juga1

Mariah Carey - Butterfly juga1

November 4, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301
SUPERBAD sound!! noizz noizzz noizzzzz...... shame on you, record engineer!
pghmusiclover

Mariah Carey - Butterfly pghmusiclover

October 22, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301
It's a shame Mariah/Sony/Universal are so careless about her catalogue on vinyl. This should have been done in a beautiful double-album pressing in a gatefold cover with lyrics, credits, etc. ALL of her albums should be readily available on vinyl!
CLAUMEN

Mariah Carey - Butterfly CLAUMEN

March 30, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301
Beautiful Edition ., Awful sound ., mines has a lot of noise ..
Mrmik

Mariah Carey - Butterfly Mrmik

February 17, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301

It's weird but my vinyl isn't numbered. Does anyone have the same issue?
Vrolings

Mariah Carey - Butterfly Vrolings

August 28, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301
Yes, just received a second copy (because my sleeve was damaged) and this one is not numbered. The first version was. I kind of suspect, the initial pressing sold better than expected, so the it got "less limited" with a second pressing....
arnud2002

Mariah Carey - Butterfly arnud2002

March 11, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301

Hello, mine is not numbered too (The white insert is missing on the inner sleeve's back).
And no digital download too. I bought it at the Fnac Store.
DanielVerrastro

Mariah Carey - Butterfly DanielVerrastro

January 23, 2018
edited 10 months ago
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301
I was rather appalled at the reviews, but as 'Butterfly' is my favorite (One of my favourite) album by Mariah and I wanted to have it on vinyl, I took a chance and got it. I have given it a spin with an Audio Technica Np5 Diamond Stylus and I must say that I sounds pretty awesome !!!!, While there is surface noise as expected from a picture disc, it is minimal and click and pops only appeared twice on side 2. I was expecting the album to be rather 'Thin' and 'Lightweight'. To my surprised it looked 180 grms. So....I weighted and my copy clocks at 185 grms. It must be said that almost 60 minutes of music are crammed on the disc so while the bass on 'Honey' and 'The Roof' are a killer, the track that suffers the most from being near the inner part is 'The Beautiful Ones' where there is no bass at all. Having said that, It is highly enjoyable and a pretty solid mastering. I was expecting it to be from digital sources, but it appears that it was indeed remastered for vinyl, or at least they used a mastering aimed at the specifics. It is very noticeable in how the vocals are front and center and even High Register Work by Mariah used as background vocals (the A6 in 'Butterfly', C7 and Bb6 on '4th of July', Bb6 and C7 on 'Beautiful Ones') which are so soft that could be lost are heard loud and clear. There is also a new mastering separation of the overdubs at the end of 'The Roof' that renders the stanzas clearly. The Picture on the disc is beautiful and clear and online reproductions don't do justice to it. My only complains about the disc are about packaging: Mine came with the Pvc folder broken on the 3 sides and I had to get a clear Pvc on the Record Store to replace it. It seems that it is quite a common thing with this pressing as I have read other reviews noting the same, also they could have used another picture for side 2 instead of leaving it gold-coloured with a butterfly icon on it, How lazy was that....My copy was indeed numbered and with the info sheet but no download code card was included. All in all a nice way to get the album on vinyl at last !
vetiver-abandonment

Mariah Carey - Butterfly as reviewed by vetiver-abandonment

December 10, 2017
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301
As a picture disc this looks great however the sound is appalling. Surface noise is so obvious it overrides quieter moments of some tracks (e.g. piano intro to Butterfly). The bass is flat and clipping occurs during the more bottom heavy parts of songs (e.g. The Roof and beats on Breakdown). Only good to purchase for collectable memorabilia.

Sound doesn't seem to be a factor that was taken into great consideration for this reissue. I think it would benefit from being released on a 2LP edition. A missed opportunity to commemorate this album. I feel like a bought a piece of plastic that plays a 96kbps mp3 edition of this album, the pressing is that bad I'm thinking of exchanging it for another one in case mine's faulty.

Will update review once I get another one.
JATPL

Mariah Carey - Butterfly JATPL

November 23, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
The original pressing of this album is just ok and for anyone trying to get hold of it I guess you have to weigh up how much having it in your collection outweighs the negative aspects of the LPs sonics. It is a Holland pressing, which were all generally excellent but Butterfly is quite a long album (nearly 60 minutes) spread across just two sides of vinyl. The grooves are quite squashed together so the LP doesn't blast out like Music Box and earlier albums, which are shorter. The inner sleeve is also very flimsy and every copy of it i've seen usually has one side torn/split. Columbia has a good track record with releasing "legacy" artists' back catalogues. I am sure this will get a rerelease across two discs one day. Goodness knows so many 90s albums need to be repressed having been manufactured in such small quantities back then-Toni Braxton's first two and Boyz II Men's second one would be a start for fans seeking these amazing LPs without being scalped.
drunkbysixx

