matthew.walker

Paul Weller - Stanley Road matthew.walker

January 8, 2021
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, Ltd, 828 619-1

I have a few M and NM copies of this original pressing.
As others have mentioned, sadly, I dont think it was mastered or pressed well on Vinyl.
Very compressed, flat and muddy.
Did anyone find a copy with sparkle?
Packaging however was brilliant!
I haven't heard the new repress. It might be the way to go...and certainly cheaper!
carywhitt

Paul Weller - Stanley Road as reviewed by carywhitt

September 21, 2020
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826

I think this pressing is equal to an original, sounds like the levels were boosted ever so slightly. Sounds good in my book, but nothing audiophile level.
gninnam

Paul Weller - Stanley Road gninnam

June 6, 2020
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, Ltd, 828 619-1

Bought this new and still enjoy listening to it now after 25 years !
Brilliant songs and musician ship - well recorded too.

Top job Paul and the crew
ROCKPOWER

Paul Weller - Stanley Road as reviewed by ROCKPOWER

December 16, 2019
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826
What a disappointment, my copy is very bad, hearing the song Broken Stones on the headphones, an incredible rustling !!
somesounds

Paul Weller - Stanley Road somesounds

September 8, 2019
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, 828 619-1
Typical of most 90s vinyl pressings. Mastered from a cd/digital source and sounds like it. If you buy this lp, you're basically buying a cd with the volume turned down and distortion added. Save your money and buy the cd version. It sounds much better.
tarmstrong

Paul Weller - Stanley Road tarmstrong

January 17, 2021
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, 828 619-1
Good advice. I did as you said and the CD is great.
somesounds

Paul Weller - Stanley Road as reviewed by somesounds

July 24, 2019
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826
I haven't heard the new pressing but I own the 1995 pressing. It's a very poor vinyl pressing. Too quiet, almost muffled and sounds like it was mastered from a digital source with some distortion added after the fact. My cd copy sounds much better (and I'm generally a vinyl fan). But sadly that's the case with most vinyl pressed after 1990 and likely before that. They did a better mastering job with some of the later Weller LPs.
steppewolf

Paul Weller - Stanley Road as reviewed by steppewolf

June 21, 2018
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826

A decent pressing of a highly sought after album. Sellers with astronomic asking prices are furious but that's life :) Anyway, this is a good pressing but I find it less impressive, unlike the other comments here. You have to dial the volume higher than usual to get the joy out of the album. It's probably mastered & pressed from a digital source bc sound is compressed and not lively at all.
baconizgud4me

Paul Weller - Stanley Road baconizgud4me

February 24, 2017
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826
is this release any good? word word word another word
patemara

Paul Weller - Stanley Road patemara

October 16, 2017
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826
great sound, but i never listen original pressing lp or cd
Detrola39

Paul Weller - Stanley Road Detrola39

September 7, 2017
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826

yeah man, the pressing is quite good - it sounds excellent.
meevan

Paul Weller - Stanley Road meevan

February 27, 2017
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826

I have a copy and the vinyl is great. nice and quiet.
ScottishPickle

Paul Weller - Stanley Road ScottishPickle

February 26, 2017
referencing Stanley Road, LP, Album, RE, 4797826
I picked it up yesterday and its great. It's a nice gatefold too.
chrissyboy73

Paul Weller - Stanley Road chrissyboy73

December 7, 2016
referencing Stanley Road, CD, Album, 828 619-2

This album is currently available on amazon as a Jan 2017 pre-order.. snapped mine up already -
Wingsofspeed

Paul Weller - Stanley Road as reviewed by Wingsofspeed

June 7, 2015
referencing Stanley Road, CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Album, RM + DVD-V, Multich, 9828401
Celebrating its 20th anniversary this year is Stanley Road, one of the best albums Weller has ever made. Each song on this album is brilliant, some of which are amongst my favourite songs. From the classic unmistakable opening riffs of The Changingman to the sheer beauty of ending track Wings Of Speed, this album is sublime.
This deluxe edition (released to celebrate the album's 10th anniversary) brings a whole array of B-Sides and demos, which are a great listen and a DVD featuring a documentary and promo videos, as well as a booklet full of photos and a track by track interview with Weller, all packaged in a sturdy digipak with Deluxe Edition's signature outer slipcase. For collectors and casual listeners alike, this is a must have.
This album and all of its songs are truly amazing and inspiring, so much so for me to use it as inspiration for my username ;)