streetmouse

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born as reviewed by streetmouse

January 2, 2019
referencing A Ghost Is Born, CD, Album, Enh, 79809-2

A Ghost Is Born has to be one of my all time favorite album titles, and it only gets better, graced with a beautiful cover that speaks volumes in a simplistic way and in an emotional manner.

"Spiders (Kidsmoke)" is an adventure into the past, riding on the heals of the Velvet Underground, with a nice steady beat, lonely stirring guitar solos moving in and out of the song, gathering your attention, letting things trail off again, then bringing you right back up to the surface, before they dive you back into the deep end of the pool again. It’s simply ten minutes and fifty seconds of pure magical splendor.

"Handshake Drugs" is in a class all its own, fusing musical and visual wonderings of some lost kid in the city, distracted and attracted to everyone and everything. The world feels so disconnected to the singer, but at the end of the day, looking back on the adventure, it all makes perfect sense. Who couldn’t understand this simple head bobbing number and all of the pleasures it encapsulates.

"Theologians" is drawn deeply from Wilco's past, riding on the flowing updated beat of "Blue Eyed Soul", a number that will truly satisfy you on every level. This one is so relentless that it nearly requires you put on your darkest shades, feel the notion of emotion ... though don’t let go.

Review by Jenell Kesler
espendo

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born espendo

May 29, 2018
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1
Amazed at how much better this is than the CD version. I always found that flat and dull. This vinyl version is the thing, nice soundstage and dynamic. Especially Tweedy's voice and the noise bursts sound so much better. Highly recommended!
Reever

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born Reever

March 24, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 76492-1, 8122-76492-1
Variant: Side 1 and Side 3 labels have “Made in Germany” with no barcode #, not “Manufactured in the E.U.” with barcode # as indicated in the posted Images. Stellar pressing. Flat, reasonably quiet (disk #2 has a hint of rumble), detailed, and balanced—Wilco always manages to get these things done right.
SPANKYSandGUS

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born SPANKYSandGUS

May 14, 2019
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 76492-1, 8122-76492-1
i also have a 'made in Germany' copy having trouble identifying...
american_futbol

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born american_futbol

July 20, 2018
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 76492-1, 8122-76492-1
I have the same variant. Are you sure it's not a different version entirely? Maybe warrants a new submission.
lukecaddy

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born lukecaddy

August 7, 2017
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1
Very good pressing. Some slight noise, but nothing too noticeable! One of my favorite Wilco records.
PiIsARational

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born PiIsARational

February 18, 2017
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1
Maybe mine is need of a deep cleaning because mine is very noisey on the first track until the disortion kicks in. Otherwise, great album.
Quintdresden

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born Quintdresden

April 27, 2014
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1

Their best album. To be honest, I can't really listen to their albums anymore, except for this one. So so so so so underrated.
Quintdresden

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born Quintdresden

October 5, 2015
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1

I loved Sky Blue Sky when it came out, especially when I saw them on the accompanying tour, but my opinion changed since then. The songs just dont have the staying power of their previous two albums. They had some nice ideas and all but in the end there wasnt much substance. That doesnt mean the album is bad, though. I love the production and "Side with the Seeds" and "Leave me (like you found me)" are exceptional songs, that I still love.
ORL-Fixation

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born ORL-Fixation

October 4, 2015
edited over 5 years ago
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1
I agree! ... but no love for Sky Blue Sky?? I think that one is criminally underrated.
Quintdresden

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born Quintdresden

May 28, 2015
edited over 5 years ago
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1

The other two you mentioned are certainly their other two truly great albums. And you are absolutely right about Jim O Rourke. I feel that he brought a certain Sonic Youth influence to the band..he worked with them since 1998 I think and was on board on two of their best albums as well (NYC Ghosts and Flowers & Murray Street). I think the two bands even did a co headlining show in Central Park at one point. Definitely not a mismatch at that time. But to hear how the actual songs hold up without the "special" production of the studio record on the Kicking Television live record is even more amazing. With the Bonus Tracks on the vinyl edition of you get every single song from A Ghost Is Born (minus "Less Than You Think", plus era b side "Kicking Television").
jestoon

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born jestoon

March 7, 2015
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1
I actually kind of agree with you, although I love Summerteeth and YHF as well. Jim O'Rourke's subtle contributions really make the record. from the haunting piano on the opening track, to the fingerpicked guitars on "Muzzle of Bees," he proves himself as the record's secret weapon.
ssigouin

Wilco - A Ghost Is Born as reviewed by ssigouin

January 26, 2014
referencing A Ghost Is Born, 2xLP, Album, 8122-76492-1, 76492-1
Not my favorite Wilco album, but gets better with every listen. Great packaging and great pressing. Almost dead quiet with great sound dynamics.