Mariah Carey - Butterfly drunkbysixx

July 30, 2018
edited 4 months ago
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
I think your statements keep fluctuation, but based off your previous post "The sound quality of the original is fine-I agree with you-but with nearly 30 minutes of music each side it just sounds a bit squashed to me but either way, a trillion times better than the picture disc! Glad you have a great copy too, it really is an excellent LP." you're not disagreeing with me, so no worries here. As stated "trillion times better" is correct. That was the point I was trying to point out in that it's the most definitive released version of the album.
drunkbysixx

Mariah Carey - Butterfly drunkbysixx

June 14, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
I've listened to both the original and the picture disc and the picture disc has a lot of surface noise that is easily heard which is pretty common with picture disc, so whether the original is perfect or not it is still the better version easily.
JATPL

Mariah Carey - Butterfly JATPL

June 14, 2018
edited 6 months ago
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
Once the music on one side of vinyl exceeds about 25 minutes (at the very, very most) a compromise has to be made in volume, bass frequency and various other sonics. This is a matter of fact; the more you try to squash onto a 12' disc the more squashed the sound reproduction, especially as the needle tracks closer to the centre. Compared to her earlier albums, which are shorter, this LP actually sounds "lower" in volume. Side 2 of Butterfly is just over 28 minutes long, which is really too long for one side of vinyl, I think side 1 is over 26 minutes, I believe without adding it up. Many albums from the 1990s suffer from this. Madonna's Something to Remember is also a victim of this, Mary J Blige's My Life (the US pressing) also suffers from it. I didn't say it was a bad pressing and I know how good pressings were from the Netherlands where pretty much all of Columbia's LPs were manufactured, then. I think if the record was pressed across 4 sides of vinyl it would sound vastly better than it does on 2 sides of vinyl, is all I am saying. There is a ton of bass on Butterfly, which would blast out if it wasn't so tightly packed. The inner sleeve is awful and I would never store the disc in it. It is that thin scratchy paper, which tears easily, creases easily, causes static and paper scuffs the record. But happy to disagree with you.
VinylVault.online

Mariah Carey - Butterfly VinylVault.online

June 7, 2018
edited 6 months ago
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1

JATPL
The original pressing of this album is just ok and for anyone trying to get hold of it I guess you have to weigh up how much having it in your collection outweighs the negative aspects of the LPs sonics. It is a Holland pressing, which were all generally excellent but Butterfly is quite a long album (nearly 60 minutes) spread across just two sides of vinyl. The grooves are quite squashed together so the LP doesn't blast out like Music Box and earlier albums, which are shorter. The inner sleeve is also very flimsy and every copy of it i've seen usually has one side torn/split. Columbia has a good track record with releasing "legacy" artists' back catalogues. I am sure this will get a rerelease across two discs one day. Goodness knows so many 90s albums need to be repressed having been manufactured in such small quantities back then-Toni Braxton's first two and Boyz II Men's second one would be a start for fans seeking these amazing LPs without being scalped.

I actually beg to differ, the sound quality is extremely Crisp. And the item is made with premium quality objects, or materials might I say. It is from the Netherlands and they had really high standards back then the sleeve itself is beautifully put together in the record sounds amazing. I disagree
drunkbysixx

Mariah Carey - Butterfly drunkbysixx

December 5, 2017
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
I'm sure at some point it will be repressed on black vinyl :)
JATPL

Mariah Carey - Butterfly JATPL

December 5, 2017
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
I think it is a real shame they chose (only) a picture disc as the repress for this LP. The sound quality of the original is fine-I agree with you-but with nearly 30 minutes of music each side it just sounds a bit squashed to me but either way, a trillion times better than the picture disc! Glad you have a great copy too, it really is an excellent LP.
drunkbysixx

Mariah Carey - Butterfly drunkbysixx

December 4, 2017
edited 12 months ago
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
Mine actually sounds really great and the inner sleeve is in great condition, but I also purchased it in that condition! Having the actual cover on an actual sleeve is beautiful (such a beautiful shoot). It also sounds better than the repress as you can hear a "whooshing" noise in the background of the repress due to it being released on picture disc, so it is definitely worth it for those reasons until it gets a legit repressing. Also, I agree about getting Toni Braxton repressed for sure!
Impale_Productions

Mariah Carey - Butterfly Impale_Productions

November 20, 2017
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
don't get it...why is it so rare?? Mariah was a major artist back then. Did they press just a limited amount of the vinyl pressing??
drunkbysixx

Mariah Carey - Butterfly drunkbysixx

December 4, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, COL 488537 1
Because records weren't mass produced like they were in the 80's early 90's
pockets80

Mariah Carey - Butterfly pockets80

November 10, 2017
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Pic, RE, 88985456301
Does anyone know how many pressings there were on this release? Just curious.
Thanks
batumski

Mariah Carey - Butterfly batumski

March 26, 2018
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Pic, RE, 88985456301
I do not know how many presses were, just bought one for the collection. The sound quality is average.
Rmnrd

Mariah Carey - Butterfly Rmnrd

November 10, 2017
referencing Butterfly, LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Pic, RE, 88985456301
Very disappointing.
Extra cheap package, no digital download on the inside, plastic outer sleeve ruins the vinyl and the paper insert is thin. Anyway the picture disc is very beautiful but I wish it had a gatefold cover.