral

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock as reviewed by bubcentral

January 9, 2020
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
Personally speaking I don't know why now this isn't classed as a compilation lp because its essentially Malcom Maclaren compiling a bunch of black music together with a little of his own input.
However it's definitely the record that introduced the world to hip hop a then very small USA growing scene with Buffalo Gals.

The lp itself is not just hip hop but a wider range of black music styles. A Maclaren heist or a stroke of genius I'll let you decide.

The lp still stands the test of time as an introduction to what we could say now is World music.
jetrocket

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock as reviewed by jetrocket

July 23, 2019
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, SP , 90068-1

I loved this album back in ‘83 and still do in 2019. It was unexpected, singular and a truly interesting piece of work. A real snap shot of what was possible in the early 80s. I may have could have done without Duck for the Oyster but regardless charms abound.
cnoaro

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock cnoaro

November 6, 2018
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, 810 432-1
This was released in New Zealand with a bonus D'Ya Like Scratchng 12". Doesn't appear to be listed anywhere here on Discogs.
cnoaro

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock cnoaro

October 2, 2020
edited 10 months ago
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, 810 432-1
No, what I'm saying is that when the Duck Rock LP was released in New Zealand in 1983 initial copies came with a bonus 12". The bonus 12" had three tracks on it - I think it had two tracks on the A-side and on the B-side it had D'Ya Like Scratchin' (With The Red River Valley Gals) (5.25). I bought this double vinyl version of Duck Rock in New Zealand in 1983 when it first came out but sold it a year or so later. On reflection the bonus 12" may simply have been the Soweto 12" single - https://www.discogs.com/Malcolm-McLaren-With-The-McLarenettes-Soweto/release/218918 - which may not have been selling well by itself. I can't recall whether or not it had a sticker on the front cover about the bonus 12" inside. The single LP New Zealand 'edition' of Duck Rock is listed here on Discogs (this listing), but not the one with the bonus 12". I always really liked that long version of D'Ya Like Scratchin', especially for the crazy square dance section and the cool drum programming.
justin.brooks.33

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock justin.brooks.33

October 2, 2020
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, 810 432-1
which version of the 12" did it come with? the one with 5 tracks or 6 tracks? thanks!
brady

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock brady

March 28, 2018
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
a classic album, the World's Famous Supreme Team segments in between the tracks make this a stand out album. with influences from Africa to The Bronx its eclectic bliss.
djbonf

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock djbonf

October 19, 2017
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, 810 432-1
Release date 16-05-83
Release date 16-05-83
Release date 16-05-83
Release date 16-05-83
MISTER_DIA-TRIBE_73

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock as reviewed by MISTER_DIA-TRIBE_73

May 13, 2017
edited over 4 years ago
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1

Very much like marmite...
You either love it or hate it...
I love marmite but cannot stomach this lp...
Why was it called Duck Rock? A pretty lame title...
Overall the lp is pretty terrible!
Now I loved some of the 12"s from World Famous Supreme Team i.e. Buffalo Gals etc but just never ever felt this lp what so ever..
But I will give it top marks for the cover by Dondi ! And the inner sleeve art work By Keith Haring RIP to both of these talented artists.
NWpunx

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock NWpunx

March 6, 2017
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
It's fucking good. Great album. I remember the day he passed away, I was at the hospital. RIP MALCOLM!! x x x x x
Cat888

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock as reviewed by Cat888

June 29, 2015
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
the l.p that made me want to buy a pair of decks and a mixer...I was only a tot when this came out but my mum used to play it loads....McLaren was of course a major arsehole who often took credit for things he shouldn't of....but all that aside this is a fantastic record made for dancing....combine this with the records The Clash were making at roughly the same time to gain a snapshot of Hip-Hop as seen through Birttish musical innovators eyes just as Hip Hop was taking its first steps out from the bock parties and into the clubs....
soundandlight

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock soundandlight

November 20, 2013
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
This is a monster. Easily stands up 30 years later!
vegasbiss

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock vegasbiss

July 24, 2013
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, MMLP1, MMLP 1, 810 432-1
If you looking for a cheap record of highclass standard music this is it. fantastic production by trevor horn
and m.maclaren. pure gold! Like The KLF's Chill out this is a msterpiece of concpt album art. keith haring did the graphics for this cover and innersleeve artwork
AskeladdenBlack

Malcolm McLaren - Duck Rock as reviewed by AskeladdenBlack

August 29, 2008
referencing Duck Rock, LP, Album, 810 432-1
I swing between liking malcolm and ...Well hating everything he stood for, hijacking the punk scene, confusing the hip hop scene and ...Um whatever with that opera house stuff. But i like many other kids got into hip hop via buffalo girls and duck rock along with rock it, axel f, etc. He was on his own trip thats for sure, bugged out electro ambient double dutch country african strange sample drop sloppy scratched wierdness but production is excellent thanks to art of noise and the cover was cool with keith haring helping out which makes total sense. Love him or hate him he helped the scene (which ever one it was) into the ears of kids everywhere.