pedross

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell pedross

October 21, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
I've got a new stylus after the first listening of this. Floor noise is absurd and distortion in side B is alien. Too bad
WesHeadley

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by WesHeadley

July 7, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099

I have three copies including two of this pressing and one of the clear. All are horrid and I have serious doubts that there are more than a VERY few decent pressings of this one out there. I have a high resolution system and a Hannl RCM. No amount of cleaning even begins to improve these copies. Pure shit. The album itself is a masterpiece. This was a true lost opportunity.
DanGoldbach

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by DanGoldbach

July 6, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Unlistenable. Overwhelming surface noise and distortion throughout. The worst-sounding record in my collection. Such a pity as this is one of my favourite albums and it could sound phenomenal on vinyl.
philkao

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by philkao

June 25, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
My pressing is pretty nice. Quiet, pops and clicks present but not distracting. Not much background rumble and hiss either. Some hiss definitely exists in the source tape, as between a couple tracks the hiss drops out.
Asswupn

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Asswupn

April 22, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Mine sounds great , how it should , I have a decent set of vinyl lugs on me , here’s my honest assessment , vinyl 7.5 out of 10 - lp12 at120eb cart marantz 6906 , project phono se box , as for cd same ish , but missing the vinyl , you know what I mean,, sound , streamed through Apple TV via same marantz slightly inferior to both previous , note vinyl was hand cleaned with eBay spray and micro fibre cloth , hope this helps anyone , thereby i defo reccomend vinyl for this amazing album .
Asswupn

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Asswupn

April 22, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Marantz 6006 that was my mistake adding word now for 10 atleast rule on posts silly really
tartifless

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell tartifless

March 21, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Mine is very listenable, i gave it 2 spin-cleans and a record doctor V wash.
It had lots of static before i washed it and also the surface is not pristine shiny (there are some blurred places).

However the sound is definitely very good, no distortion or sibilance, no loud pops, only very few crackles that are not noticeable in full length play.

I agree that some pressings are dead quiet, however all my records that have more than 40 minutes on one record have some crackles.
So far i noticed crackles only on 2 songs for less than 2 seconds each.

My material is REGA RP8 with AT33PTG/II cart (microline) and ARIA phonostage.
Yes i have better pressed records, yes it is a shame most Asthmatic Kitty records or not the best-pressed records, however it is a decent listening experience with very few surface noise. I am quite sure i would not hear any with my HANA SL shibata stylus.
Asswupn

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Asswupn

April 22, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Agree , totally totally totally totally totally 10 words reply shizzle etc
asthmatickittyrec

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell asthmatickittyrec

April 14, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Thanks for the thoughts, and for picking up the record. Glad you're enjoying it. And you have a great setup! :)

- John at AKR
sherbethead

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell sherbethead

February 12, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099

I was expecting the worst after reading reviews here but my copy sounds fine! A little bit of crackle but nothing that spoils the music. Gave it a hand clean before playing though because the record looked pretty dirty. Beautiful album anyway really nice to have it on Vinyl! :)
janjernvall

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by janjernvall

February 5, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Great album, sooo bad pressing.   asthmatickittyrec : your excuse of 'this not being a record for absolutely fidelity' is not valid. The clicks and pops are due to bad pressing, not because the recording production wasn't high fidelity, otherwise the songs would have those hundreds of clicks and pops when streamed lossless via Tidal as well.
Ofcourse there is always some surface noise on vinyl records, but this amount is unacceptable, it's just faulty product and you should get your money back from the record pressing company and do a new run with quality pressing plant, this album deserves it.
wrharris2012

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell wrharris2012

August 16, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
I'm sorry, but certainly the same pressing machine can produce varying degrees of quality. The quality of the vinyl material and temperature consistency during the press are just a couple of factors. In my two copies there are signs of these two issues. Anyway despite these more subtle lack of quality issues observed, there are the more obvious ones, seriously both copies I purchased looked as thought the operator dropped the vinyl and before picking it up accidentally stepped on it.

As for the theory of some resonance or noise caused by source material sounds, I simply can't buy it. These are pressing quality issues, no question about it.

I appreciate your responses here and I sense you are genuine, but please understand these comments are very valid, and are voiced only because of the love of the music and dissatisfaction with the quality of the record.
asthmatickittyrec

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell asthmatickittyrec

April 14, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I don't want to directly counter a customer but...you're just plain wrong here. Pressing vinyl is a massively different audio process than Tidal. With all due respect, to pretend like lossless is anything like vinyl is ignoring the nature of the medium.

We released Angelo De Augstine's "Tomb" earlier this year and pressed it on the same machines at IRP that have been pressing C&L for the last year. Angelo's record sounds amazing on vinyl. In fact, I dare you to find a better sounding vinyl record out there from the last few years. And I'll be the first to admit that C&L doesn't sound as clean and clear on vinyl as it does digitally or on CD.

So how can the exact same machines produce one record that sounds amazing, and the next not as much?

Here's my current working theory, after talking to dozens of engineers and vinyl professionals who press tens if not hundreds of thousands of records a year.

C&L has a ton of backgound low-level mid-range noise (hiss, air conditioners, white noise, etc). All of that all gets cut into the grooves on the vinyl. You can actually see this with a high powered microscope if you like. C&L grooves are just...jagged.

Now, I don't know the exact reason and this is a theory in progress, but our guess is that this mid-range noise means the grooves are bouncing around the needle in small ways, almost all the time. Add that this record pushes some of the more dynamic songs into the inner grooves, and I think this is why C&L just sounds worse, and why it will always sound worse no matter where we press.

Which isn't to say we aren't trying to achieve better quality. More to come on that later.

So, again. If you're looking for fidelity, the lossless versions will always be the better option for you.

My goal here is to have a conversation; not to get into a vinyl flame war, or counter you, but to explain and continue to talk. I appreciate this community a lot! Y'all keep us honest.

- John at AKR
wrharris2012

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell wrharris2012

December 8, 2018
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
I would pay $$$ if this music received the pressing it deserves... Hey AKR, how about a special run at RTI or QRP? As of now my two copies are poop.
asthmatickittyrec

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell asthmatickittyrec

January 31, 2019
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
That's not a bad idea, but I am 95% certain it will sound no different. This record sounds the way it sounds because of the dynamics and length. I've never used QRP, but I have used RTI. They're great, but they made some duds as well. Vinyl is an imperfect art, and somehow this album channels the topic, the imperfection of loss, into the imperfection of sound. I know that sounds trite, but we've done everything we can to make this record sound as good as it can.

But yes! We'll look into an RTI pressing at some point!
bruindude-us

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell bruindude-us

August 27, 2018
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Thanks, John at AKR for the response. My copy too is not 100% pristine, but I enjoy this record and its intimacy and it gets lots of spins...
asthmatickittyrec

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell asthmatickittyrec

September 1, 2018
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099
Thanks for the comment bruindude. I haven't listened to this record in a long time, and I put it on the other night. What an album. If it ever bothers you too much don't hesitate to reach out to us. We stand behind our vinyl for sure. It's a $15 circle of PVC, but it's a really important $15 circle of PVC.
tomer.jacobson

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell tomer.jacobson

August 11, 2018
referencing Carrie & Lowell, LP, Album, AKR099

amazing album a lot of surface noise i do not mind