Jetrag

Dean Blunt - Black Metal Jetrag

June 13, 2021
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725

I don’t know why everyone is going crazy about a PVC outer-sleeve which has 2 separations between itself and the LPs, personally I’ve had no problem with it and have had this copy for a few years now and still sounds as good as it did new. If you’re really concerned about the preservation of the LPs why wouldn’t you just use proper plastic inserts? I’d like to see if anyone has actually had their copies ruined by the outer sleeve.
lakechoes

Dean Blunt - Black Metal lakechoes

June 8, 2021
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
I putted it between Nina Simone and Lonnie Holley and that's where it belongs.
dexterdexterdexter

Dean Blunt - Black Metal as reviewed by dexterdexterdexter

November 1, 2020
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
Probably the only good music i have ever heard. friend had the vinyl and we spilled stuff on it. great album
SonofGalahad

Dean Blunt - Black Metal SonofGalahad

January 13, 2019
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
Awesome PVC sleeve smells/has the consistency of a Walmart bodybag.
viechman

Dean Blunt - Black Metal viechman

September 12, 2017
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
and i thought PVC =polyvinylchlorid = vinyl=record? ok ok ok
vinylphile69

Dean Blunt - Black Metal as reviewed by vinylphile69

July 12, 2015
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725

Sort of like Beck's folk type sounds, but more psychedelic and some tech added. Great album and great concept on the artwork. Though, a White Power Metal LP title would of.been more ironic.
T.J.E

Dean Blunt - Black Metal T.J.E

April 22, 2015
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
I would've been impressed if Dean had this pressed on white vinyl just to fuck with people.
vinylphile69

Dean Blunt - Black Metal vinylphile69

July 12, 2015
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725

Ha. I just posted the same thing, sort of. He should of called it White Power Metal.
gapapad

Dean Blunt - Black Metal gapapad

April 8, 2015
referencing Black Metal, CD, Album, RTRADCD725
Yeah it's pretty funny, the CD reminded me of the old Playstation 1 CDs. "Like how much more black can this be? The answer is none. None more black."
EvanMiller864

Dean Blunt - Black Metal EvanMiller864

December 29, 2014
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
The PVC is just an outer sleeve, (like a dust jacket), inside that is the cardboard sleeve with the two records in their respective paper sleeves. The PVC is definitely not touching the vinyl at all.
android2k3

Dean Blunt - Black Metal android2k3

September 5, 2017
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
literally, scientifically, impossible (no words no words no words no)
Bradx

Dean Blunt - Black Metal Bradx

September 22, 2015
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725

The vapour from PVC goes right through cardboard and paper. It kills records and it can affect adjacent records too.
Reluctantly (because I liked the packaging) I have removed and discarded the PVC outer.
See comment from FathersShout (above) - it's damaged some of his records.
anemiac

Dean Blunt - Black Metal as reviewed by anemiac

November 25, 2014
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725

This is one of the prettiest records of the year. What does the black symbolize? Black vinyl, black PVC sleeve, no information. Blunts releases are progressively more emotive; sad, pretty. The lack of cover art - or, rather - the choose your own adventure that is pure black - is perfect. Imagine your own cover. Feelings.
knotrice

Dean Blunt - Black Metal knotrice

November 16, 2014
referencing Black Metal, CD, Album, RTRADCD725
just picked this up from my local record store. it is so black. the disc is black on both sides
Bradx

Dean Blunt - Black Metal Bradx

November 3, 2014
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725

I hate PVC plastic sleeves. They damage vinyl. I'm not sure if this black one is the type that does.... but you can usually tell by smelling it. It does smell of chemicals. I had a lot of PVC sleeves... and they ruined a few records. Not all I'm pleased to say.
The most recent was Silkie Purple Love (the purple vinyl one that came in a PVC sleeve).
The best thing you can do with PVC outer sleeves is throw them away. Polythene and polyethylene are ok by the way... its just the stout PVC that is bad. It combines with the vinyl record and creates cloudy/misty patches and degrades the sound. Many picture discs & coloured vinyl come in this type of sleeve.
Anyway - I'm not sure what to do with this Black Metal outer sleeve. Keeping it away from the actual record would be a start.
T.J.E

Dean Blunt - Black Metal T.J.E

April 22, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
Is it the same kind of sleeve as the one that came with Death Grips "No Love Deep Web?" In that case I have no idea how it would damage the vinyl. From what I've seen it doesn't look like the stout PVC either.
Padlock_music

Dean Blunt - Black Metal Padlock_music

March 18, 2015
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
The PVC doesn't touch the vinyl in any way, it's just an outer sleeve for the cardboard sleeve which then houses the records in another layer of sleeves. If anything, the PVC is extra protection for the records.
Bradx

Dean Blunt - Black Metal Bradx

November 5, 2014
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725

Yeah LOL. It's a great package. It's just that I don't trust PVC.
I had a Zomby 12" that was stored NEXT to the Silkie 12" I mentioned... and that's ruined on one side too. Weird misty patches that sound hissy.
The PVC leeches a chemical that goes right throught cardboard/ paper/ plastic. Nothing stands in its way.
Goddam PVC. They should stick to making trousers with it.
luke_richardson

Dean Blunt - Black Metal luke_richardson

November 4, 2014
referencing Black Metal, 2xLP, Album, 180, RTRADLP725
Not a bad idea, Brad. It's a shame to spoil the concept of the Black Metal album though. It could quite literally be 'none more black'.